We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic Accommodation, wonderful place.”
Boathouse at lochside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner Bathroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
111 reviews
Boathouse at lochside
Bedroom coffee corner
Bathroom
Bathtub with sunset view
Open plan staircase
Boathouse from the south
Living room feature wall with stove
Living room HD TV and stove
Bedroom
Open plan living room
Wheel bench
Summer sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
1 Bedroom, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 2
Isle of Skye, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 111 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Italian first
Any
English first
BeaBea201...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic Accommodation, wonderful place.”
Reviewed May 8, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

What a fantastic Easter week we had at the Kingsburgh boathouse !!

The location of the boathouse is magnificent – right by the side of the Loch and far enough away from the main road to feel remote, but not so far as to feel fully isolated. The easy access to the main Portree to Uig road means that it’s easy to explore the rest of Skye.

The Boathouse has been finished to an excellent standard with Carol thinking of all of the ‘home comforts’ which make such rentals exceptional. Upstairs is the main large bathroom, with a double shower and fantastic bath (and even some plastic champagne flutes to use when in the bath watching the sunset over the loch.)

The bedroom is large, with a great double bed. There is a great wardrobe, large enough to store our cases as well as our clothes !. There is a seating area with great views to the Loch and on clear days across to the Cullin mountains.

Downstairs was equally fantastic – an open plan lounge and dining area leading into the kitchen, and then a separate hall and utility room (complete with washer/dryer). The lounge is great with a log burning stove (which we didn’t use), TV and CD player. The dining table overlooks the Loch and provides the perfect distraction for spending hours watching the birds, sheep and lambs.

We had not been to Skye before and were pleased that Portree was only about 10-12 minutes away. There is quite a large Co-op store as you enter Portree which will have the basics (and more) if required. Both Café Arriba (for coffee) and the Seabreezes restaurant were excellent. We also went to Loch Bay Seafood Restaurant in Stein – excellent food and Service. We would recommend booking restaurants though as at both Seabreezes and Loch Bay we saw people being turned away. Skye offers great days out – The boat trips from Elgol to Loch Coruisk and the Talisker Distillery were both very good.

Carol has made the Kingsburgh Boathouse a fantastic holiday cottage, and one which we will definitely be looking to visit again and recommend to others.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Reviewed April 18, 2011 for a stay in April 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Liked best: Sense of luxury & romance
Liked least: Leaving
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cheshire
Reviewed March 17, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
spud723
Chester, UK
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed March 11, 2011 for a stay in March 2011

We had a wonderful stay at Kingsburgh first week of March, so much so that we decided to change our itinerary and stay an extra day. You can't help but relax here, the cottage is so luxurious, high quality materials inside & out, it really is 5 star. The location is idyllic, with a fantastic view of the Cuillins (weather permitting) from one picture window, to loch Sneazort & mountains of Harris in the other direction. Wildlife & stars at night (again weather permitting) in abundance....and the silence was wonderful!

The owner, Carol was very helpful, leaving plenty of information in the cottage and the welcome pack was a very nice touch....we now have an addiction to Co-op chocolate brownies, thankyou!.

For various reasons we hadn't had a holiday in 5 months prior to Kingsburgh so were just exhausted and what a place to chill out. Even as the full force of an Atlantic westerly wind howled around the cottage on one day, we were perfectly happy & cosy at home. We were lucky with weather on the other days and managed a couple of hikes in the Quaraing and Glen Brittle.

Off season alot of places are closed but no restaurant could give the same ambience of eating by candle light in Kingsburgh! The Co-op in Portree is 10 minutes away with a great seletion, plus a butchers & fishmongers there too (beautiful Mallaig scallops in the latter).

Although it wasn't an intentional romantic getaway, Kingsburgh can't help but be one.

The down side is leaving and coming back to our humble 3 star semi detached house!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Reviewed March 8, 2011 for a stay in February 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse / significant other
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Caro11
Ottawa, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Quiet, restful with all the comforts of home in picturesque setting”
Reviewed January 30, 2011 for a stay in September 2010

We rented the boathouse for 3 days in the middle of 1.5 week tour around Scotland. After several B&Bs we needed a place to ourselves, from the pictures online the Boathouse looked liked an ideal spot and lived up to expectations, definitely worth the price. Carol has done a great job on renovating the old Boathouse into the beautiful place to stay. Carol was out of town when we checked in but made everything so easy for us. The Kingsburgh Boathouse is easy to get to off the main road, but once you're there you really do feel like you're mile away. The fresh eggs in the fridge were a great touch, we'd never had eggs so fresh before. The living area downstairs is comfy and separate enough from the upstairs bedroom that you don't have to worry about walking up your partner. The bedroom on the second floor is quite large and the bathroom really is something. The windows and tub make it a very romantic spot and let you take in beautiful views while soaking away a day of hiking. If you're looking to just relax and chill out on Skye, the Kingsburgh Boathouse is a great choice.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Damian_Ge...
Metzingen, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Indescribable”
Reviewed January 4, 2011 for a stay in December 2010

This place is just magic. It is the perfect symbiose between luxury and nature. Btw it is also a great place for engagements, honeymoons etc.! A dream on the Isle of Skye in Kingsburgh...

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing