We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Beach for All”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Calgary Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Beach for All”
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Calgary Beach is a great place for all the family. The sand is nice and white, and generally very clean. (People who go there are generally environmentally responsible. It's wonderful, especially when the sun is shining. Very good for swimming or paddling, and the views are fantastic!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aslan7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

449 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    329
    100
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
fife
Level Contributor
118 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Had to stop- it was so beautiful.”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

I could only stop for a little while but I was so glad I did. The sand was white the sea was blue and it was blowing a gale. Wish I could have stayed longer

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alison31s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“don't camp”
Reviewed September 12, 2013

A nice clean windy beach with machair. Shame that the sheltered so-called 'wild camping' spot on one side of the bay has been ruined by large thoughtless groups who seemed to have permanent residency and were intent on dominating the spot. Friendly enough, but dogs running around crapping everywhere is not my idea of a family-friendly location. Nor is going into the nearby woods and hacking off some live branches for firewood. The site is 'wild' in the sense that it's free and there is no water tap, showers etc. But there is a council-owned toilet block which smells and looks as if it hasn't been cleaned for years. So, far from idyllic. One day and night was enough here. We discovered later that there are far nicer wild camping locations elsewhere on the island.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank artgarfheinkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Dolphin spotting beach”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Very attractive beach,with great variety of bird life, including black-tailed godwits, but standout feature was the pod of dolphins that we saw performing all the tricks that dolphins are famous for. We spent a long time watching as they moved across the bay and back -a fantastic experience.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely sandy beach”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Went to Calgary a couple of times in August whilst on Mull, bit of a trek from Tobermory but well worth it - go early if the weather is good to get a space in the car park. Boys enjoyed trying to Dam the stream down the far end near the campsite... until the sheep came and used it as a bridge!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Bay also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Calgary Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing