We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning!”
Review of Calgary Bay

Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning!”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

I spent a day in Mull, got the Ferry in Oban, arrived at 11am in Mull, spent 1 hour at Duart Castle (much better outside than inside but is worth the visit) and headed to Calgary Bay. From Duart Castle, take the road to Tobermory but leave the main road at Salen and take the B8035 and then B8073 all the way up to Calgary Bay. The scenery is stunning! Getting to the bay from the B8073 you will have an amazing view over the beach, park the car and enjoy the beach, it is absolutely beautiful! I spent an hour there and headed up to Tobermory before getting back to the last ferry in Craignure at 7pm. An amazing day trip!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank misterpage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    340
    102
    14
    3
    3
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
111 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Breathtaking”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Its so good, we are getting married on the beach there in August...

We were lucky with the weather, it was a gorgeous sunny day but I can't imagine that would make much difference as the view is amazing.

You need to go to appreciate it!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank RussCityboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ayr, Scotland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Needs to be experienced”
Reviewed April 26, 2013

You have to visit to understand just what is so attractive about this place, but choose your times. We like peace and quiet which we got by being later in the day and outside of the high season for tourists.- in fact we were practically the only people there.

Highlight of the visit was the stunning close-up views we had of a Great Northern Diver and the glimpse of the Golden Eagle sweeping over the hills above.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank williamanderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful beach”
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The best beach on the Isle of Mull,and one of the most beautiful is Scotland.White sand and crystal water,all set in the wonderful wildlife of Mull.Definitely worth a visit and a long romantic walk !

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francesca B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best scenery on Mull!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

If you're visiting Mull, you will not regret a trip to Calgary Bay. We were there on a cold day in early April, and were one of only three families there. We stayed until sunset, walking on the beach and exploring the hills. This is one of the prettiest places I've ever been!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank pugbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Calgary Bay also viewed

Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
Isle of Mull, The Hebrides
 
Dervaig, Isle of Mull
Tobermory, Isle of Mull
 

Been to Calgary Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing