We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Review Highlights
Just awesome

Be lucky with the weather and then you can walk to the cave! If fit get up onto the plateau. Quite... read more

Reviewed October 9, 2018
albert l
,
London, United Kingdom
Amazing

Wonderful day out to Staffa Island as part of the Three Island Tour with West Coast Tour... read more

Reviewed October 6, 2018
hi_coo
,
Edinburgh
Read all 404 reviews
  
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveler rating
357
39
7
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
357
39
7
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fingal's cave basalt columns boat trip giants causeway natural wonder the cliff steep stairs turus mara amazing rock formations mobility issues small boat lucky with the weather other islands well worth the trip bucket list sunny day bird life
Filter
Updating list...
312 - 317 of 404 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2013

My wife and I joined a group of about 25 to shuttle between Mull and Staffa aboard a local boat captained by a most capable pilot. The weather was intimidatingly rough before our departure to Staffa with waves 15 feet high at times, whipped by the gusting winds and threatening rain storm hurtling towards us on our afternoon there. I had prepared with appropriate anti-seasickness medication--others of our party not so (later admitting they wished they had!) About 45 minutes or so we rocked and rolled across the ocean swells--whitecaps all about us. It was foggily overcast allowing for little viewing during our ferry ride. I was intently focusing on not being intimidated by the harsh seas--my wife subdued herself into a near trance-like state; both techniques worked as we finally approached the landing for Staffa. Amazingly as we pulled into position for disembarkation, the forceful waters subsided and a peaceful calm provided by the sheltered site away from the fierce winds made for an uneventful and welcome escape from the small vessel that had seemed to struggle at times to carry us to our destination.

Our time ashore was necessarily brief--only one hour--in that we had to return back to Mull before the full fury of the forecasted storm arrived; or else be stranded on Staffa indefinitely…. Nonetheless our time at Staffa was delightful! We climbed a rather narrow, almost treacherous steel staircase from the landing site up to the green-meadowed crest of the island. For shame it was too foggy to see very far out, but the sheer-walled cliff was vividly impressive as it overlooked the basalt rock columns that gave Staffa its curious centuries-old appeal. Hustling back down the steep stairs after capturing a few token photographs, we were once again protected from the whipping winds by hugging closely to the safety railing that guided us around the "basalt beach" to the famous Fingal's Cave. Again, the lighting was poor due to the storm clouds, but with the occasional camera flash it was easy enough to look into the depth of this cave once visited by Napoleon and Thomas Jefferson. As oft repeated, no photographs did it justice. One of our party had a musical enough voice, and sang a brief ditty to highlight the surprisingly notable acoustics of Fingal's Cave despite the crashing waves serving as a thumping base staccato in the background.

Thankfully, we returned to our originating port without further mishap. Every passenger grinningly admitting the visual, tactile, and auditory reward of Staffa far exceeded the presumed threat of danger triggered by the oncoming storm. Our only wish would to have had more time to enjoy this tantalizing geological quirk at a more leisurely/more enjoyable pace. Who knows, maybe we will attempt to return again on another less inclement day--although it would entail a rather exuberant effort on our part coming from Texas! If you are anywhere close by, however, the sheer joy of experiencing one of Earth's geological gems is worth the investment of time and expense.

Date of experience: October 2013
11  Thank Texman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

Visiting Staffa involved a pleasant ferry ride from Oban to Mull, a delightful drive across Mull, then a boat ride from Mull to Staffa. It was a full day going from Oban, but couldn't have been more worthwhile. Part of our group decided to walk into Fingal's Cave, which they thoroughly enjoyed. The basalt formations, both in the cave, and around the island are spectacular -- very similar to Giant's Causeway in Northern Ireland. The rest of us walked up a rather long, steep, set of steps to get to the top of the island. The views were fabulous, and walking through the meadows delightful. We were there during the puffin nesting season, and were able to get remarkably close to the birds nesting along the cliffs at the top of the island -- a phenomenal photo opportunity for any bird watcher!

Date of experience: July 2013
4  Thank Jan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Not the easiest place to get to but one of the most beautiful trips from Oban, across Mull, ferry hop to Iona which has a magnificence of its own. Then half hour on boat to Staffa and Fingal's Cave. When it gets out of the lee of Ioan, the Atlantic kicks in a bit and it rocks and rolls a bit but they decide if it is too bad. On a warm, sunny day it was brilliant. Sit in the cave, listen and marvel, climb on top - no shortage of railed steps for most ages - and soak up the wonders of the Western Isles.

Date of experience: August 2013
3  Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

We would highly recommend a trip to Staffa while in Scotland. It was a great break from the typical Scotland sights (castles, cathedrals, abbeys, and palaces). Consider pairing this trip a visit to Iona to see the Abbey.

We took the morning sailing from Mull. The sailing takes about 45 minutes (sit on the left side of the boat ... if looking at the front of the boat). The basalt columns (in three distinct phases) that make up the island are beautiful. You only have an hour to explore the small island. Take the easy walk on the basalt columns (handrail available) to the entry of the cave. Additionally, climb the stairs to reach the top of the island. You can explore and enjoy the fantastic views. The boat makes two stops on the way back Iona and then Mull. Get off at Iona and walk to the Abbey. Passenger ferries run frequently between Mull and Iona (they are only a mile apart). For a small price you can catch the passenger ferry back to Mull.

Date of experience: August 2013
4  Thank Jillaine4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Staffa is a rugged little island with geological and wildlife attractions. The approach to the mooring is entertaining, as is the climb up to the top of the cliffs and the trek to the caves. Having said that, if you're a fan of natural beauty and desolate places full of wildlife, book your ticket and go. You won't be disappointed.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank Charleystreather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews