We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely organic croft B&B”
Review of Ravenstar B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Ravenstar B&B
Ranked #26 of 58 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Hueckeswagen, Germany
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely organic croft B&B”
Reviewed July 18, 2011

B&B on a smallholding with organic farming and a special charm, situated on the East coast of the Isle of Lewis. We stayed for one week in the family room which had a double and a single bed and had been equipped with an additional cot for our baby girl on our request (free of charge). The room has no en suite facilities but that wasn’t a problem for us as they’re direct around the corner solely for the use of the guests in that room. Breakfast is served in the kitchen and is prepared in front of your eyes by Jane or Dave, the owners. We enjoyed the delicious breakfasts which were partly made with produce (e.g. free-range eggs, goats cheese) from their own farm and included vegetarian options. Besides hens and goats Jane and Dave are keeping ducks, geese and pigs which were of high interest for our daughter ;o)
Jane and Dave are really likeable, helpful and made our stay as comfortable as possible. You may argue that the decoration of the rooms is slightly chaotic but we’ve seen it as their authentic style and it didn’t bother us. We really felt at home and for sure we would come back during a future holiday on Lewis.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antajo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DaveE24, Owner at Ravenstar B&B, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you again one day!

Dave & Jane
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    9
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 16, 2008

wonderfully peaceful place with great hosts. The food at breakfast was all locally produced or grown on site and delicious. the whole stay was like staying with friends rather than paying to stay in a bed and breakfast. If you're really lucky Dave will make you pineapple upsidedown cake!

I would highly recommend this place to just unwind for a few days and see a different pace of life. Take a walk around the farm and talk to the animals :)

For the green minded, it is even possible to have a adventure by public transport from here. the bus stops outside and you can link to other parts of the island with other buses (even getting a lift with the postman!).

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heatherbell_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HERTFORDSHIRE
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We have just returned from a holiday in the outer Hebrides and stayed at one of the best bed & breakfasts ever. Run by Dave & Jane Eastwood it was just like the Good Life they kept cattle , goats,pigs chickens etc and grew all their own vegetables. The breakfast was superb - a real treat

Helpful?
1 Thank TOADHertfordshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spennymoor, County Durham
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2007

This is a working croft combined with a B&B and blacksmiths.

Our welcome was great, the farmhouse kitchen warm and friendly with a big range. We had one of the croft's chickens for our evening meal with home-grown vegetables and it was the best we have ever tasted :-)

Bedroom was small but well furnished and spotlessly clean. The en-suite was small, but newly installed and also spotless.

We had a good natter over dinner with Dave and Jane and wish them success with their escape from the rat race.

We visited with the pigs, goats and chickens which was fun.

The breakfast was great too with home-grown chicken and duck eggs.

If you want to feel like you too have escaped from the rat race for a little while, we would strongly recommend a visit!

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank k1200ltgeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
0.0 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
152 reviews
0.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
0.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
210 reviews
0.0 mi away
County Hotel
County Hotel
#5 of 6 in Stornoway
106 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#4 of 24 in Stornoway
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ravenstar B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ravenstar B&B

Property: Ravenstar B&B
Address: 24 Vatisker | Back, HS2 0JS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ravenstar is situated in the township of Vatisker just 7 miles north of Stornoway on the east coast of the Isle of Lewis. We overlook Broad Bay and The Minch, with views to the Sutherland hills in the distance. The centrally heated and double glazed rooms ensure a cozy stay even when the weather is inclement. We have two guest rooms, one double and one twin, with comfortable beds and en-suite shower rooms. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Ravenstar B&B Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing