We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Tranquility and peace.”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Alt Dubh

Alt Dubh
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Alt Dubh
Spa Room Approaching down the single track lane
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
22 reviews
Alt Dubh
Spa Room
Approaching down the single track lane
A walk to the sea from the cottage door
A view from every window
surrounding landscape
Garden and view
Sauna
Hot Tub
Lounge
Dining Room
Kitchen
Bathroom
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 view
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2 view
Rush hour traffic
One of the many fantastic beaches
Dawn looking out from the cottage
Sunset at Bosta beach Great Bernera
Hebridean Winter
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
qazwsx123...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Allowed to become run-down and generally disappointing.”
Reviewed August 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
2
people found this review helpful

If the owners kept on top of the maintenance of this property it would come recommended but at the moment the run-down nature of the cottage makes it vastly overpriced. We stayed in July 2015 and found a shower which constantly alternated between dangerously boiling hot and stone-cold water which made it unusable. The cottage was damp and of the 5 heaters on the property only one worked (although we were left with one portable oil-filled)! It gives the impression they are waiting for the off-season until anything gets repaired but that's no good for those staying this year.

On returning home I recommended to the owner that they might like to offer a small refund as a goodwill gesture only to be fired back with some ridiculous accusation that we had further blemished an already damaged kitchen worktop and they would keep our deposit (they didn't)! They had photos to prove it they said. Luckily we had photos too from the moment we arrived and when I asked to compare ours with theirs all communication was stopped.

I'm not saying "Don't stay here", but I can only advise that if you plan to stay in 2016 that you check with the owners beforehand that all problems there have been resolved.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub and remote location.
Liked least: The feeling of being ripped off.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 30, 2015
It is unfortunate that we did have an issue with 2 storage heaters for a couple of weeks. We advised guests before their stay of the issue and left a good supply of wood and coal for the two woodburners and a plug in radiator.
The faulty heaters have now been replaced
The shower has been tested by an electrician and works as it should.
Over the last 6 months we have put oak laminate flooring throughout the ground floor and also installed a new kitchen.
Coupling this with the spa and sauna room , to describe our property as run down is quite an unfair statement--it had some faulty heaters
We are pleased however that this customer would still recommend us to family and friends.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liz761
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tranquility and peace.”
Reviewed June 15, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for 2 weeks at the start of June. The weather was not brilliant, but did this matter? No! We were so pleased to be staying where there were no WIfi or phone connections.
All that could be heard was the sound of the birds feeding at the bird table, and there was a host of different species. The resident Cookoo arrived each day for his supper! We also saw eagles flying above the house. We also spent time watching the rabbits running wild over the moorland in front of the house!
The house itself was warm and cosy with 2 log/coal burners. the sauna and jacussi was a real tonic at the end of the day after a long walk in the rain!
We visited many interesting places over both Lewis and Harris and the people were so friendly and helpful. The owners of the house were charming and very knowledgable about the area and nothing was too much trouble. The house was clean and tidy with a welcome package of kindling wood to see us through the first few days of our stay. Our dogs loved the area and were welcomed all over the Island. Our stay has been a happy one , where we relaxed right down and really "Switched off" Thankyou Linda and Ian

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The friendliness of the people
Liked least: the rain!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jdh62
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow and wow. Perfect getaway with a bit of luxury.”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We chose to stay at Alt Dubh for our honeymoon. We have regularly stayed in cottages around Scotland so know what to expect. We chose this cottage because it had all the same elements of peace, quiet, rural, sea views, log burning stove, traditional build and is away from the main tourist trail but also, as it was our honeymoon, a bit of luxury as it has a sauna and hot tub. We were not disappointed! The cottage is cosy and well laid out with really good modern electric heaters as well as 2 log burning stoves (we were here in May). The area is a great little area to easily access both Lewis and Harris or to stay and explore around the cottage. There is a lovely little pebble beach to walk to and some hills to explore- it's very peaceful. There is a shop/tearoom/museum just six mies away for any basic food that you might need. The hot tub was brilliant,we have only been in a couple, but it is the best one we have been in so far, with each corner having its own moulding and jets so you can move around and have your whole body massaged(it also has it's own lighting) It was very comfortable and relaxing. The sauna was great - warmed up any cold bones. They are both located in a separate barn next door to the house and has been decorated tastefully providing a lovely little getaway form it all and indulgent feeling- we absolutely loved it. Great cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: it was a great all round cottage with a touch of luxury
Liked least: for the knowledge of anyone booking. We know that food isn't included but it is the 1st time we have been to a holiday cottage where there was absolutely nothing- no salt/pepper/teabag/oil......normally something is left over from past visitors.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 19, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
2
people found this review helpful

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 30, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and cottage.
Liked least: Going home.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 22, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing