We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent cottage in a lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
lindaxste...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed October 28, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Thank you to David and Kathleen for making our stay so very good. The welcoming treats were much appreciated. The cottage was well designed and equipped and furnished to a very high standard. We loved it

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann T
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Divine”
Reviewed October 24, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
4
people found this review helpful

We stayed here for 8 nights on our honeymoon and cannot rate this place highly enough. David was there to greet us on our arrival to welcome us and explain everything. There was champagne and flowers on arrival including all kinds of local goodies. The place was just like the website claimed with all the mod cons and spotlessly clean. Plenty of hot water for baths and showers and a great sauna. Excellent views and a stunning building. It was blissfully quiet and private! We will return! Thanks David and Kathleen for a magical stay!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DavidSand...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great getaway”
Reviewed September 1, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
4
people found this review helpful

Set in a stunning location south of Stornoway. David was very friendly and explained cottage well on our arrival. The cottage is incredibly well equipped, very clean and modern.

The bed was very comfortable, the kitchen has a great selection of modern appliances and with an excellent welcome basket , there is a large and varied collection of DVDs and books as well as board games, bikes, fishing rods and excellent wifi.

Helpfully there was detailed guides of how to use everything in the house and some suggested sites and walks to visit on the island.

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alistairg...
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“PERFECT, PERFECT, PERFECT”
Reviewed May 29, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Just utter beauty and bliss. I live on the Islands so am aware of the natural beauty here, I was lucky enough to stay in the lower cottage for my 10th Wedding Anniversary. I have 4 kids so constant noise and interruptions are the norm. The first things that struck me and my wife was the utter peace and quiet offered by the cottage, close the doors and there is nothing but quiet. First impressions are astounding and they didn't change throughout the stay! all clean, tidy, from the second you walk in the door. Everything is in place and there is obvious effort to ensure the place is reset for each new guest (even the cutlery is perfectly arranged in the drawers), the attention to detail is eye-popping! Then you get to the architecture of the building itself, perfect views from every part of the cottage, I just cannot praise this place and the hosts enough. If you want to stay somewhere different from the normal square box hotel room, with perfect views, perfect hosts, perfect everything, then Eagle Bay cottages has to be top of the list. Thank you for the experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: absolutely nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollychew
Edzell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Magical..”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
6
people found this review helpful

It was an absolute pleasure to have spent our time in Lewis staying at eagles Bay cottages. The attention to detail I felt was similar to the comfort and luxury as Gleneagles hotel. Lewis, Harris and Uig in the west - are simply jewels in the crown of Scotland's stunning breathtaking scenery - the geology of the Island stretches one's imagination. Hosts, David and Kathleen add that little bit extra sparkle of magic from booking the cottages and when meeting you with your keys. To greet you - a bottle of Vintage champagne fresh salmon - home baked cakes and fresh fruit - with lots of other goodies ...sauna was wonderful..
Absolutely Loved staying here - we will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alistair...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Simply outstanding!”
Reviewed April 6, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
8
people found this review helpful

Without doubt the best self catering cottage that we have ever stayed in. Amazing building I an amazing location. I would recommend without any hesitation at all. The location works really well for both Lewis and Harris and we had some amazing days.

I have never posted on trip advisor before but this place has prompted me into action. If I could give 6 stars I would.

Find the time and take the trip. You will not regret it.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KeithaSia...
Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Re-defining self catering accommodation”
Reviewed March 23, 2016 for a stay in February 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Anyone thinking about booking Eagle Bay Cottages should stop thinking & just do it. The cottages & location are truly unbelievable. This was our first visit to the Outer Hebrides, and bearing in mind we travelled in February, were concerned that we would be weather-bound in the accommodation. It didn't turn out that way but it wouldn't have mattered, the cottages are so good I would have been happy to spend the entire week indoors. From the welcome pack (prepare to be impressed), the standard of fixtures & furnishings, the wonderful bathroom, the bed....everything is so impressive. The kitchen, equipped with top brand appliances, has every conceivable gadget you will ever need. It even has a tool for removing stones from olives! David & Kathleen are perfect hosts, there if you need them, respecting your privacy if you don't. They have thought this venture through, and have got everything right. We arrived just in time to see the Scotland v Wales 6 nations game, and as a fanatic Welshman I couldnt believe how little of the game I watched, the view from the lounge is that good! We had an amazing week, the wildlife (saw otters, eagles, grey seals from the cottage), the contrasting Lewis/Harris landscapes, the people of the Islands, even the weather.....! Remarkable accommodation in a stunning location made possible by genuine people. Thank you David & Kathleen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything, without exception
Liked least: The feeling as we drove up the hill as we left
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing