We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What an amazing place!”
other travelers have booked this property
A view off the cottage and conservatory and surrounding views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A view off the cottage and conservatory and surrounding views
Private patio at the back of the property Looking across from the pier to the house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
4 reviews
A view off the cottage and conservatory and surrounding views
Private patio at the back of the property
Looking across from the pier to the house
View in cromore looking across to the house
Private Sun Lounge at back of the property with panoramic view of the sea
Kitchen
Sunset at the house
May Sunset at the back of the house
View looking down onto the house
View from the property
Front lawn and garden area
Peat burning stove in lounge
patio and seating area
Harris beach
The shore line beside the house
Early morning view in Cromore
Late evening at ceol na mara cromore
Chilling at the back of the property looking out to sea
5th Bedroom twin room
2nd Bedroom double bed
4th Bedroom double bed
Main large bathroom downstairs
Front of the house
1st Bedroom King size
3rd Bedroom double bed
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
5 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lance K
1 review
“What an amazing place!”
Reviewed May 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Marie and Murdi (and her mum) could not have been better hosts. Marie was in touch with us prior to arriving and even ensured there was a fire in the fireplace when we arrived. The house is a real gem and lacks for nothing. Cromore is 'off the beaten path' but that just made the experience more enjoyable. Our stay was brief due to an energetic travel plan but we would love to spend a full week there. The views from the cliffs above the cottage were incredible. One of their neighbours pointed out a hiking trail that took me through several sheep pastures and to the top of some hills with outstanding views. You will not be disappointed if you decide to stay here.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 24, 2017
Thank you for your kind words Lance, it was a pleasure meeting you both and I am glad you enjoyed your stay in Cromore, and that you managed to recharge your batteries before you headed back on your travelling and you reached home safe. Many thanks Marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen F
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A really comfortable, spacious holiday home in an amazing setting”
Reviewed September 9, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a fortnight's holiday with our 3 children, 17, 15 and 11 years old. Everyone had an amazing time.

Marie was there to greet us when we arrived. She was so friendly and keen to make us feel welcome, as she had been in earlier email exchanges.

We spent most of our time (when we were in the cottage) in the conservatory, enjoying the amazing views across the loch from all of the windows.

The cottage is in a really remote location, which was what we wanted.

If you want a holiday to get away from it all, I couldn't recommend anywhere better!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views from the conservatory
Liked least: Difficult to think of anything, but freezer being in the barn.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 9, 2016
Thank you Glen for your kind words marie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M
London, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Peace and quiet and glorious scenery”
Reviewed February 13, 2015 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Ah, we had a lovely, lovely stay here at the "cottage by the sea" (Ceol-Na-Mara in Gaelic). The cottage (more a house than a cottage with five beds) is off the beaten track in a small village right by the sea. We were thrilled by the views and those among our family party who knew about birds watched incessantly. We had never seen so many herons. Those who liked to hike went right round the village including walking along the cliffs. Those who would rather rest and chat had ample facilities to do so, including the most welcoming and sunny conservatory, and a stone patio. The cottage is very well-equipped with every comfort thought of. The sights of the islands are easily reached by car. We wandered in and among the standing stones at Callanish -- you can touch them and the children greatly enjoyed that trip. The lighthouse and the windy cliffs at the Butt of Lewis was another memorable day trip. We had a wonderful time and didn't see everything so we'll be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The warm welcome!
Liked least: It's a bit remote.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 17, 2015
Thank you so much for your kind works about ceol Na Mara when you stayed last summer
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing