We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful - a home from home with a real family...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Hollyburn

House overlooking sea loch
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
House overlooking sea loch
View from living room Front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
House overlooking sea loch
View from living room
Front entrance
Split level dining area
Kitchen utensils
Sitting area
Main hall to bedrooms
Newly refurbished bathroom with storage facilities above sink
New walk in power shower and bath
First twin bedroom
Second twin bedroom
Double bedroom
Living room
Seaview from living room with access to garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Ann M
Isle of Lismore, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful - a home from home with a real family feel.”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

The property far exceeded all expectations. Normally, the pictures exaggerate, but the opposite was true here - we couldn't believe the space and the high standards throughout.

The communal areas (living room and kitchen / diner were exceptional. The kitchen was very well equipped (can't think of anything we could have added) but there was also plenty of room to store everything we had brought with us.

Even the massive hallways were a bonus - children could let off steam there without worrying about damaging the other areas of the beautiful house.

The master bedroom was huge and the other two bedrooms were also of a good size, with all beds being very comfortable. Plenty of storage space in each room.

The bathroom was beautifully decorated and has both bath and shower - we only used the shower due to time constraints (rushing off to various events). The shower was spacious, easy to operate and had excellent water pressure - not always easy to find! There was plenty of linen supplied (and electricity was also included, which was a very pleasant surprise!)

While the garden was small, it had a lovely bench table in it and provided a secure area for children. The surrounding area being so quiet meant that the children could wander happily a little bit further afield as well.

All of this pales into insignificance compared with the welcome we received from Mrs MacWilliams (the owner) herself and from her relatives across the road. We had the most amazing welcome pack provided on arrival, which was supplemented by home baking at frequent intervals throughout our stay. Although we had never met them before, we all felt as if we were in the company of lifelong friends. Can't wait to return!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gary R
Gorleston-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Cottage but spoilt by niggly problems!”
Reviewed October 17, 2016 for a stay in October 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for one week in October 2016. The cottage itself was in excellent condition and superb throughout, very comfortable too and the shower was superb too. The views were just superb too especially from the dining room. However a few niggly things made us only give a 4 star rating.
The DVD player did not work so we had to buy one so we could watch DVD's.
The tin opener did not work so again we had to buy one in order to open tins. Plus the vegetable peeler was useless and blunt so again we had to buy our own.
Another complaint is that the lights in the kitchen and diner are so dull, 40w bulbs come on .............. this is a kitchen and you need to see!!!!!! It was especially dark around the cooker area and we had to actually use a torch in order to see the cooker controls.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay and would hope to return, but please pay attention to the things mentioned. Despite what another reviewer said there is off road parking immediately adjacent to the cottage and so parking our car was no problem!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views and the comfort of the cottage
Liked least: Kitchen items could do better
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dougal300...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Mrs”
Reviewed October 12, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Amazing holiday in Hollyburn. Loved the cottage, the lovely owners, the great neighbours and Lewis itself. Our kids (8, 9 and 10y) appreciated the freedom to go wandering safely with the added bonus of Mac the Collie to play with. Can't recommend Hollyburn enough. It's spotless and well equipped. Would definitely like to go back soon.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emma T
Salisbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Love Lewis - love the annex”
Reviewed August 22, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed in the annex to Hollyburn and had a lovely relaxing week. Top quality accommodation with tasty breakfast and super friendly hosts. Perfectly located for exploring Lewis and easy access to great coastal walks. Hugo the Beagle also made great friends with Mac the Dog.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tony P
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A week in Lewis.”
Reviewed July 3, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We stayed in Hollyburn for seven days. Perfectly good, clean cottage. The picture of the cottage (on here, taken from the website) is a little deceiving, it looks isolated but is not, with another cottage across the road, and is much further from the sea than it appears. There is only roadside parking which is not made clear. Would not recommend it for families as there is a very steep bank on two sidesof the garden, leaving only a small usable garden area. There is also a small collie dog from a house down the road that visits quite a lot, expecting a ball to be thrown! We found it quite amusing but not sure how it would be with small children.
In the visitors book a lot of people describe the view from the cottage as beautiful or stunning , neither of us would agree. Indeed we found most of inland Lewis depressing and bleak, consisting mostly of overgrazed,wet moorland. In contrast the coast is stunning! However we will not be returning, the Uists are far more beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Very clean and comfortable
Liked least: The view from the cottage.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
B3177VMma...
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fab place”
Reviewed June 14, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Lovely cosy cottage, with great views in a wonderful setting. Great position to tour around Lewis and Harris, close to the beautiful sandy beaches on Bernera and the Uig peninsula.

How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJG2016
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great cottage with amazing views and fantastic neighbours ”
Reviewed September 29, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

This place is highly underrated. We had the most amazing week in the cottage. There's plenty of space for a family of four or more. The cottage is very comfortable and warm and has everything you need for a weeks holiday.

The location is wonderful - really peaceful with a beautiful view over the loch. I can't speak highly enough of the neighbours (the owners were away so we only met them briefly). The neighbours were so welcoming and came round with cakes and crab claws and lobster all caught (or made) that day - they even cooked some for us. We couldn't have asked for a more friendly welcome.

I'd recommend this cottage without reservation if you really want to experience the best of lewis.

Thanks all

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing