We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property
Breathtaking view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing Cottage from the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
24 reviews
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing
Cottage from the loch
Cosy lounge with log burning stove
First floor twin room
First floor veranda
Dinning with a veiw
Boat below cottage
Parking area
Lets go fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 24 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
anniek478
Alyth, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely Cottage”
Reviewed May 11, 2018 for a stay in May 2018

We have had a wonderful time on the lovely Isle of Lewis. The cottage is very well equipped and comfortable really central for touring. The views are splendid from the cottage over the loch very peaceful even with the proximity to the road. We fished on the loch, saw eagles and other wildlife. Our dog enjoyed the garden as did we. We will certainly return to the Hebrides and hopefully be able to stay in lovely Tigh na Phiort.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kate L
1 review
“Excellent location”
Reviewed April 19, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

We loved our week at Tigh na Phoirt Deas, the loctaion is very good and looking right onto the loch was lovely. The weather was great for April,due to the wind being from the east. This did unfortunately make sitting on the verandah chilly due the wind as it faces east, but warm coats didn't stop us ding it anyway. There is plenty to look at, places to visit, beaches galore. We feel we have only scrathched the surface so plan a return trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tista C
Glossop, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Thoroughly charming and superlative location ”
Reviewed April 8, 2018 for a stay in April 2018
1
person found this review helpful

This ranks amongst my favourite ever cottage experiences. It is absolutely stunningly situated. You can sit and gaze out of the stunning picture windows for an age. The fixtures and furnishings are splendid - wonderfully done and really compliments the setting, from the swing on the veranda, to details like the candle sconces and artwork.

We saw golden eagles on the very first day and we saw trout topping some evenings - all from the sitting room.

Onto practicalities: life vests and wellies (×2, both size 9) are provided for the boat.

Yes, the spiral staircase is exceedingly narrow, but it's a lovely feature and anything else would take too much space. That said, it's worth planning for by using canvas/hold all style bags which we were able to push up onto the landing. The downstairs bedroom would suit anyone with impaired mobility, as the bathroom is also downstairs.

The kitchen is well kitted out and we didn't want for anything during our stay.

Finally, Balallan is a great base for exploring. Both the stunning vistas of Harris and the archaeological marvels of Lewis are not too far. We tend to pack a lot into our days, so it was nice not to have to traverse the entire length of the island on any of the days.

Would be delighted to stay again, although there's so much world to enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2018
Hi Tista,
So glad you enjoyed your stay and thank you for you kind words.
Would love to have you stay again.
Kind regards
Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madmonk53
Erskine, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect Location with fantastic views”
Reviewed March 25, 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Loved the location right on the loch and the scenery certainly didn't disappoint us. The cottage is set back from the main road and is easily accessed via a short single track road. When we were booking the cottage we did read the reviews and seen that a few people had a problem with the spiral staircase but we took the chance and just went with it. Unfortunately the staircase is narrower than we thought and we did find it awkward to get up and down, definitely not for anyone with mobility issues of any kind. Had to empty cases downstairs and transfer our belongings upstairs, not ideal but can be done. I should also mention main bedroom is upstairs and the bathroom downstairs. Having said that, the stairs is the only thing stopping me giving this place an excellent rating. The house is cosy and well furnished with everything you need during your stay. The views from living room and both upstairs bedroom are spectacular. Loved the log burner as it got really chilly at night, it was march after all. There is a small row boat for use but since the weather was not great we didn't get a chance to use it. Hopefully we will be back on Lewis again and I certainly would stay here again if I got the chance. Booking was quick and easy with my emails answered really quickly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 27, 2018
Hi Ian,
Thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your stay.
The Spiral staircase can be a bit tricky to navigate, hope it didn't spoil your holiday.
Would love to have you stay again.
Kind regards
Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elspeth S
1 review
“Stunning if chilly in November”
Reviewed November 23, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Lovely, comfortable cottage, right on the Hebridean Way Walk, with everything possible provided. Views over the Loch and up into the hills spectacular. Unfortunately, it was very cold when we were there and as soft Southerners it came as a bit of a shock! Maybe not our thing in November. Also, don’t expect to find hotels/cafes to be open in the off season.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 5, 2017
Hi Elspeth,
Thank you for your kind words.
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the cottage.
Kind regards
Erica & Douglas
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Away from the madding crowds”
Reviewed October 13, 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Amazing location, well equipped cottage, wonderful to see the Golden Eagles while fishing on the loch. Superb beaches with hardly any one on them.
A superb Island for peace & quite, amazing wildlife & good food.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FinFinala...
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Best Holiday Ever!”
Reviewed August 20, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Six of us travelled up to the Hebrides in August to return to the island where three of us lived and two of us were born. We also had three family guests with us who were absolutely enchanted by this beautiful island. Balallan is a typical small Herbridean village and our holiday cottage was beautiful. As soon as we arrived there our dog jumped out of the car and into the loch and this is where he stayed for most of the holiday! The cottage was cosy, beautifully presented and had everything anyone could need, it really was a case of just bring something to eat. The view from the cottage was outstanding, it really was special and even the midges could not stop us enjoying the boat. We saw seals and a pair of golden eagles from the verandah. I could not fault this cottage if I tried, infact it was so perfect we have already booked up for next year! Thankyou Erica for such a lovely return to the Island!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2017
Hi Sarah,
Thank you for your kind words and so glad you enjoyed your holiday.
Look forward to having you stay again in 2018.
Kind regrds
Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing