We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The great outdoors”
other travelers have booked this property
Breathtaking view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing Cottage from the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing
Cottage from the loch
Cosy lounge with log burning stove
First floor twin room
First floor veranda
Dinning with a veiw
Boat below cottage
Parking area
Lets go fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
terrygarl...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“The great outdoors”
Reviewed June 28, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location and the cottage was very well equipped and comfortable with everything you could need, although the gas BBQ and fishing rods were missing and the spiral staircase would not suit every one. But the island is stunning with plenty to see and do, I would not hesitate to recommend the cottage and island to anyone.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 5, 2017
Thank you for your kind words. Sorry about the Barbecue we had to remove it due to a fault and we don't supply fishing rods, we can only offer our apologies.
With regards spiral staircase, it is a bit quirky but we thought it adds to the character of the cottage.
So glad you enjoyed your holiday and would love to have stay again.
Kind regards
Doug & Erica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Getaway69...
1 review
“A Home from home”
Reviewed April 30, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We arrived on Saturday the 22nd and from the minute we walked into the house we felt at home.Lots of time and imagination have been put into creating a feeling of belonging. We had heard that the very narrow spiral stair would be a challenge , we found it quirky ! . Unfortunatly the weather was a cold strong wind from the North that brought snow showers with some heavy and a white covering on the mountains of Harris , they looked beutifull.With the right clothes on the walks along the stunning beaches were incredible and with my wife and myself keen photographers the colours and pics we got were more than we could have wished for.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mshuttlew...
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Can't reccommend highly enough - magical”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfectly situated in central Lewis for access to all places, we spent a week in this lovely cottage at the end of May and into June.
The cottage has everything for a family including Wii and Playstation to keep kids happy, a very comfortable lounge, 3 bedrooms and a well equipped kitchen but where this cottage really excels is on the deck area, the peace and quiet and the view out over (Valtos?) Loch. With high quality décor and furniture throughout Doug and Erica have paid plenty of attention to detail and this felt very homely, in fact I could quite easily have moved in permanently! I would mention the spiral staircase, it wasn't a negative for us we found it a wonderful, interesting feature but it could be hard work if you struggle with mobility and stairs in general, otherwise this was the best holiday we've had for years and certainly the best cottage. I would not hesitate to recommend this to anyone who loves the outdoors, even if just from the dining table in front of the patio windows. Many great nights here earlier this year and would love to return again. Well done Doug and Erica, hope to see you again soon. PS If you get the chance, you must take the boat out for a row too.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and the standard of the property
Liked least: Midges
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pamela K
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Ideally positioned haven from which to explore the Outer Hebrides”
Reviewed August 28, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A house on a loch full of trout, right in the centre of Lewis/Harris. The only drawbacks were the challenging spiral staircase between bedroom and bathroom, and th midges. We mastered the former with practice. The latter meant we spent less time on the deck and around the house, but more on expeditions around the islands, all accessible from this excellent central location.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfort and location
Liked least: Owners did not reply to queries sent before our stay, and, like other tenants we found the spiral staircase inconvenient.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 29, 2016
Hi Pamela,
Thank you for your kind words... Sorry about the stair, I'm afraid I cant do anything about the midges:) Hope you had a lovely holiday on the Island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Legsi1970
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Perfect location for a relaxing holiday”
Reviewed July 13, 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

2 adults 3 teenagers in a remote location should not of worked but it was perfect just perfect. WIFI was brilliant, the boat and the fishing awesome. Not a day went by the boat never went out(no fishing on a Sunday. The beds were comfortable. The log/coal fire perfect. Many people mentioned the stairs. Empty your cases downstairs and they won't be a problem, Middle of the night toilet breaks can be difficult if you forget your slippers : ). I loved the stairs, i loved the double room, i loved the balcony. Electricity we never used the £50 or close to it. We never used heating the fire gave us ample heating throughout. It is a drive to a supermarket and it is a drive to a pub. We will be back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The sunsets and sunrises on the swing
Liked least: Waiting on hot water for a bath as I was too lazy to set it differently
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 14, 2016
Thank you for your lovely comments, glad you enjoyed your stay.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ruth M
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed in this cottage set on a beautiful loch side with my husband, daughter and her two sons. The cottage was very pretty and the views were beautiful - the weather not quite so much but then it wasn't so great in my area of Scotland either. Good weather is always a bonus but certainly not guaranteed anywhere in Scotland! It was not too bad. The cottage was nice and handy for Stornoway and further north and also to Harris which was a big nostalgia trip for my husband whose grandparents used to live in Leverburgh. It was very nice to have the boat but it was also quite difficult to get out of the boat shed. My big problem with the house is the layout of the bedrooms. There is a good sized bedroom downstairs with bunk beds in it. The other two bedrooms - a double and twin - are upstairs and are very good sizes with great views but the problem is the spiral staircase. The staircase is very tight and the steps have a very short tread - too narrow for two feet and most of foot hangs off. If you are elderly, have big feet, a large frame or mobility problems it will provide difficulties and you will have to haul yourself up with rope. Taking your shoes off will not help you because the cast iron stair is very uncomfortable on your feet. Taking a suitcase up and down is dreadful and it is no fun having to go downstairs in the middle of the night to visit the loo. I am not sure how it passed building inspection. In this respect it is accommodation for the slim and nimble which is a pity because it is beautiful. It is for this reason I have only rated this cottage as average. We also had a few difficulties with the heating. It was lovely and cosy in the morning and the water was hot but as the day went on the water cooled and we had boil water to clean the dishes. We had to put the fire on in the evening which was very nice and it was March. Be aware that although the £50 credit for electricity for the week sounds a lot, if you have children and need to wash their clothes and dry in tumble drier it may well run out. Not every day is nice drying weather.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Staircase
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stay at an amazing place looking out over the loch. I can't fault the place for location. To be there at sunset on the swing and deck table looking out over the water and the surrounding countryside was the most peaceful experience. The cottage itself was well-furnished, easy to find, and perfectly located for exploring both Lewis and Harris. We absolutely loved the place, and looked forward to returning each night to a warm house to cook and sit out on the deck. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone else looking for a base on Lewis.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - amazing to look out over the loch at sunset.
Liked least: Spiral staircase to the bedrooms was a challenge.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing