We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful location”
other travelers have booked this property
Breathtaking view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing Cottage from the loch
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
Breathtaking view
Relax on swing
Cottage from the loch
Cosy lounge with log burning stove
First floor twin room
First floor veranda
Dinning with a veiw
Boat below cottage
Parking area
Lets go fishing from the garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RuthM567
Montrose, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Beautiful Views”
Reviewed April 20, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
2
people found this review helpful

I recently stayed in this cottage set on a beautiful loch side with my husband, daughter and her two sons. The cottage was very pretty and the views were beautiful - the weather not quite so much but then it wasn't so great in my area of Scotland either. Good weather is always a bonus but certainly not guaranteed anywhere in Scotland! It was not too bad. The cottage was nice and handy for Stornoway and further north and also to Harris which was a big nostalgia trip for my husband whose grandparents used to live in Leverburgh. It was very nice to have the boat but it was also quite difficult to get out of the boat shed. My big problem with the house is the layout of the bedrooms. There is a good sized bedroom downstairs with bunk beds in it. The other two bedrooms - a double and twin - are upstairs and are very good sizes with great views but the problem is the spiral staircase. The staircase is very tight and the steps have a very short tread - too narrow for two feet and most of foot hangs off. If you are elderly, have big feet, a large frame or mobility problems it will provide difficulties and you will have to haul yourself up with rope. Taking your shoes off will not help you because the cast iron stair is very uncomfortable on your feet. Taking a suitcase up and down is dreadful and it is no fun having to go downstairs in the middle of the night to visit the loo. I am not sure how it passed building inspection. In this respect it is accommodation for the slim and nimble which is a pity because it is beautiful. It is for this reason I have only rated this cottage as average. We also had a few difficulties with the heating. It was lovely and cosy in the morning and the water was hot but as the day went on the water cooled and we had boil water to clean the dishes. We had to put the fire on in the evening which was very nice and it was March. Be aware that although the £50 credit for electricity for the week sounds a lot, if you have children and need to wash their clothes and dry in tumble drier it may well run out. Not every day is nice drying weather.

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Liked least: Staircase
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie W
Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed July 17, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

A lovely stay at an amazing place looking out over the loch. I can't fault the place for location. To be there at sunset on the swing and deck table looking out over the water and the surrounding countryside was the most peaceful experience. The cottage itself was well-furnished, easy to find, and perfectly located for exploring both Lewis and Harris. We absolutely loved the place, and looked forward to returning each night to a warm house to cook and sit out on the deck. I wholeheartedly recommend this place to anyone else looking for a base on Lewis.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location - amazing to look out over the loch at sunset.
Liked least: Spiral staircase to the bedrooms was a challenge.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave D
Alresford
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage; excellent location.”
Reviewed June 1, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Very well furnished and comfortable cottage. The attention to detail, e.g. choice of fabric colours and pictures was superb. Spacious accommodation and cosy. Location was great; having breakfast looking out over the loch was a great way to start the day. Excellently situated half way between Stornoway and Tarbert meant all parts of Harris and Lewis were easily reached in each days outings.
One tip: staircase to two bedroomed first floor not easy to navigate if trying to get suitcases upstairs. Otherwise, a perfect holiday rental.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
murreek
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The stunning Western Isles easily available from a unique, private home from home”
Reviewed September 17, 2014 for a stay in September 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We were lucky to find this unique property available to us in September when the midges were a wee bit less annoying and the weather was very kind. We loved it! Private, although near the main Stornoway/Tarbert road, and so we had access by car to all we needed within 20 mins. Next to a freshwater loch with a fab view, fishing from the garden and in your "own" boat and also near to the sea lochs where wildlife is abundant. The cottage has all you need to have a comfortable holiday. Wee tip though...take some fold up deck chairs for the garden/decking....makes sitting out more comfortable. We enjoyed the wildlife, history, walking, sea trips, beaches, friendly people, stunning and varied scenery, Stornoway black pudding, mackerel and the crabs claws freshly caught and cooked by us! We hope to be back some day soon. Thank you

Date of stay: September 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Loch side location and view in easy reach of all of Lewis and Harris by car
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard01...
Scotland
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic, peaceful holiday home - just perfect for a relaxing break.”
Reviewed July 13, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

Really beautiful location and wonderful house equipped with everything you need to enjoy a relaxing break on Lewis. House exceeded our expectations and the use of the boat to fish on the loch was great for our boys who were also able to fish directly from the garden. Perfect spot between Stornoway and Tarbert and plenty trips and activities on Lewis & Harris to keep us all happy. Wildlife amazing and would be very happy to return to this lovely house. Thank you to the owners for thinking of everything.

Date of stay: July 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
M_and_G20...
Isle of Lewis, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Picturesque”
Reviewed April 18, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
2
people found this review helpful

We had the opportunity to stay here in March 2014, even though we live only 15 miles away. What a beautiful location, right on the loch just as you enter the village of Balallan. The property is very cosy and beautifully decorated. Our little boy loved the spiral staircase. We felt very much at home as they have provided everything you need, including a fully equipped kitchen with all utensils included. There is a petrol station and shop 10 miles away, for any food items that are needed. There is also a restaurant close by.
The views are stunning - we unfortunately chose to go during a force 10 gale, which meant that we couldn't take the boat out or go for a loch side walk but that didn't dampen our spirits as the cottage is just lovely. The view is even more spectacular during a storm, while cosy in front of the fire.
If you're looking for a quiet, beautiful getaway then this holiday let is ideal. We hope to book again as we really enjoyed our stay - thank you :)

Date of stay: March 2014
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The view and the home from home feeling.
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benside
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic get away from it all”
Reviewed January 18, 2014 for a stay in September 2013
2
people found this review helpful

Spent long weekend here after looking for somewhere quiet to get away for the hustle an bustle.
What a hidden gem this is. Fantastic setting on the loch in a nice little hebridean village. Had everything we needed and more. Even small boat for use on the loch if we wished . Enjoyed nights out on the decking watching the sun go down while the trout jumped on the loch right beside us! Totally amazing and great value for money.
Douglas was extremely helpful , and couldn't do enough to make us feel welcome.
Can't wait to back again, will spend longer next visit in order to see more of the beautiful western isles.

Date of stay: September 2013
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing