We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a visit”

Callanish Standing Stones
Book In Advance
More Info
$824.08*
and up
6-Day Outer Hebrides and Isle of Skye Tour from Edinburgh
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This ancient monument is one of the most significant archaeological spots in Scotland's Outer Hebrides.
Gtr Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit”
Reviewed November 16, 2012

It was blowing a gale when we visited and the rain was coming down horizontally, As a result we were only ones foolhardy enough to make it out of the visitor centre, but I'm glad we did.

The stones are a sight to be seen and we still managed some great photo's. It was nice to return to the tea shop after our visit to have a hot drink.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Alec F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,150 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    850
    256
    41
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Skye
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

These stones are so atmospheric, far far more impressive than Stonhenge! You can wander close to them and really feel the magic of them. We were lucky to have them all to ourselves for a few a while on a showery November morning. Breathtaking.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Choocom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“An absolute must see if you are on the Isle of Lewis”
Reviewed October 30, 2012

No visit to the Isle of Lewis would be complete without a visit to the Callanish Stones. Unlike Stonehenge you are free to wander around the stones and really feel their size and history.

On the day we visited we were lucky enough witness a couple in full local dress having their wedding photos taken with the stones complete with piper but I don't think this is something they usually lay on for tourists!

The stones are very modestly priced as an attraction and this includes access to the visitor centre. The information in the visitor centre could do with being simplified in places for children but overall was very informative. We didn't walk to the other stones in the area but you can see where they are from the main Callanish Stones.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank YummyMummyKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
“Great pice of history”
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Well worth a visit and the bonus is it's free. Super shop and very tasty cafe on site, with freshly baked cakes and lovely staff.

No restrictions, so you can walk right up to the stones and feel a part of history.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank James K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hallett Cove, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
480 reviews
123 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 386 helpful votes
“Unmissable”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

With family in Stornoway I have visited the stones on many occasions - you never get bored of Callanish and I stand in awe on every occasion. An excellent visitor centre, shop and cafe along with free parking, free entry and direct access to the stones puts comparable attractions in England (e.g Stonehenge) to shame. An amazing sight, feat and experience

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank DML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Callanish Standing Stones also viewed

Isle of Harris, Lewis and Harris
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to Callanish Standing Stones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing