We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“amazing cottage and very friendly owner”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Moorpark Cottage

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Massimo B
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“amazing cottage and very friendly owner”
Reviewed December 28, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

For those who like to get some tranquillity and to be away from the daily stressing life, this is the perfect place to stay. Imagine a cottage near a small river with endless landscape view. If you stay silent all you hear is the sound of nature!! Not so far from Stornoway (20 minutes driving) where you'll find all the shops.

Although the owner say that the WI-FI is not so good, I was able to watch few films in streaming without any problems; if you have any problems all you have to do is to switch off and on the router.

The cottage is extremely comfortable; I cannot find anything negative. Least but not last... the locals are very friendly... what a great place!!!

We will be back there for sure.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 29, 2016
Thank you for a lovely review, we look forward to your next visit. Regards
AK & Marlene
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburge...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Clean, modern, comfortable accomodation tailor made for short stays.”
Reviewed August 8, 2016 for a stay in August 2016

My wife, 2 kids (9 and 7), and I stayed here for 8 nights. We chose this accomodation on the strength of the website and reviews from previous guests. We were not disappointed. The accomodation has been thoughtfully designed with holiday-makers in mind - it is modern, clean, spacious and well furnished with quality throughout (the kingsize bed was particularly comfy!!) and the feeling that corners hadn't been cut or costs scrimped on, made for a really homely, comfortable stay.

The hosts could not do enough to help and were on hand with advice for days out and on any other queries we had.

The location makes it a bit of a drive down to Harris or Uig etc, but the islands are big and you have to base yourself somewhere. There is also plenty to see and do up and down that northwest coast of Lewis. We had a great stay and the quality of the accomodation and welcoming hosts were a major factor in that.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RossandSu...
Bury
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Perfect start to our Hebridean holiday”
Reviewed June 5, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This accommodation was literally hard to fault. The attention to detail was superb - especially the black-out blinds - particularly beneficial in summer, given it never seemed to go dark; the underfloor heating; spacious bedroom with comfortable king size bed; as well as all you could ask for in the kitchen. There really didn't seem to be anything we were lacking.

Location-wise it didn't perhaps have the sea views, but was close enough to the main attractions in north Harris, and being a bit off the beaten track made it that bit quieter.

Would definitely return if we were to come back to the Isle of Lewis.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trave1Bu5
Denver, Co
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
Reviewed May 20, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

The rooms are large, well furnished, and comfortable. The location is convenient to Black House Museum, Callenish Stones and other sites in Western Lewis. There is a small market nearby. A fair library of books and movies is included. Hosts are very gracious. Generous towels (including face cloths not seen in every hotel) and robes are included.

Date of stay: May 2016
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Size of the rooms
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2016
Thank you for your stay, and your excellent review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mrgmmk
Inverness
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed July 19, 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Moorpark cottages are set on the west side of Lewis in Barvas and a straightforward drive from Stornoway. We arrived on a sunny Friday afternoon and after inital confusion as to which cottage we were in, walked into a gorgeous living space and kitchen. Everything was SPOTLESS - well equipped kitchen and plenty of basics in the cupboards (tea, coffee etc). A couple of minutes later we were greeted by Marlene's daughter who explained everything to us.

My nephews were delighted with the presence of the PS3 and a working television! This may seem an odd thing to comment on but we have stayed in rental properties without working TVs in the past. It certainly passed the time on a rather rainy and miserable Saturday and we didn't miss Wimbledon!

The beds were very comfortable and there is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms. A very powerful shower and spacious bathroom. There are even bathrobes!

We were fortunate to be have glorious weather (except the rainy Saturday) while we were staying there and took advantage of the deck to enjoy the sunshine, views and some 'light refreshments'. ;-)

The wifi worked really well however mobile reception was patchy.

Make sure if you do visit that you stock up in Stornoway as Barvas isn't overrun with shopping and dining opportunities - there is a small shop on the road into the village however we didn't visit it.

I would recommend Moorpark Cottages to anyone and if truth be told I was a little reluctant to write this review as I hope they are not booked up the next time we visit Lewis! I would like to take this opportunity to thank Marlene and her family for a fantastic stay, in without question the best self catering accommodation we have had on the island.

Date of stay: July 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AKU1410
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Excellent cottage”
Reviewed May 23, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Great cottage in a quiet location. Everything you need for a stay is available, from a fuly equiped kitchen, bathroom with towels and robes, to books, visitor guides and even a PS3 for that possible rainy night in.
Owners are very friendly and helpfull. We loved our stay. A nice beach is not far a way, and Stornoway, Butt of Lewis and other sights are easy to reach. Barvas does not offer pubs or restaurants. But the facilities in the cottage are excellent to make your own dinner.

Date of stay: May 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndrePnj
Thiene, Italy
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“extremely cozy”
Reviewed April 23, 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

To be honest, I got no words to describe the feelings that I had during the stay at Moorpark Cottages. You have to live the serenity and the beauty of this hidden piece of quietness located on the Isle of Lewis to understand what I'm saying :)
The house is large, bright and equipped with everything you need (except for the bottle opener. In this place a glass of red wine at the sunset it's a must! :D).
The position is central and well connected with the main streets of the island. You are able to reach Stornway in less than 30 min or the Callanish standing stones in 40 min.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: nature outside, the view from the kitchen, the bathroom, comfy bed
Liked least: key pickup, wifi connection
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing