We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lucky in the sunshine”
Review of The Blackhouse

The Blackhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Furstenfeldbruck, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lucky in the sunshine”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We were lucky to come there just before the sun came out and had a wonderful albeit short break with a view to the ocean. The houses are interesting too, but it's the complete package that makes it a great place to be.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Beate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    32
    8
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good presentation of local history”
Reviewed September 12, 2012

This attraction did a competent job of presenting relevant and interesting local history. The renovated blackhouses were interesting in their own right. The mock-up of a typical blackhouse dwelling was excellent and I loved the smell of the peat fire, I actually walked out of the house at least twice just so I could walk back in and enjoy the new smell of the almost unique fire. The information portrays a crofters life and a couple of video runs on peat cutting and tweed. It is possible to stay here in a converted blackhouse if you book early. The welcome area contains a tea room (avoid peak times if you want to avoid coach trips) and the something-and-nothing shop typical of these attractions. All in all a worthwhile visit which I would recommend to others.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank sussexslanter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Western Isles
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing living history”
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Walking in here was so lifelike, it was like there were people living in it. Of course it doesn't take long to look around but I have been a few times and it is a lovely atmosphere with a lovely smell (mind you not sure if I would still think that if i had to live there permanently).I loved seeing all the old artifacts. And I would visit it again!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dealande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
“worthwhile visit”
Reviewed September 2, 2012

An interesting outing to see a black-house as it would have been when inhabited. This one was inhabited until 50 yrs ago. There was a peat fire burning which was interesting to see as well as comforting as there where gale force winds blowing outside! Lots of information and very interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank copsham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Peat Fires Illuminated”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Evocative of the life of an islander in past centuries and a stark reminder of the hardship endured. We saw our first peat fire here in one of the Blackhouses and realised what the powerful but pleasant smokey aroma was that we had been experiencing from time to time during our stay on Lewis. The history is everywhere here-great explanatory video also on peat gathering and the making of Harris Tweed.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackhouse also viewed

Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
 

Been to The Blackhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing