We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Family Memory of a Lifetime - dolphins, seals, skua and more” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hebrides Fish 'n' Trips

Hebrides Fish 'n' Trips
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Hebrides Fish 'n' Trips is the dedicated provider of affordable private boat charters for couples and families \ groups of up to 5 people. Trips of 3 - 6 hours explore the rugged East coast of the Isle of Lewis with some of the best wildlife and fishing in Europe. Each trip is shaped around the client's wants, with flexible departure times and pick-up points. A new boat for 2015 will further enhance passenger comfort. Fish 'n' Trips was the first wildlife business in the Hebrides to be endorsed by Scottish Natural Heritage and the RSPB to feed the rare White Tailed Sea Eagles, allowing passengers to see and photograph these impressive birds of prey at close range. An experience not to be missed!
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“A Family Memory of a Lifetime - dolphins, seals, skua and more”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

Many thanks to Lewis Mackenzie, the thoroughly excellent skipper of Hebridean Fish n Trips. The absolute highlight of our visit following a fabulous day on Luskentyre beach, Harris, we then went for a 5 pm 2 hour wildlife spotting/fishing trip with Lewis. Setting off from Keose, Lewis gave us a thorough safety briefing and decked us out in oilskins and life jackets before setting off on his comfortable and very clean boat to try and spot some seals, and do a spot of fishing. We were delighted to hear about the salmon and mussel farming, and then spot a lovely family of seals including pups nearby, but imagine our delight to come across a pod of around 50 common dolphins all criss-crossing in front and behind and alongside the boat, leaping and somersaulting all around us. We couldn't have wished for a more memorable experience and had no idea that we would see a few never mind such a vast number of dolphins so closely. We then enjoyed a spot of mackerel fishing just dipping our rods in where Lewis stopped and immediately pulling out baby pollock and about 20 mackerel in just 10 mins and putting most back and a couple hand fed by Lewis to the persistent Skua that followed us on our trip hoping for some spoils! A family memory which will last forever of a fabulous day on Lewis and Harris. Can't recommend it enough. Thank you Lewis.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank aliatthelane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“pollock 'n' mackerel 'n' sea eagles too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

We had a great evening trip with Lewis in July this year. Family of 4 and Granny came too. Caught more than enough fish for tea and Lewis' pet skua. What's more, not even queasy on Lewis' new fancy boat and we saw not one, but two sea eagles and lots of seals. All in all a really great evening with a fantastic host.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Sally F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Wonderful customer service in stunning surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2012

My wife and I had the pleasure of spending over three hours in the company of Lewis who took us out in his splendid new boat and gave us the most enjoyable look at the east coast of the isle of Lewis. The customer service we received was second to none and Lewis couldn't have been more attentive and more willing to tailor the trip to our interests.

Lewis's knowledge of the area and his readiness to provide us with clear answers to our questions on the wildlife of the area was highly impressive and his success in enabling us to catch exactly the types of fish we had hoped for was greatly appreciated.

In short, nothing was too much trouble and we had a terrific time so much so that we wouldn't hesitate to take another trip with Lewis if ever we return to his island.

I commend a trip with Lewis to anyone.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Stewart A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2012

13 year old son has spent two years trying to catch a fish and failing, within ten minutes the boat was full of mackerel, it felt like they were throwing themselves at the line. Added to this the beauty of the lock, the porpoises swimming alongside the boat, the bird life and the seal colony and this was without doubt the highlight of our holiday. Lewis was really knowledgeable about the wildlife, brilliant with the kids and their chaotic fishing practices and the boat was immaculate and felt really safe. The fish tasted great too.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Tamsin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Amazing fishing, great wildlife and much fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Many thanks to Lewis for providing us with a fantastic morning on board his new boat. He is very flexible and will cater the time to what you would like to do. We had much fun catching mackeral and pollack - providing us with more than plenty as meals for our honeymoon on Harris. Also first hand knowledge on the islands and wildlife. Spotted lots of lovely seals and nesting sea birds.
Lewis is a very frienfly skipper and made us feel very welcome on his boat.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kate D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hebrides Fish 'n' Trips also viewed

Miavaig, Isle of Lewis
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris
Stornoway, Isle of Lewis
 

Been to Hebrides Fish 'n' Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing