We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food For Miles Around” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn Between

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn Between
Ranked #51 of 62 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Dundee
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Food For Miles Around”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2012

There aren't many places to eat, especially after 5pm, on the west side of Lewis, and we didn't fancy the Doune Braes Hotel, having had indifferent food there previously. Asking at the Hebridean Soap Company, they recommended The Inn Between at Shawbost, just a few miles up the road from where we were (Carloway). What a Find! Doesn't look anything special outside, but INSIDE - Wow. Lovely bright, modern decor, fantastic art everywhere, (by Christina the owner), and a small but well chosen menu. The fish and chips were out of this world, and a huge portion too. All freshly cooked, home made fare. Half portions just fine for the kids and Gran.
Lovely bar area too, with snooker tables - we had a quick game while waiting for our food.
Friendly, welcoming hostess - hi Christina from Dundee!
Lots of pretty, interesting local crafts dotted around (including home made chocolate tablet -yum!) selling for affordable prices, unlike many other tourist shops on the island, bought a cute wooly hat, and saw it the next day at double the price elsewhere!
Take the trouble to seek out this lovely restaurant.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alison C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    3
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
4
7
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2012

We stopped for a light dinner and were warmly welcomed by Christina , she took the time to chat to us about the local area and history. I would certainly return again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carolynn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwolle, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

My dad and i got to the inn between after wandering around Lewis all day and we were warmly welcomed.
Had a good diner, a good night at the bar and even got to play pool and meet some locals.
This inn is a good way to expirience Isle of Lewis.
The whole staff is a colourfull bunch of nice people who are good at what they do.

Regards, hans.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hans m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2010

I have just read the review by the business travellers on this site and cannot believe the nerve of these people. I was staying at the inn between at the same time as them and they were to put it mildley a pain in the unmentionables. I am one of the poor guest that was kept up all night by there drunken noise making slobs, and poor Wayne and Ann the owners had to ask them several times to keep quiet. These men were just jobbin builders working on the island and certainly not used to the high standards of this little boutique hotel. I am sure Wayne and Ann were glad when they left as were the rest of the guests. Maybe a tent would be more appropriate for them next time!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank joycecglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2009

What a disaster. Ive never met a more self centered host, who once she realised we were going to dine else where every evening, she made our stay hell. With constant complaining and under the breath comments, Im DELIGHTED we fount other accomodation. AVOID,AVOID,AVOID!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hoopyNottingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2009

On a tour of the West Coast of the Isle of Lewis, feeling chilly and windswept on an August day I came across The Inn Between which was welcoming, warm, friendly, cheerful and excellent value for money. Over a superb meal served by Anne the owner and her husband Wayne, my friend and I were able to sit and look at the current exhibition of art displayed in the cafe bar. The vibrancy of the colours really brightened up an otherwise dull and cloudy afternoon.
If you are ever on the Isle of Lewis go and visit the Inn Between. I can thoroughly reccommend it. But remember to wear a woolly hat!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank woollyhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Untied Kingdom
Level Contributor
124 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2009

We stayed at the Inn Between in June 2009 and was not disappointed in anything during our stay. The welcome and the food were first class and the standard of the accommodation was far better than some hotels costing twice the price. Our bedroom was furnished to a very high standard with all the usual amenities available, en-suite, tea and coffee in our room and spotlessly clean

The hotel owners Ann and Wayne go out of their way to make your stay a very comfortable one. The menu is varied and caters for all choices including special diet and vegetarians (we are vegetarian so we can speak from experience)

The area around the hotel is beautiful with some of the most stunning beaches I have seen anywhere in the world. If you are lucky and stay there in the winter you may be see the Northern Lights.

The hotel is just a few miles from the most northern point of the UK and the main town of Stornaway not far away.

My wife and I will certainly visit again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy_and_Val
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Isle of Lewis hotels
5.8 mi away
Doune Braes Hotel
Doune Braes Hotel
#1 of 1 in Carloway
3.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
13.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
13.3 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Borve Country House Hotel
13.2 mi away
Hebridean Guest House
Hebridean Guest House
#5 of 24 in Stornoway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
14.8 mi away
Broad Bay House
Broad Bay House
#3 of 62 in Isle of Lewis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn Between? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn Between

Property: The Inn Between
Address: North Shawbost, HS2 9BD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
The Inn Between Hotel Isle Of Lewis
The Inn Between Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing