We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Suainaval
Nearby Hotels
Cabarfeidh Hotel(Stornoway)
$156
$152
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caladh Inn(Stornoway)
$140
$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$145
$140
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
County Hotel(Stornoway)
$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$173
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$309
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aultbea Hotel(Aultbea)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (114)
Filter reviews
114 results
Traveler rating
112
2
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
2
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsuig sandsmoon risingfamily lifefabulous locationmeganhostsbeacheslewisislandponiesaccommodation
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 114 reviews
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a first trip to the outer Isles and therefore our first trip to Uig and Suainaval. This area is stunning. Suainaval is a wonderful place to stay, it was prefect for us but what really made our all too short visit stand out was Tony and Kirsty's hospitality and obviously the fantastic breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble. We, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, borrowed the family kayaks and bikes. It really is somewhere I would visit again as there was so much we didn't see.

Room Tip: There are two rooms which were lovely. The room my husband and I stayed in had the best view and lovely harris tweed curtains and the room the children stayed was very good too.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2013

As soon as you arrive at Suainaval you become part of the family. Kirsty and Tony (not forgetting Megan) make one feel really at home. This therefore is not the sort of place if you prefer the impersonal formal approach. As far as the practicalities are concerned the front room has the most fabulous view over Uig sands and is spacious and comfortable. (An extra easy chair would make it perfect!). The bathroom has a jacuzzi bath with shower taps which is fine although not ideal if you prefer a shower. As both Kirsty and Tony have other jobs breakfast is usually served between 8 and 8.15 depending on whether you want a continental or full (very full!) Scottish breakfast. The latter will certainly set you up for a day exploring the delights of the Uig area. This is without doubt the finest part of Lewis and maybe the whole of the Western Isles.

One slight difficulty about the Uig area is the limited number of eating places: at this time of year only two were available - a cafe some distance away on the Garynahine road and the nearer Auberge Carnish. However you could always devise a picnic evening meal from the extremely well stocked community shop in "downtown" UIg. Yes Suainaval is a great place to stay in a lovely area with exceptionally welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: The front double room has the best view
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

WOW - what a truly amazing place to visit and the accomodation was excellent.
We stayed in the B&B with our hosts Kirsty & Tony who made us feel like one of the family. On our arrival Kirsty helped us in with our luggage then brought i a freshly made pot of tea with home made chocalate chip cakes. Yummy : -) .
The view was stunning and the surrounding area we explored in details thanks to Kirsty and her enthusiasm for the area.
Would we go back ? YES WITHOUT A DOUBT! We felt like we were at home for the 3 days we stayed and Kirsty's home made muesli is just to die for. Kept me full till mid afternoon. My other half chose the FULL breakfast which also kept him going. We were only sorry we did not get to stay for longer.
Kirsty , Tony , thank you for a brilliant 3 days and next time we will bring our "Lycra" for the keep fit.
Viv & Malcolm xxx

Room Tip: Really big bedroom with ample space and a jacuzzi. TV in room with tea and coffee making facilities - fresh milk and biscuits View is amazing
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Southerdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A welcoming and beautiful B and B in a stunning location.Thank you for the hospitality,recommendations and lovely breakfasts.Marianne`s "old school house"was really good as was theUig community cafe.The room itself was very comfortable and had lots of useful extras like binoculars,guides andmaps of the area.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In my travels I have stayed in many B & B, but this is really wonderful.
Positioned high in the Isle of Lewis, you can enjoy a beautiful panorama.
The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. In the closet you can find binoculars, many guides and maps of the area, films.
The house is beautiful and very well kept. Making breakfast overlooking the sea that shines is priceless.
The place is really quiet and relaxing, surrounded by greenery and, as mentioned, the view is breathtaking. I could sit for hours watching.
Kirsty and Tony (owners) make you really feel at home.
She gave us lots of great advice on places to see in the area: all wonderful!
In those two days the weather was not very nice and it made everything even more magical: the coast during the rain with the rough sea is amazing.
The best breakfast ever eaten in the UK! Thank you Kirsty.
After a day it is easy to learn the way to get there (there are few roads in Lewis), but be sure to ask detailed road information the first time you go there.
Bring a jacket: in August is coolish.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews