We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”
Review of Suainaval

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Lewis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Suainaval
Ranked #8 of 58 Isle of Lewis B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic”
Reviewed October 8, 2013

This was a first trip to the outer Isles and therefore our first trip to Uig and Suainaval. This area is stunning. Suainaval is a wonderful place to stay, it was prefect for us but what really made our all too short visit stand out was Tony and Kirsty's hospitality and obviously the fantastic breakfasts. Nothing was too much trouble. We, 2 adults and 2 teenagers, borrowed the family kayaks and bikes. It really is somewhere I would visit again as there was so much we didn't see.

Room Tip: There are two rooms which were lovely. The room my husband and I stayed in had the best view and lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Allison R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
10
83
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2013

As soon as you arrive at Suainaval you become part of the family. Kirsty and Tony (not forgetting Megan) make one feel really at home. This therefore is not the sort of place if you prefer the impersonal formal approach. As far as the practicalities are concerned the front room has the most fabulous view over Uig sands and is spacious and comfortable. (An extra easy chair would make it perfect!). The bathroom has a jacuzzi bath with shower taps which is fine although not ideal if you prefer a shower. As both Kirsty and Tony have other jobs breakfast is usually served between 8 and 8.15 depending on whether you want a continental or full (very full!) Scottish breakfast. The latter will certainly set you up for a day exploring the delights of the Uig area. This is without doubt the finest part of Lewis and maybe the whole of the Western Isles.

One slight difficulty about the Uig area is the limited number of eating places: at this time of year only two were available - a cafe some distance away on the Garynahine road and the nearer Auberge Carnish. However you could always devise a picnic evening meal from the extremely well stocked community shop in "downtown" UIg. Yes Suainaval is a great place to stay in a lovely area with exceptionally welcoming hosts.

Room Tip: The front double room has the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColdstreamKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

WOW - what a truly amazing place to visit and the accomodation was excellent.
We stayed in the B&B with our hosts Kirsty & Tony who made us feel like one of the family. On our arrival Kirsty helped us in with our luggage then brought i a freshly made pot of tea with home made chocalate chip cakes. Yummy : -) .
The view was stunning and the surrounding area we explored in details thanks to Kirsty and her enthusiasm for the area.
Would we go back ? YES WITHOUT A DOUBT! We felt like we were at home for the 3 days we stayed and Kirsty's home made muesli is just to die for. Kept me full till mid afternoon. My other half chose the FULL breakfast which also kept him going. We were only sorry we did not get to stay for longer.
Kirsty , Tony , thank you for a brilliant 3 days and next time we will bring our "Lycra" for the keep fit.
Viv & Malcolm xxx

Room Tip: Really big bedroom with ample space and a jacuzzi. TV in room with tea and coffee making facilities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Southerdeners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gosport
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2013

A welcoming and beautiful B and B in a stunning location.Thank you for the hospitality,recommendations and lovely breakfasts.Marianne`s "old school house"was really good as was theUig community cafe.The room itself was very comfortable and had lots of useful extras like binoculars,guides andmaps of the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank patricia d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

In my travels I have stayed in many B & B, but this is really wonderful.
Positioned high in the Isle of Lewis, you can enjoy a beautiful panorama.
The rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. In the closet you can find binoculars, many guides and maps of the area, films.
The house is beautiful and very well kept. Making breakfast overlooking the sea that shines is priceless.
The place is really quiet and relaxing, surrounded by greenery and, as mentioned, the view is breathtaking. I could sit for hours watching.
Kirsty and Tony (owners) make you really feel at home.
She gave us lots of great advice on places to see in the area: all wonderful!
In those two days the weather was not very nice and it made everything even more magical: the coast during the rain with the rough sea is amazing.
The best breakfast ever eaten in the UK! Thank you Kirsty.
After a day it is easy to learn the way to get there (there are few roads in Lewis), but be sure to ask detailed road information the first time you go there.
Bring a jacket: in August is coolish.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alessandro B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulheim, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Dear Wade family,

thank you so much for a wonderful time in your home. It couldn't have been any better, from the lovely double room (we miss the jacuzzi!!!) to the fabolous nature all around, your very helpful trip, walk- and restaurant advises - especially Marianne's "Old school house") , the wonderful breakfast in your living room, accommmmpanied by Tony's fantastic photograph's (Kirsty - your porridge is heaven!) to the most important of all: You don't rent out rooms to guests - you invite people from all around the world to live in your home for a while, make them welcome in your family and leave as friends. And, Meggan, you're the best head porter person ever - thanks for your warm welcome!

Lewis was great and 5 days weren't nearly enough, so we'll be back in 2015 - keep our room prepared!

Lots of love, Hans-Georg & Renate from Germany

Room Tip: The double room with jacuzzi - unsurpassed on cold mornings or evenings!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hans und Renate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2013

A gem of a B&B in a most remote and beautiful part of Lewis. Apart from the warm friendly welcome and hospitality during our stay, the little touches, eg, sharing Kirsty's birthday cake, tips on where to get the best views and find deserted beaches, made our visit that much more enjoyable. The view from the breakfast table was so breathtaking that we could have sat there all day, and not just because the porridge was so great. If you are looking for a B&B in Lewis you have to try this one as some of the experiences we enjoyed can't be described, you have to experience them.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Quine98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Lewis
23.8 mi away
Cabarfeidh Hotel
Cabarfeidh Hotel
#3 of 6 in Stornoway
323 reviews
23.7 mi away
Royal Hotel Stornoway
Royal Hotel Stornoway
#2 of 6 in Stornoway
283 reviews
23.6 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#1 of 6 in Stornoway
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 mi away
Hotel Hebrides
Hotel Hebrides
#2 of 2 in Tarbert
496 reviews
23.9 mi away
Caladh Inn
Caladh Inn
#4 of 6 in Stornoway
297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Uig Lodge
Uig Lodge
#1 of 1 in Timsgarry
21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Suainaval? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Suainaval

Property: Suainaval
Address: 3 Cradhlastadh | Uig, HS2 9JF, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Outer Hebrides > Lewis and Harris > Isle of Lewis
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Lewis
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the breathtaking Uig Sands and the hills of Lewis, Kirsty and Tony Wade and family would like to welcome you to our home. All rooms have en-suite facilities and great views - we can see the sea and sand from every room! Please get in touch if we can help with any information to help plan your Hebridean holiday. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Suainaval Isle Of Lewis, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing