We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Hidden Gem.......”
other travelers have booked this property
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors light and spacious living and dining
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
Fabulous stone clad lodges with turf roofs on Islay. 5 star eco luxury accommodation for 2-4 guest
stylish interiors
light and spacious living and dining
long view over the moor
crafted with care from local stone
well-equipped kitchen
designer touches and original art
organic bedlinen and bespoke tweed furnishing
a warm welcome awaits you
fabulous ensuites
Islay has miles of sandy beaches
sandy beaches in every direction
choose between twin singles or a 6' superking in the second bedroom
sunset view from the hot tub
fascinating clouds
sunset over glenastle
finnish sauna - with a window!
carraig fhadda lighthouse
crystal clear sea at the Singing sands (10 minutes)
The Singing Sands on a lovely May morning
have long walk along the big strand - 8 miles long!
whisky flavoured marigolds? This one's a Laphroaig.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ali M
St. Andrews, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem.......”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A little tricky to find for the first time and well worth the effort.
Once you arrive it is a beautifully appointed cottage in an idyllic spot handy for all the attractions of Islay and with a helpful, attentive housekeeper.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfort and location
Liked least: the underfloor heating was a little too warm for the warm week we had there in April
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Travellin...
Surrey, England
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Stunning”
Reviewed June 22, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Having a couple of "0 Landmarks" this year (birthday and anniversary) my wife and I were looking for something just a little bit special, in a location that neither of us had visited before . We definitely found it at the Coillabus lodge on Islay.
With the stunning views and a lodge that has been completed to a very high standard, we found more than we could have asked or hoped for. The attention to detail in the furnishings, the high standard of all the fittings and the modern interior design and layout gave the lodge just that little bit of extra class we were seeking.
We had "Glenastle view" for the week, which meant we were treated to the most stunning sunsets from either inside )from the panoramic windows overlooking the Oa towards Port Charlotte and Portnhaven ) or outside (in the Hot Tub... a great feature).

Elaine (our point of contact on Islay) was just fantastic in ensuring we were warmly welcomed and given just enough information to get ourselves "up and running". We can also recommend Debbie, who cooks fresh meals and delivers them to the lodge (great tasting fresh food with locally sourced ingredients).

Highly recommended for those wishing something a little bit special, different and luxurious; all in a simply idyllic location. A very memorable, positive experience.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The space and light in the property with wonderful views
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NushNusha...
London
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Out of this world”
Reviewed February 1, 2015 for a stay in November 2014
1
person found this review helpful

A stunning place to escape to - we genuinely couldn't fault it. I can't imagine a better place to switch off and relax, and everything has been thought of. Location is wonderfully isolated - the drive is quite an experience if you arrive in the dark - but Islay is a great island to explore, and if the weather is bad, you have the perfect retreat to hide away in.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 4, 2015
Thanks so much for taking time to write this review. This is just how we want our guests to feel. I'm glad you enjoyed the seclusion of Coillabus - and hope you enjoyed some starry nights in the hot tub! We'd be delighted to welcome you back again when you next want to escape.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susie J
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Secluded Romance, a place from which to enjoy the wildness of Islay”
Reviewed November 7, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I had a fantastic "mini-moon" at Coillabus where we spent 4 nights and 3 days exploring what Islay has to offer.

Each morning we did a 5-8 mile walk with our dog from the front door around the amazing Oa Peninsular through the wind and rain (well it is November!), then spent the afternoons exploring the whisky distilleries and other amazing attractions on Islay. Everyone is so friendly and the landscape so wild, we didn't mind getting wet on our walks when we knew there was a hot tub waiting for us at the lodge!

It was also lovely that our dog could join us, he thoroughly enjoyed the heated floors and the sheepskin rug provided in front of the fire - we found him there most of the time!

The lodge is remote, however this was just what we wanted. We normally book places close to a pub but on this occasion decided not to and were happily rewarded with seclusion and peace. Port Ellen is however only a 10 minute drive away, so we went to the Islay hotel one night for dinner which was great.

We felt really relaxed after our holiday and I was very sad to leave. We will most definitely be back to Islay at some point in our lives, hopefully even to Coillabus!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robbie C
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Breathtaking, amazing, peaceful, relaxing.......”
Reviewed October 17, 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed in the Cnocan Dubh lodge and saying it was amazing would be an understatement.
From the drive off the ferry and up to the lodge, to the amazing peaceful rolling hills, to the spacious 2 bedrooms and large lounge kitchen area to the relaxing sauna and hot tub this place met our expectations and more. My wife and I along with our 7 month old daughter had 1 week of pure relaxation, chill out time here.
The people on the island are so friendly and welcoming – (I especially loved the little waves you got every time you passed a car).
There are some lovely sights to see on the Island from the little trek to the singing sands beach and the light house, to the Ardbeg Distillery (Food here is great), to the Woollen Mill and the Islay Hotel in Port Ellen. I can see us definitely going back to the island and this lodge hopefully one day soon. Highly recommend this place if you want to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life.
Big thank you to Hester and Elaine for all your help in making our stay perfect.

Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
avonside
UK
Level 6 Contributor
213 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
“We loved An Cnocan Dubh Lodge”
Reviewed May 23, 2014 for a stay in May 2014
3
people found this review helpful

A perfect place to stay on Islay.
Top class accommodation: well designed, spacious, well-appointed and spotless. Refreshing to have a lodge of this standard willing to allow dogs - usually if you want to take your pet(s) on holiday you have to settle for the shabby end of the holiday rental market but fortunately Coillabus is different. An Cnocan Dubh Lodge is in a beautiful setting on a working hill farm on the Oa, and is peaceful, secluded and luxurious. We loved everything, from the sauna and hot tub, to views across the Oa, breakfast outdoors, comfy beds, and having Rae round to cook (highly recommended by the way - she cooked a fantastic meal).
We loved Islay - probably our favourite of the western isles we've visited so far... We loved the beaches, the bluebells and waving to everyone on the roads, the whisky (Octomore is the best!) and the beer.
Coillabus made our anniversary stay extra special and we had a really memorable holiday with our 2 dogs.
Can't recommend if enough.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Overall high standard
Liked least: The perimeter fence isn't dog-proof (for small/medium sized dogs)
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nouveau27
Musselburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A sublime experience”
Reviewed March 30, 2014 for a stay in March 2014
4
people found this review helpful

From our welcome at the houses to our last minute there, our stay was fantastic.The two lodges are truly eco and nestle in the wild Islay landscape marvellously. No detail was forgotten from hot tub glasses to doggie friendliness in one lodge and every techno gizmo required. We are cooks in our family and we turned out some great meals with the accoutrements provided. Highlights were eating langoustines and scallops fresh off the boat; looking at the stars in the hot tub; watching two golden eagles perform an aerial ballet; having a sausage sizzle on the beach in sunshine; the Kildalton cross and church; the Laphroaig distillery tour; lunch at the Ardbeg cafe; buying staghorn buttons in a remote croft on the Rinns of Islay; visiting the weaving mill etc etc..and even just chiiling looking out on a stormy day in the living room with its huge windows. Beds were mega comfortable with great linen and there was constant hot water and warm bathroom floors from the underfloor heating.
Thank you Hester and your helpers.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the houses themselves and the setting
Liked least: nothing to complain about at all
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing