We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only place to stay on Iona!”
Review of Iona Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Iona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Iona Hostel
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“The only place to stay on Iona!”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

As long as you're not too precious to share facilities the hostel is by far the best place to stay on Iona. Lovely building, cheap as chips, and a constant stream of interesting people coming in and out. The real selling point is the location: right at the north end, the beautiful sandy beach is your back garden - handy for sunrises and sunsets (or if you're more energetic than me at 7am, you can get to the top of Dun I in about ten minutes). I will certainly be back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gemmarama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    14
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
16
28
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed in the hostel for 10 days and rented the entire hostel (and the shepherds hut) for 4 nights late August as our Wedding Headquarters for close friends and our family. Organising a very large and international wedding on Iona is not for the faint hearted...we had the wedding in the Abbey and the reception in the Village Hall. The all too common island attitude (with a few exceptions such as Alternative Boat Hire) was a frustrating 'cannot do'. Not so at Iona hostel. John made just about everything possible.

We chose the hostel for our stay after looking at the hotels and the best B&Bs on the island and the hostel living room/kitchen were just unbeatable. NZ tramping hut style and the just in time appearance of a new shepherds hut created the absolute perfect atmosphere for us.

From a bondfire on the beach to storing all our 'junk' in the barn, wifi (did we really want this...?), tolerance of our four lively kids and us not bringing 1 oak tree to plant but 20 - John was just unbeatably enthusiastic. What pleased us the most really that John and team were the only islanders that joined our reception in the Village Hall - we had invited many of the locals.

We'll be back for many anniversary celebrations - not sure if there is another place in the world where such a magical Abbey and amazing hostel can be found on such a beautiful island.

Thank you for everything - there will be many more trees to come :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2012

stayed there last June; very chilled staff and atmosphere.
room was ok; shared it with 5 other ladies (one who snored loudly- what can you do!)
toilets were clean and kitchen very spacious - you're able to cook your own stuff and chill in the 'living room' bit next to it.
best of all for me was the beach behind the hostel. extremely beautiful, silent, deserted...
paradise!!!! I'm certainly going back to Iona.
mainly i'd recommend the hostel if you're not a 'party animal', as it all goes quiet around 10ish.
also, it's a fair walk from when you get off the ferry so make sure you're up for it. beautiful walk though, with all the sheep in the fields and the sea surrounding you!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cecilliann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 18, 2012

On the website this looks like a wonderful place - and it is. The staff are extremely friendly, the place is immaculately clean and the communal kitchen/common area is extremely well thought out.

I stayed in a twin room with my son which was perfect for our needs. Yes, it's about as far as you can get from the village, but we're talking about a mile.

The hostel has an green ethos which fits perfectly with island life.

Having cycled there, my one wish is that there was some covered storage for bikes. Perhaps even a tarpaulin or two that can be borrowed to save bikes from the worst excesses of island weather.

I would thoroughly recommend this place, in fact I already have to a number of friends.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dahaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2012

A very nice hostel and with really nice views, overlooks the ocean. Really nice staff . Nice walks if you have the right footwear and can get boat trips too of the other Islands. Would definatley recommend this Hostel for a nice relaxing break. Takes about 25 minutes to walk here from the pier.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 825alexander825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2012

I've stayed in hostels the world over, not because they are low cost but because they are invariably the only remaining forms of accommodation which radiate some form of individuality. Even B+Bs in some countries are becoming increasingly formatted. Ratings for cleanliness and comfort appear in other reviews of this hostel, the superiority of which is clearly confirmed. I'd like to rate the Iona Hostel experience as one of the rare authentic human experiences of being a traveller one is likely to be blessed with in this lonelyplanetised world. Travelling isn't about ticking boxes, it's about going to places and being there, really being there. Those who don't understand my use of the word being and haven't got time to read Levinas, need not read any further.

At Iona Hostel, whether you are approaching it, walking that pesky half hour walk (if you're a Fairtrade advocate, walk the walk, by which I mean, use the local taxi – confused? Me too!) that everyone complains about but which is the pilgrim's approach, whether you're inside, outside or around it, you are being in Iona, being in Nature, being in the World, being in the Universe. There are other routes to ecstasy which don't involve a half hour walk but might have long-term health implications. I recommend Iona Hostel.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2530kaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I loved everything about Iona Hostel! The location was beautiful and the hostel very comfortable. The staff were friendly, as was the atmosphere in the hostel. Everyone very sociable and relaxed! It's located in green fields with farm animals nearby. About 10 minutes walk from the ferry, with easy access to some of the most beautiful beaches you will ever see!

Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Sun_Lover376
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Iona
22.7 mi away
The Tobermory Hotel
The Tobermory Hotel
#1 of 3 in Tobermory
392 reviews
22.9 mi away
Western Isles Hotel
Western Isles Hotel
#3 of 3 in Tobermory
686 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.1 mi away
Craigrowan
Craigrowan
#1 of 3 in Pennyghael
77 reviews
18.5 mi away
Bellachroy Hotel
Bellachroy Hotel
#1 of 10 in Dervaig
261 reviews
22.9 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#7 of 27 in Tobermory
332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Iona Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Iona Hostel

Property: Iona Hostel
Address: Lagandorain | Argyll PA76 6SW, PA76 6SW, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Iona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Isle of Iona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Iona Hostel Scotland/Isle Of Iona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing