We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Iona Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Heritage Center

Heritage Center
Ranked #2 of 5 Shopping in Isle of Iona
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A cultural and natural history museum explaining the history and geology of Iona.
Stonehaven Scotland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Iona Trip”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

The trip to mull was spectacular as the weather was so good.
The reflections of the hills were spectacular and the views second to none.
Short ferry trip to Iona it self was quick.
We arrived at the visitors centre was a little disappointing as the information was much of a much ness.
Felt that the entry fee to fet in was a little bit expensive for all that awaits. I know that the upkeep of our scottish bulidings costs but if a family was to visit with children it could get quite costly.
It was lovely to see the abbey again.
Not very suitable for people to come if they have problems walking as it is a little walk form the ferry pier to the abbey.
we in facy saw some elderly people get off a ferry with walking sticks and were concerned as how they might manage the walk.
There is a tearoom which had picnic benches outside to sit when the weather is good and you can enjoy the views.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ferrenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    22
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, Waikato, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Iona-a Spiritual awakening”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

Well i suppose i am a little biased but there is not many other places that I have been to , or taken groups to, that have that impact on me. the drive across Mull nevers bores as the excitement of soon being on Iona overtakes that.The short ferry ride and then off yuo go, but this is not the Abbey , this is the heritage Centre thats sits nearby. So maybe its the setting but each time i go over i have a look in here and there is always something new, the shop is quite cool, even bought a new beanie, and iona one of course, all the information boards are a must really.
Allow yourself some extra time to look at all these, in fact Iona needs much more time overall.Its more than a shop though, there is information about other parts of Iona, not just the Abbey
And the staff were excellent.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CelticConnexionsTour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galashiels, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Iona Abbey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

After a lovely ferry ride from Mull we landed on Iona and made our way to the Abbey. It was a very interesting visit - very peaceful and calming somehow. There was plenty of information about the various artefacts inside and out. we also viewed the Nunnery ruins and the graveyard within the grounds of the Abbey. It was a beautiful day so we saw these attractions at their best. We had a lovely meal in one of the hotels. A delicious meal with views of the sea from our table at one of the windows. It was worth visiting Mull and it's narrow twisting roads just to see Iona.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Could do with more variety”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

The centre mainly concentrates on information boards in a small hall with some exhibits. Adults will probably appreciate it but children are likely to become bored very quickly. There is a nice cafe next door which I would recommend for a snack and a coffee or soup and a roll - there are also picnic benches in the garden which is lovely if the weather is good.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ROAMINGSCOT55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
96 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good museum and tea room”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

The Heritage Centre is small but packs a lot of information within its walls. There is a small shop selling gifts and a tea room with a great garden for sitting in.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank MadelineW1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Center also viewed

Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
 
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
Isle of Iona, The Hebrides
 

Been to Heritage Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing