We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ardoran House(Isle of Iona)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (73)
Filter reviews
73 results
Traveler rating
61
10
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
61
10
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmargaret macdonaldhome from homehot drinkssplendid breakfasttwin roomisland lifea wonderful staymcdonaldssheephousestoriesabbeysoundionavillageviewshost
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 73 reviews
Reviewed June 30, 2018

What makes this B&B is Margaret Macdonald herself. She is warm-hearted, gracious and full of genuine care and consideration for her guests.

Should you wish more privacy we suggest that you also consider her excellent looking camping pods (mini wood cabins) with very good self-catering facilities.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1
Reviewed June 22, 2018 via mobile

Mags is a lovely host in a lovely place. She serves a great breakfast and the accommodations are very clean and pleasant. They are an easy walk from the ferry just past the Abby. I'll be back for more of this slice of heaven...

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2018

Mags was a perfect host, generous and fed us the best English breakfast we've had in our month long trip to the UK. Her home is very close to the Abbey away from what can be the very busy ferry port. There is a calmness combined with a rich beauty that has given us the desire to return even in winter! Thanks Mags

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2018

Margaret is a warm, welcoming, lady. She's a great source of information about Iona. Her rooms are clean, her breakfasts excellent, and the location of Bishop's Walk couldn't be better. I had a wonderful view from the twin room I stayed in. Her sheep are delightful.
Yes, you have to make reservations over the phone and no, she doesn't take credit cards but no worries. You can count on her for a wonderful stay on the beautiful Isle of Iona. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: June 2018, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank AngieWA2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2018

We were met at the pier by a charming and helpful Margaret McDonald who drove us to her accommodation which is a good 15 minute walk from the 'village'. Our rooms were spotless with lovely views across to Mull.
We had a splendid breakfast cooked in front of us in her smart farmhouse kitchen.
We shared a bathroom with our daughter where the shower performance was not too brilliant.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews