We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hospitality”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isle of Iona
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mrs. McDonald's Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 12 Isle of Iona B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Madison
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Hospitality”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Bishops Walk is run by a wonderful woman, Margaret MacDonald, who's lovely house overlooks the sea, and she cooks excellent hot full Scottish breakfasts. The house's location is fantastic, right in front of the Dun I, the largest hill on the island, and a few minutes walk to the Abby or north beaches. I saw the sunrise over Iona Sound from my windows each morning! It is quiet and comfortable. Margaret gives excellent advice on where to go and provides a hot water bottle nightly. The room and beds were comfortable, the heat is adjustable, and bathroom clean and spacious. I loved Iona and staying at Bishop's Walk made it an even more wonderful experience. I would certainly stay here again.

Room Tip: Twin rooms have views of sea, Double has view of Dun I.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlexAMadison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

63 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    9
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
8
20
10
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Very nice B&B - we had a comfortable room with a great view out to sea, and fabulous cooked breakfasts every morning. Only a few minutes walk from the Abbey. Margaret picked us up in the car from the ferry and was very helpful. We enjoyed our stay a lot.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank timthorlby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Just back from a relaxing trip to Iona with my partner. The island is absolutely stunning and just as we'd expected.......quiet, beautiful views, the perfect place to relax.

Had heard from alot of people about Bishops Walk, the good review plus the great price was what was lead us to choose here.

When we arrived Margaret picked us up from the ferry, which i thought was great. We then arrived at Bishops walk and the place is absolutely beautiful and located a 2min walk from main hub (pub and 2 shops). We were shown around and made very welcome. We stayed in a twin room (as the double was booked out), and the room was immaculate and spacious. The views from the window were insane......we could see part of Mull and ocean as far as you can see.....stunning.

Woke up and went for breakfast where there was a choice from toast, cereal all the way to a full fry up. I recommend the fry up, it was tasty! We had upgraded to evening meals, and can I just say that Margaret can cook. I hope your hungry cause the portions you get are huge.

All in all the whole trip was amazing and I would thoroughly recommend the island and Mrs McDonalds.....Great value for money and in a perfect place......what more can you ask for.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fakirk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

what a beautiful island for a start, had a lovely few days. weather and views are fantastic, cannot be beaten.
stayed at Bishops Walk, BnB. cannot fault it. rooms were clean and tidy, very comfortable and bathroom is clean and spacious. breakfast was delicious and plentiful. host was very welcoming and made our stay very special, she even picked us up from ferry. would recomend staying here.
(no swimming pool but the beaches are absolutely beautiful)

Room Tip: all twin rooms are sea facing so views are amazing, double room is to side with views of Dun I. so e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahFalkirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 4, 2004

We loved this place, it was so clean and the food was terrific, and the location was very good we will go back for sure, if you want excellent value for money then go here.

Helpful?
14 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isle of Iona
0.0 mi away
Isle of Mull Hotel & Spa
0.0 mi away
Ardoran House
Ardoran House
#1 of 12 in Isle of Iona
134 reviews
0.0 mi away
Park Lodge Hotel
Park Lodge Hotel
#10 of 27 in Tobermory
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mrs. McDonald's Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mrs. McDonald's Bed and Breakfast

Property: Mrs. McDonald's Bed and Breakfast
Address: Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > The Hebrides > Isle of Iona
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Isle of Iona
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Mrs. Mcdonald`s b&b
Mrs. Mcdonald`s Hotel Isle Of Iona
Mrs. McDonald's Bed And Breakfast Scotland/Isle Of Iona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing