We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed May 12, 2014 via mobile

On arrival the hotel looked 'OK' good size car park with plenty space. The reception area had a musky smell and is in need of some tlc but it was clean and the staff were nice. Rooms were basic but they were clean with a shower in the bathroom and some shower gel & shampoo sachets. The only complaint about the rooms were the walls were paper thin. We could hear the guy next door snoring. If you're booking one of their tribute nights I wouldn't be put off as they looked great. The breakfast was buffet style and was great! There was plenty of choice ranging from cereals to a good Scottish fry up washed down with tea / coffee or fresh orange.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank KarenW00DS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

398 - 404 of 685 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

A group of 16 or so of us attended the Saturday dinner dance to celebrate a birthday (second time we've done it) and had a great time again. As others have said, it's not the most fancy, upmarket of hotels, but it doesn't market itself as such. The rooms are basic, but comfortable, everything you need for an overnight stay. We had a 4 course meal which was good and the band were great as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful, especially the receptionist on check in (didn't catch her name) and Alister in the restaurant. All in all, a great night, does what it says on the tin.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigJulesBishopton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Went here for an overnight dinner dance break. On arrival at the hotel it looks rather run down from the outside. When entering reception sadly same applied. Reception carpets were badly stained and decor needed a make-over. There are 99 en-suite rooms available but only four have baths. The rest have showers. Accommodation is in an annexe building accessible by a partially covered walkway. Corridors are rather run down and again the carpets were badly stained. The room itself was quite basic but clean and it had everything needed for an overnight stay. A word of warning the walls in the bedrooms are paper thin !

There is a bar area with plenty of seating. The dinner dance was held in the function room which had a good sized dance floor. Tables are allocated by couple or party and the same table is used for breakfast the next morning. The three course meal was a choice and the meal was very good. The live band came on around 9.30pm. They played for an hour with a mixture of songs to suit all types. A DJ then came on for an hour before the band came on again at 11.30pm until 12.30am.

Breakfast the next morning was held in the same function room. Cereals were laid out on a table along with tea and coffee flasks. Hot breakfast was self service with the usual sausages, eggs, beans, bacon etc. Toast was made to order in the kitchen. Order this when you arrive as you may have to wait a while.

The dinner dance itself was enjoyable and the meal was good. However the hotel itself is in need of upgrading so don't expect too much.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank gelascotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My friend and I spent the Easter weekend at the Rob Roy Hotel in Aberfoyle. We were very impressed with many aspects of this Hotel especially the excellent food and service. The staff were so approachable and nothing was too much bother. This Hotel was quite basic with regards to the bedrooms but they were very clean and well maintained. We would like to send a special thankyou to the manager Rosina, the assistant manager Victor and Karen at reception. This Hotel offered great value for money and we would have rated it as 3 star as opposed to it's 2 star rating. We would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Pay for upgrade if you can as the beds are bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2014

we went to the rob roy hotel with houghs of lincolnshire 14th april 2014 to the 18th april 2014 .firstly houghs was very good ,the drivers professional and it was a good journey and i would recommend them .a lot of the folk on the bus have been on lots of their trips and all recommended them .there was other coaches in as well .
the only issue i had was i wished we had the choice of staying at loch lomond rather than going to helensburgh and alexandria .we would have preferred to have stayed at loch lomond ,helensburgh not very good and alexandria is just a shopping centre ,edinburgh trip wonderful and we didnt go on the clyde trip on the thursday ,we went hill walking in aberfoyle ,wonderful .

now for the hotel , please rob roy managers clean and update the outside of the buildings ,you have a gem of a hotel and outside its very shabby .

the inside very welcoming and staff friendly .we was in room 109 very clean ,tidy and beds and towels done every day ,hostess tray restocked as well . very warm rooms .
the bar and dining area clean and tidy .the staff are nice and the food very nice. very big breakfast and 3 course dinner .choice of 3 servings with tea or coffee to finish . im not a drinker so kev only had the drinks from the bar ,£3.20 for a pint of bitter . we had no issues at all with anything to do with the hotel .

all in all it was a very lovely week ,weather very nice aberfoyle is a nice place to visit ,walk along the pathway into aberfoyle, its a very nice walk and if you go on a trip ,you dont have to go on the days out ,the hill walking we loved it and the visitor centre is very nice.lots of walks to go on . glad we went .wish we had longer though .

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nietrip1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed overnight at the Rob Roy as I was going to the Nick Nairn Cook School at Port of Menteith the next day, avoiding a really early departure from home. The staff were very friendly, helpful and efficient and the food of a good standard. The price was very reasonable. For a two star hotel, it would be hard to find better value.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gavin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Staying here 4 nights with 3 other groups

similar points re evening meals
Reflect very much standard package meals ok but quantity meagre.

no one asks or concerned if if the evening meal satisfactory

Dour introduction by "senior " manager and all reflected by staff

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank raynna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,237 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing