We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dated hotel”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed March 30, 2014

used this hotel while on tour with our welsh choir, its cheap but not cheerful, the covered walkway from reception to the room stank of stale urine, most unpleasant, meals are taken in a large room not unlike a scout hut with long tables, sat next to a total stranger who was slightly tipsy and loud. the hotel is built on the old italian prisoner of war camp, some concrete bases for the huts are still there. treat yourself and go elsewhere!

Room Tip: pleasant walk to aberfoyl village,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Gareth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (685)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

405 - 411 of 685 reviews

Reviewed March 26, 2014

Spent the weekend here and really had a great time. The rooms were clean and tidy and we had all we needed. Through out our stay everything was superb, we could not have asked for anything better. Customer service, the quality and standard of the food and the entertainment were all first class. An excellent weekend and we will have no hesitation in going there again and recommend it to anyone, who wants a good time that is excellent value. Our thanks to all the staff for the way we were looked after.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2014

We have just spent Saturday and Sunday night at the Rob Roy - to celebrate my mums birthday.
On Saturday there were 11 of us and on Sunday 8 - all enjoyed our stay.
The rooms were clean, spacious and had everything you needed for your stay.
The Dinner dance on Saturday included a 4 course meal - just nice sized portions with a good choice of food - staff were great no matter whether it was at bar, reception or serving - polite and helpful.
Sunday night dinner was 3 course in the smaller dining room which we liked - food great again, couldnt fault it.
We all agreed we had a excellent stay at the Rob Roy and would definately return again in the future especially for family events eg birthdays - the price is great also!
Just go and see for yourself.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelylass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2014

I stayed here for one night with my husband this weekend to celebrate our one year wedding anniversary . A week before arrival I emailed the hotel requesting a few little extras as a surprise for my hubby (bottle of wine on Ice ... Petals on the bed and a box of chocolates) this was no problem for the staff and we were both delighted ! Location is so beautiful and peaceful which is exactly what we wanted . Room was immaculately clean and had everything that we needed (although I would of liked more milk on the hospitality tray but that's just a personal opinion As I do drink a lot of coffee ) hospitality tray had biscuits and tea coffee supplied which went down a treat after a long car journey , we decided to eat at the restaurant for our tea and was so surprised by the bar menu ! I had the deep fried Brie for starter and macaroni for main and was delicious ! We were £24 for 2 starters 2 msins and a few drinks . Breakfast was equally as good ! Bar staff were exceptional . Very polite and helpful ! We plan on returning again next year as it was exceptional value for ! money ! Thank you rob Roy hotel for making our anniversary weekend one to remember

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrsdryden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we were on a five day coach tour last week. on first sight we were not too impressed, as it,s in much need of a good paint and tidy up outside. however on getting to our room we were pleasantly surprised.our room was very cosy,nicely decorated, the bathroom was brand new.very clean .the meals were excellent, plenty of choice,and very tasty.the staff were very efficiant,pleasant,and very good at their job.the entertainment was also very good,much enjoyed by all.aberfoyle is a lovely place,with much to see and do. all in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great weekend lovely meals, comfortable room,friendly helpful staff, and the band playing were really good would defo recommend it i would love to go back in the spring or summer or even when it is a bit drier so we could explore the beautiful surroundings on foot

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the Rob Roy...hubby and I went with my mum and partner to celebrate her 80th birthday. We were there on a Hough's of Lincolnshire (also highly recommended) coach trip and having done previous ones all over Scotland the Rob Roy is now our favourite hotel there. It is situated in countryside one mile out of the lovely little village of Aberfoyle and there is a level tarmac footpath running from behind the hotel down into the village, I'm in a wheelchair and it was no problem for my hubby pushing me there and back. In parts the path runs alongside the river and it's a very pleasant walk, which I would love to do again on a summer's day as it was a bit cold and wet this time, but we still enjoyed it.

As for the hotel itself, it may look like it could do with a lick of paint on the outside in places, but the inside is very warm and welcoming. We had a ground floor room which was huge, with an excellent bathroom, and it was very clean, warm and comfortable. There is a good sized bar area where we had entertainment on two nights...two fantastic singer/guitarists (each very different), who both had us sat in our seats till they'd finished and still wanting more! Definitely the best hotel entertainment we've ever had on a coach trip!

But the best thing about the Rob Roy has to be the meals...excellent buffet breakfast and waiter service 3-course evening meal with three choices for each course. Everything we ate was superb and some of the puddings were to die for, my diet went out the window!! The main courses always came hot and very well cooked.

Lastly, a mention for the staff. All the staff...receptionists, dining room staff, barmen, room cleaners (sorry if I've forgotten anyone) were very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.

The only thing I'm sorry about...is that we haven't stayed here sooner!! We will definitely be returning to the Rob Roy, ASAP.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScunthorpeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,237 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.1 mi away
Best Western The Crianlarich Hotel
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
17.2 mi away
The Abbotsford Hotel
The Abbotsford Hotel
#3 of 4 in Dumbarton
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $67 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing