We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Rob Roy Hotel
Nearby Hotels
The Lake of Menteith Hotel(Port of Menteith)
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$170
$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
$133
$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$107
$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Roman Camp Hotel(Callander)
$136
$132
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Winnock Hotel(Drymen)(Great Value!)
$89
$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$82
$75
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (718)
Filter reviews
718 results
Traveler rating
230
270
129
46
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
270
129
46
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdinner dancetribute nightbuffet breakfastcovered walkwaycourse mealstar hotelself serviceparty nightharry shawcoach tripmain buildingflat screen tvpublic areasnice walkgreat nightcoach partyrooms are basic
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
441 - 446 of 718 reviews
Reviewed March 10, 2014

we were on a five day coach tour last week. on first sight we were not too impressed, as it,s in much need of a good paint and tidy up outside. however on getting to our room we were pleasantly surprised.our room was very cosy,nicely decorated, the bathroom was brand new.very clean .the meals were excellent, plenty of choice,and very tasty.the staff were very efficiant,pleasant,and very good at their job.the entertainment was also very good,much enjoyed by all.aberfoyle is a lovely place,with much to see and do. all in all a very good holiday.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Moira S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Great weekend lovely meals, comfortable room,friendly helpful staff, and the band playing were really good would defo recommend it i would love to go back in the spring or summer or even when it is a bit drier so we could explore the beautiful surroundings on foot

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahla1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2014

Just returned from 4 nights at the Rob Roy...hubby and I went with my mum and partner to celebrate her 80th birthday. We were there on a Hough's of Lincolnshire (also highly recommended) coach trip and having done previous ones all over Scotland the Rob Roy is now our favourite hotel there. It is situated in countryside one mile out of the lovely little village of Aberfoyle and there is a level tarmac footpath running from behind the hotel down into the village, I'm in a wheelchair and it was no problem for my hubby pushing me there and back. In parts the path runs alongside the river and it's a very pleasant walk, which I would love to do again on a summer's day as it was a bit cold and wet this time, but we still enjoyed it.

As for the hotel itself, it may look like it could do with a lick of paint on the outside in places, but the inside is very warm and welcoming. We had a ground floor room which was huge, with an excellent bathroom, and it was very clean, warm and comfortable. There is a good sized bar area where we had entertainment on two nights...two fantastic singer/guitarists (each very different), who both had us sat in our seats till they'd finished and still wanting more! Definitely the best hotel entertainment we've ever had on a coach trip!

But the best thing about the Rob Roy has to be the meals...excellent buffet breakfast and waiter service 3-course evening meal with three choices for each course. Everything we ate was superb and some of the puddings were to die for, my diet went out the window!! The main courses always came hot and very well cooked.

Lastly, a mention for the staff. All the staff...receptionists, dining room staff, barmen, room cleaners (sorry if I've forgotten anyone) were very friendly and helpful and a credit to the hotel.

The only thing I'm sorry about...is that we haven't stayed here sooner!! We will definitely be returning to the Rob Roy, ASAP.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ScunthorpeSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

Spent three nights at the Rob Roy in mid-February 2014 on a midweek DBB break. Amazing value for money with a cooked Scottish breakfast and three course dinner each day. The evening meal was excellent, with a different menu each night and three choices for each course. Breakfast was pretty much all you could eat, with a freshly cooked main course and help yourself to juice, coffee, cereal, etc. Service was very attentive and very quick. Travel delays meant we arrived just after the restaurant closed on the first night, but without even being asked the receptionist phoned the kitchen and arranged for us to eat anyway. Bedroom was spacious and comfortable with a large ensuite bathroom with a large shower enclosure and plenty of hot water. Full marks to the Rob Roy, we'll definitely come back.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank redcoat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

Six couples stayed valentines dinner dance weekend it was brilliant food lovley entertainment first class staff lovley the rooms were clean basic but all you neaded in them we will def be back excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Donna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews