We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rob Roy - great value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Glasgow, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rob Roy - great value”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Stayed at Rob Roy Hotel Friday and Saturday on a weekend deal.
Room was beautifully clean with crisp white bedding and towels. Very spacious room and ensuite. Room had been recently upgraded with new tiling , shower and w.c.
Food was excellent, 4 course dinner, and buffet breakfast. Very well mannered and helpful staff made this a very pleasant weekend.
I would highly recommend this hotel for great value for not a lot of money.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    226
    120
    44
    42
See reviews for
82
260
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fochabers, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

I am staying at the Rob Roy at present as a Coach Driver. 100% to the staff who are very friendly and very forth coming with information and directions for all things local. The breakfast is a buffet style and you help yourself, it has set me up for the day. I have not had lunch in the hotel so I can't comment on the standard. However, if the evening meal is anything to go by then it will be excellent. This is my second visit with same grout and I can honestly say I have not had a bad meal. It is good quality products and beautifully presented. Well done to the chef and the waiting staff.

I noticed in some reviews that it mentioned the decor is a little dated, that may be so but the rooms are spotless and in my opinion you are here to use this as a base to visit the Trossachs not to sit around in a hotel lol.

Once again I can't praise the staff enough - very well done.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Scott D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is a good place to be, stayed here with group from Travelstyle and although there were 3 other coach groups in the hotel nothing was to much trouble ... Clean, warm and friendly ... Excellent food .... Look forward to returning.. A highly recommended hotel

Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Coachdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our Saturday night dinner dance overnight stay.Ok the rooms are basic but staff very friendly and food good.The live band are great and up for a laugh.We go once a year and always find it enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraserCurrie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a coach holiday to the Rob Roy Hotel in Aberfoyle the hotel staff were very friendly but the hotel was in need of a complete refurbishment the paint work was chipped and the carpets a dirty brown but on the plus side it was warm and good pressure on the shower also the food was good There were lots of plastic flowers the outside hanging baskets needed renewing.
Eileen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

In need of a complete refurbishment from end to end. Preferably with a swan vesta, and start again wth a blank canvas. accomodation in two prison blocks, faded and dirty carpets, tired and very very dated. Grounds in need of significant makeover. Food good, as youre on a diet - talk about teeny tiny portions! Breakfast juices watered down (apple was fermenting). Location great but if you booked and then arrived in a beautiful location to this crossroads motel, you'd probably be justified driving away without stepping foot inside. Suited to the coackparties of OAP's that are the principle guests.

Room Tip: Rooms anywhere else would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilkleyARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberfoyle hotels

merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

my daughter and myself stayed at the rob roy for 7 nights i found the rooms to be basic but with everything you need and very clean and warm ,the staff were very freindly and helpfull at all times and the food was lovely with a very good selection on the menu both me and my daughter really enjoyed the time we spent there and would certainly go back for another vistit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
636 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
14.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Property: Rob Roy Hotel
Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing