We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Scotland
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Value.”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

We enjoyed our Saturday night dinner dance overnight stay.Ok the rooms are basic but staff very friendly and food good.The live band are great and up for a laugh.We go once a year and always find it enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FraserCurrie1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    226
    120
    44
    42
See reviews for
82
260
24
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (163)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rugby
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2013

We have just returned from a coach holiday to the Rob Roy Hotel in Aberfoyle the hotel staff were very friendly but the hotel was in need of a complete refurbishment the paint work was chipped and the carpets a dirty brown but on the plus side it was warm and good pressure on the shower also the food was good There were lots of plastic flowers the outside hanging baskets needed renewing.
Eileen

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eileen t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2013

In need of a complete refurbishment from end to end. Preferably with a swan vesta, and start again wth a blank canvas. accomodation in two prison blocks, faded and dirty carpets, tired and very very dated. Grounds in need of significant makeover. Food good, as youre on a diet - talk about teeny tiny portions! Breakfast juices watered down (apple was fermenting). Location great but if you booked and then arrived in a beautiful location to this crossroads motel, you'd probably be justified driving away without stepping foot inside. Suited to the coackparties of OAP's that are the principle guests.

Room Tip: Rooms anywhere else would be preferable
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilkleyARP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Aberfoyle hotels

merseyside
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 30, 2013

my daughter and myself stayed at the rob roy for 7 nights i found the rooms to be basic but with everything you need and very clean and warm ,the staff were very freindly and helpfull at all times and the food was lovely with a very good selection on the menu both me and my daughter really enjoyed the time we spent there and would certainly go back for another vistit

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesley277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

spent a two night break here for a dinner dance , really good value for money food was enjoyable and staff very friendly and helpful breakfasts were good and food plentiful take a trip up to loch katrine and go for a cruise on the loch

Room Tip: all the rooms seem to be good
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank david z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just spent four nights at rob roy. Room, entertainment and meals excellent. Staff polite and service at meal times well organised. Went with travel style. Would recommend and also visit again. Clean and warm.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just returned from staying at Rob Roy Aberfoyle I stayed there with a lady with a electric scooter,stayed in room48 which was near a covered canopy to the main building,good idea to have that,as the main building houses the resturant .there is a ramp in resturant easy access to tables.ask for ground floor if you have walking difficulties ,lovely walk along disused railway track to aberfoyle town.level ground and tar mac surface,takes about 20 mins,well worth seeing the small town,Rob Roy staff were very helpful would like to say norbet our waiter was so helpful,food was excellent three choices and for a short break was surprised at the presentation the chef put into the delicious food,Breakfast was help yourself so you could pick exactly what you wanted,I would recommend this hotel ,to all and would go back .thankyou Rob Roy for a lovely break

Room Tip: Ask for ground floor,I am sure they would accommodate any person with limited walking room 48 I had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags4922
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
404 reviews
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
636 reviews
7.5 mi away
Poppies Hotel & Restaurant
14.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Property: Rob Roy Hotel
Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing