We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Works Christmas night”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Hamilton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Works Christmas night”
Reviewed December 8, 2012

We had our Christmas night out here last night. It was a brilliant night the food was lovely,the band were brilliant. The staff were very pleasant and helpful.
We all had a great time for £50 it is well worth the money. It may only be a 2 star but i would say at the very top of the chart.
Full cooked breakfast or cereal and fruit for breakfast with tea or coffee and fruit juice.
We are arranging another night there very soon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joann170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

653 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    192
    248
    125
    45
    43
See reviews for
88
281
26
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Location wonderful only a short walk into Aberfoyle. Very freindly place nothing to much trouble for the staff. Hotel and rooms very clean, the food was very good and plenty to choose from, excellent value for money, i would recomend the rob roy.

Helpful?
Thank forestmaid533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a wonderful stay at the Rob Roy. The hotel and our room was clean, the meals were great. The staff at the hotel were wonderful, nothing was to much trouble for them. I would recomend this hotel to my friends, i will certainly be using it again, and also it was fantastic value for money. Thumbs up for the ROB ROY!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank forestmaid533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Having just arrived back from driving a coach tour of people from North East Scotland, based at the Rob Roy Hotel, Aberfoyle, I felt I must commend the staff there for the excellent service rendered by each and every one of them this past weekend (9th November 2012).

Special mention must go to Victor (depute manager). Nothing was too much trouble for this young man and he certainly helped make the experience of staying at the Rob Roy Hotel the very best for myself and my passengers. His assistance when one particular passenger went 'missing' (!) and his flexibility with latecomers at meal times was much appreciated and demonstrative of a professional approach to hotel management.

The entertainment provided by the hotel was superb, the tribute night on Saturday was particularly enjoyable. The bar staff were polite and attentive. The hotel overall was very well kept and although the rooms are perhaps a little dated furniture-wise, they are very comfortable and in-line with the price you are paying.

Finally, I must comment on the food served here. Generous portions of fine cuisine from a varied menu made for empty plates all round! And hats off to the chef and kitchen staff, as well as the restaurant staff who also worked tirelessly to provide an excellent service.

Looking forward to returning next year hopefully, best of luck to all at the Rob Roy Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Smurfy86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

first time been to hotel, had actually bought my friend and her husband stay here for their wedding present, but we decided to go along to and make it a weekend. the hotel was clean and the rooms were great, meals were lovely, and the breakfast was a buffet, which was great to although a wee potato scone would have been brill lol. the staff were all very friendly and worked hard. a special thanks to Alastair who is the bestest cappochino maker lol and who made me one at 1.45am, and thanks to Victor depute Manager who gave me it free lol had good banter with the two of them. the tribute acts were good George Michael and Robbie, he involved the guests straight away and was very good at getting photos taking with guests. it was a nice walk to aberfoyle altho not much in it, went through to Callendar which was lovely, great variety of shops. will be deffinitley goin back next year and drink prices were very reasonable. thanks for a brill weekend xxxx

Room Tip: if you want a quieter room u should go upstairs and furtherest away from bar especially if tribute a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vonnie10_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halesowen, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Heard good reviews of this hotel but very disappointed from day one. The whole place could do with some tlc. The room was very large with a double bed but the bed was very hard. The bedding was sheet, blankets etc but were not needed as the heating was on the whole time I was there. Had a small bathroom with sink, toilet and quite small shower cubicle which was a tight squeeze!!
The hotel seemed like it was situated many miles from anywhere except for Aberfoyle village 1 1/2 miles away...a 15 minutes slow amble away. the village was just one street with very little to warrant a visit.
We were all jammed together on tables away from all the other guests there despite there being few there the week we went (1st to 5th October 2012). All the meals were fantastic though and all credit going to the chef there. Breakfast was self service and all you could eat. Evening meal was varied but not as many choices as other hotels. Thoroughly enjoyable and delicious though. Manager was fantastic and answered all questions and kept us laughing with all his jokes and comments. He was also very patient and polite especially with the one obnoxious fellow traveller on our coach who complained non-stop all the time we were there. Everybody avoided her even the staff!!
We visited Oban, Edinburgh zoo, Stirling and Callendor while there. Edinburgh zoo was the highlight of the holiday and we were very lucky getting such gorgeous weather that day...a hot sunny day. The zoo is well worth a visit but remember to book your viewing of the pandas...well worth it.
We were supposed to have entertainment every night we were there but what a huge disappointment. Second night we had a man with an accordion for 2-3 hours and fourth night a wierd looking man with an electric guitar for an hour!! Both so poor that people left very quickly.
good job I didn't pay very much for this holiday as that would have made the experience even worse!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see room first!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gillyh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

every room on the doors has a sign no smoking, but never take room 54 if you don't smoke,as this room seems not the case, we booked for the Halloween weekend, but I was ill on the Friday so couldn't go, caught up with my friend on Saturday when I walked into the room with my daughter we both said oh!!! the smell of smoke was strong, I didn't want to offend my friend with no sense of smell, my daughter said buy a scented candle which I did, but that didn't work either, so we had a lovely time at the dinner but back to the smelly room to sleep which I didn't get a wink due to the horrible smell. be warned I've had to come home and wash everything I had in my case even clothes I never wore. when I handed back the key to the lady I informed her about the room she said she was not aware of this, I said that I cant believe that the people making up the room would not report this, as it would need fumigated so be warned not room 54

Room Tip: never except rooms if you don't smoke on ground floor near exits as people stand smoking, and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank winnerglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.1 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
3.3 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
471 reviews
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,153 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#3 of 6 in Callander
265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Property: Rob Roy Hotel
Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing