We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a let down!!”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Heard good reviews of this hotel but very disappointed from day one. The whole place could do with some tlc. The room was very large with a double bed but the bed was very hard. The bedding was sheet, blankets etc but were not needed as the heating was on the whole time I was there. Had a small bathroom with sink, toilet and quite small shower cubicle which was a tight squeeze!!
The hotel seemed like it was situated many miles from anywhere except for Aberfoyle village 1 1/2 miles away...a 15 minutes slow amble away. the village was just one street with very little to warrant a visit.
We were all jammed together on tables away from all the other guests there despite there being few there the week we went (1st to 5th October 2012). All the meals were fantastic though and all credit going to the chef there. Breakfast was self service and all you could eat. Evening meal was varied but not as many choices as other hotels. Thoroughly enjoyable and delicious though. Manager was fantastic and answered all questions and kept us laughing with all his jokes and comments. He was also very patient and polite especially with the one obnoxious fellow traveller on our coach who complained non-stop all the time we were there. Everybody avoided her even the staff!!
We visited Oban, Edinburgh zoo, Stirling and Callendor while there. Edinburgh zoo was the highlight of the holiday and we were very lucky getting such gorgeous weather that day...a hot sunny day. The zoo is well worth a visit but remember to book your viewing of the pandas...well worth it.
We were supposed to have entertainment every night we were there but what a huge disappointment. Second night we had a man with an accordion for 2-3 hours and fourth night a wierd looking man with an electric guitar for an hour!! Both so poor that people left very quickly.
good job I didn't pay very much for this holiday as that would have made the experience even worse!!!

Room Tip: Ask to see room first!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillyh1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

503 - 509 of 679 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2012

every room on the doors has a sign no smoking, but never take room 54 if you don't smoke,as this room seems not the case, we booked for the Halloween weekend, but I was ill on the Friday so couldn't go, caught up with my friend on Saturday when I walked into the room with my daughter we both said oh!!! the smell of smoke was strong, I didn't want to offend my friend with no sense of smell, my daughter said buy a scented candle which I did, but that didn't work either, so we had a lovely time at the dinner but back to the smelly room to sleep which I didn't get a wink due to the horrible smell. be warned I've had to come home and wash everything I had in my case even clothes I never wore. when I handed back the key to the lady I informed her about the room she said she was not aware of this, I said that I cant believe that the people making up the room would not report this, as it would need fumigated so be warned not room 54

Room Tip: never except rooms if you don't smoke on ground floor near exits as people stand smoking, and ma...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winnerglasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2012

Had a great weekend good food really nice staff all aspects of the hotel , Bar , restaurant, reception a wee path at the back of the hotel takes you to the town of aberfoyle. We found a tea room at the top of a sweet shop reall value for money and good prices. Went for a drive and found the wee blether tea room Oh what brilliant home baking just 10 minutes from Aberfoyle . Great weekend dinner dance was good too well worth the money .

Room Tip: All rooms are good but can be a walk so if you have mobility issues let them know before hand they s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sueblu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was our second visit,2 night stay,D/BB,country weastern singer on the Friday,sat night live band,great music from sixties/seventies/eighties/nineties,lovely 6 course evening meal,beautiful presentation,only 1 hour from Edinburgh,into central belt,breathtaking scenery awaits first time visitors too this area of Scotland.

Room Tip: We had disabled room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Staff very friendly,meals very good,but hotel on the whole looks tired & badly in need of an update.Very small choice of beers at the bar.Location is very isolated,access to local village is very limited if you havent got a car,but can be reached by pathway at back of hotel but is unlit at night,

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gilloutram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Had a really good stay. dinner was very good and staff were very friendly.

The breakfast in the morning was also very good.

Rooms really need updating as it looks rather tired, however it was clean and comfy so that's the main thing.

Really good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Heatherlbrown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

have just arrived back from a four day ALL INCLUSIVE break .when we arrived were told could only have 5 drinks.ok if need be we would buy drinks then at TEN FORTY FIVE last orders at bar we were on holiday for gods sake i have never stayed in an hotel whose bar closed that time it ruined the holiday also when we were celebrating our friends 70th birthday minus drinks of course at a quarter to one the night porter who put the dour in scot decides to clean up glasses spoiling once again our effort to make the best of a bad situation it should NEVER BE CALLED ALL INCLUSIVE if you didnt drink shorts your only choice was 1 beer 1 lager i asked to pay the differance to have my favourite lager manager said NO CHANCE PAL that says it all

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank shynye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jan A, Owner at Rob Roy Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Dear Guest,

I appreciate you stating that we have a nice hotel, but i am afraid you need to talk with your tour operator regarding your drinks package, as it appears to have been mis-sold to you.
Here in Scotland we are no longer allowed to sell 'unlimited all-inclusive breaks', and your break should clearly have stated that your drinks package included 5 drink vouchers per person per day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,206 reviews
14.4 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
525 reviews
11.5 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $69 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing