We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fun night”
Review of Rob Roy Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rob Roy Hotel
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Reviewed February 12, 2012

great value dinner dance food excellent entertaintainment brill everbody is there for a good time room is only for sleeping in so go ahead and book it you wont be disappointed

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CrazyScottishCouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
There are newer reviews for Rob Roy Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

559 - 565 of 670 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2012

Bought a voucher for an overnight dinner, bed and breakfast stay. Looked good from the outside but that's as good as it got apart from the fact that it was a nice day. My mother always told me that if I can't say anything good about something then don't say anything bad, but this place? I can't forget the garden furniture tipping over and the waiter adding insult to injury by blaming us!! (nothing to do with the fact that our table didn’t have a brolly in the centre to stable it). The room was basic, food bland and service - at best - poor. I'll never be back.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank almaref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We stayed here for a short break from the Friday to the Sunday. We had to ask to be moved after the first night as the bed was uncomfortable due the fact that the mattress was so badly worn and the base had plywood on it . The cleanliness was alot to be desired but after talking to the receptionist we were moved to another room. The new room had a better matress but the same plywood base but was cleaner. On the plus side the meals were excelent and the staff were more than helpful . It was a budget hotel but you expect some sort of comfort.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pamnbigdave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2012

My partner & I went for a weekends break to this hotel 21st 7 22nd Jan 2012, the drive for us is just under an hour but the scenary in Scotland is still the best, the hotel has a great location for visiting other tourists locations, Aberfoyle itself is small but does have quite a few shops & hotels with very friendly people, our hotel the Rob Roy is of basic standards but the hotel very clean & the staff are very helpfull & friendly, the food is excellent, I had a fish dish on the 1st night & roast beef the 2nd night both were excellent compliments to the chefs & the waiters who were very good with the table service, the band on the saturday evening tried to cater for all ages.

I rate this hotel excellent value for money,
We had a smashing weekend.

Thanking you,
Paisley Bowler.

Room Tip: If you have any problems with disabilities or any other matter they are very helpfull
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paisleybowler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

we stayed here last night,couldn't have asked for any more .room was very spacious and warm.the hotel is a bit dated and could may well do with a bit of up dating but we have stayed in hotels with more stars that have been of an equal appearance.we where invited to go to the dinner dance by the staff at check in who may I add offered a very friendly welcome.we had dinner and stayed for the entertainment,the band, we thought where very good and played a good mix of music.we had a good sleep the bed was fairly firm but comfortable ,our room was at the far end of the hotel so no noise ,breakfast was buffet style and was of a decent quality and plenty of it even though we did go along well after 10 a.m.all in all a good hotel for the money and we would definately recommend it and use it again maybe for a full weekend next time....

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PandD0141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2012

We visit this hotel every year with our cousins. This year we were disappointed and felt although the hotel is going through refurbishment and a covered walkway has been built between the main hotel and bedrooms the quality of the food has slipped and definately not up to the standard of previous visits. The band on the Saturday night also not as good as previous years and kept to their planned routine and would not play requests. After visting for 8 years in a row I think we as a family will look for another venue next year

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alison S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2012

We chose this hotel because it had entertainment on the Saturday night. It is a basic hotel, but rooms are clean and have everything you need. The food over the whole weekend was very good, couldnt fault it at all. The staff were all very friendly. The Saturday night was a bit of a let down with the band who seemed to take ages to get started and then had a break after an hour. During this time there was a DJ, but overall the entertainment was disappointing. We made the most of it and enjoyed ourselves but probably wouldnt return again.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carribe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.5 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
8.2 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
14.7 mi away
Loch Long Hotel
Loch Long Hotel
#3 of 6 in Arrochar
504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.7 mi away
Arrochar Hotel
Arrochar Hotel
#4 of 6 in Arrochar
1,179 reviews
14.3 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
3.2 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rob Roy Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rob Roy Hotel

Address: Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $71 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Rob Roy Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rob Roy Hotel is situated at the gateway to the Trossachs in beautiful countryside where one of Scotland's most famous rogue's "Rob Roy McGregor" once roamed. The Hotel is an ideal centre for touring the Trossachs, Perthshire and the Highlands. The little picturesque village of Aberfoyle is just 1 mile from the Hotel and is host to three visitor centres, The Scottish Wool Centre, The David Marshall Lodge and the Scottish Tourist Board's very own Discovery Centre. The historic city of Stirling is only 18 miles away, and here you can find our sister hotel The King Robert, situated next door to The Bannockburn Centre, on the site of the famous battle. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rob Roy Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rob Roy Aberfoyle
Rob Roy Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing