We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic hospitality - A true home away from...”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Buzzard Cottage

Kestrel and Buzzard cottages
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Kestrel and Buzzard cottages
Seating area in living room. Bright and fresh kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Kestrel and Buzzard cottages
Seating area in living room.
Bright and fresh kitchen
Newly refurbished and open plan
Dining for 6
White, bright and immaculate
Heated towel and brand new walk in shower in family room
Enjoy the views across the lake and to the hills from your outdoor seating area.
King Size bed in the family room
Special touches
Listen to the owls in the evenings
Luxury bathroom products
Tasteful Scottish accessories
Stag theme
View from Nether Glenny walk
View from the Nether Glenny Gardens
Take a hike from your cottage to relish this view
The lochan only 20 mins walk from your door.
Enjoy one of the many hikes that the National Park has to offer.Here is a favourite of ours;Ben A'an
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Stephen W
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic hospitality - A true home away from home.”
Reviewed July 30, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

My wife and I wanted to visit Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park and surrounds, and managed to find this wonderful cottage tucked away near to where we wanted to be. We also wanted to bring our two Golden Retrievers with us, and were delighted to know that we could have them with us at Buzzard Cottage.

On arrival, we were met and welcomed by the owners, Matthew and Alison, as close as friends or family. The cottage was wonderfully kept and very comfortable, and a welcome sight after a long drive from the East of England!

There is plenty to see and do not far from Buzzard Cottage, with many favourite tourist sites and local shopping and eating places within easy driving range. Buzzard Cottage is also perfectly situated for anyone who should wish to have a nice, quiet holiday - sitting inside or out with a good book and without the distraction of urban noises. It was amazingly quiet at night, and I don't think either of us have slept so good!

As with many holidays, they are too short and too far in between. There is still more that we would like to see in and around Loch Lomond and the Trossachs National Park, and I think that when we do return we will be looking to stay again with Matthew and Alison and their family at Buzzard Cottage! Thank you again for a wonderful week!

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 16, 2017
Hello Stephen, Thank you very much for this excellent review and above all we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at Buzzard. I expect that your review will be very useful for guests who are considering booking Buzzard cottage. I do agree with you there is lots to do and see in the area and definitely enough to warrant another visit to Nether Glenny sometime in the future. We would be very happy to welcome you both back. Until then all the best from both of us.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Hello and thank you for this lovely review. We are so happy that you chose Buzzard cottage for your honeymoon and that the entire family enjoyed their stay. When I go on holiday i always appreciate the little extras and this is why i enjoy doing the same for our guests. We would be so happy to welcome you all back to Nether Glenny one day. We are always improving the cottages and the surrounding gardens so no doubt you would see some changes. Very best wishes, Alison and Matthew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Stuart S
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful Getaway”
Reviewed June 3, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Me and my family including two small children and one teenager spent 3 nights at Buzzard cottage and I would recommend it to anyone. On arriving we met with the owner who was very welcoming. The cottage itself was warm cosy and finished to a very high standard. I was very surprised on how well equipped the cottage was and didn't want for anything. It even included a dishwasher which was great and gave us more time to explore. Alison was great with the children and even let them help out around the grounds. The surrounding hills ect are great to explore and there is a beautiful view over the lake.
I would recommend taking the drive to inversnaid which follows along some beautiful lochs and finishes at at Loch Lomond and a breathtaking waterfall.
You will not be disappointed with staying at buzzard cottage and we will be returning next time we visit Scotland.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 5, 2017
Hello and thank you.
You are a delightful family and it was an absolute pleasure to meet you. So pleased to hear that you had a wonderful time at Nether Glenny and we will look forward to welcoming you back. We hope to have the hot tub by summer 2018! Best wishes and kind regards, Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paisley, United Kingdom
Reviewed May 2, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
May 4, 2017
Hello and thank you for your review. Really pleased to hear that you all had a lovely time at Nether Glenny. Very best wishes, Alison and Matthew.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
3nglish
South West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Beautiful Location. Great base for a holiday in the area.”
Reviewed March 31, 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely cottage, Superb location. Warm and welcoming owners.

Having said this we probably should have gone for a different type of cottage, with its own garden, views, private location etc. Just saying this would not would not explain what we mean.
In order to explain ...Firstly the marketing on the website was enticing to all our party. It seemed to be offering a high end, well finished and equipped cottage with luxury toiletries, towels and bedding. So we made assumptions. However, the toiletries in the photos were not in the cottage but only available at an additional cost of approx £40. This information may have been useful to have before booking. Two testers of a body wash were in each bedroom.
Our party have stayed in holiday cottages and we were all surprised to be instructed to strip the beds, empty bins, dishwasher etc. before leaving. This information may have been useful to have prior to booking.
The driveway to the cottage should be mentioned as it has many pot holes and care should be taken driving up to the cottage - again useful to have this information prior to booking.
There are quite a few repairs that need carrying out. Doors that did not stay closed, chains off the bath and plug, broken door lock in bathroom, wobbly taps, leaky shower (down through the floor to the kitchen ceiling) so could not be used, staining on the ceiling, a hole in the bathroom door etc. Possible a few too many things when you add them all up right?
We were a party of 4 adults, the cottage has 6 beds. There was enough crockery and cutlery but only 4 of most things (Mugs, plates). Cooking equipment was provided. The frying pan was left unused only after one use and a few ruined eggs (bring your own if you fancy a home cooked breakfast or anything pan fried). There are wine glasses, champagne flutes, knife sets, manual whisk, cooking utensils etc.
We were asked to park our cars directly on the single track outside the cottage. This was a shame as it blocked the view from the only downstairs window of the cottage.
The bins were just a few feet away from the entrance door and, unfortunately, the food recycling was broken into (during the day) with food waste spilt over all the floor outside the cottage door which we cleaned on three occasions.
There is a outside seating area and lawn, which is shared with the adjoining cottage. There were a couple of dog poops on the lawn, which was not pleasant as one of our party stood in it!
Most of the things above could be simply put right? You may ask why we did not mention it all whilst we were staying. I know Alison lost her Uncle during our stay plus we did not want to spend our holiday reporting all theses things that could not really be put right during our stay. We did mention the leaking shower, as it was dripping near electric lights, to Andrew and he said it would be 'put on the list'.
There was a good deal of information about local places to visit and see along with the recommendations for places to eat - all very useful. Great selection of DVDs.
We booked Alison for reflexology, which we enjoyed and would recommend this to anyone staying at the cottage. The cottage was very clean. The owners were very welcoming. Must stress its in a beautiful spot and quiet spot.
May be good to ask those staying here to leave info for the owners...so all of the above could be mentioned and checked by the owners?

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 1, 2017
Hello,
We are pleased to hear that you found the location of the cottage superb and that overall you thought the cottage to be lovely.
It's important to point out that there are 8 cups, plates, bowls and cutlery service for 6 people. Also you seem to have missed some utensils: brand new stainless steel frying pan and non stick pan, I think that you may have overlooked a cupboard entirely. If any future guests would like the cottage itinerary prior to check in then please ask. There is no need to bring any utensils to our cottages.
Matthew checked the shower as soon as you departed and unfortunately we could not detect the leak, although the stain that appeared would indicate that there was a problem somehow. We have notified our plumber who will check it again for us.
It's important to tell any guest that read this review that we are a dog friendly location and I do good old ' poo patrol ' every morning just in case ! I am assuming that you unfortunately came across one before I did and I'm sorry that this happened.
The table and chairs outside the cottage is only for Buzzard guests and it's free to roam in the 4 acres of gardens as well as the lovely 84 acre hillside estate which have uninterrupted views of the Lake of Menteith.
Looks like you had a visit from a fox or pine martin - were you lucky enough to see it ?
So many of our lovely guests ask what they should do regards cleaning before check out. We don't expect our guests to do any cleaning at all but if you've time to whip off the bed sheets for us and load the dishwasher then it helps us in our very busy change over days. So thank you for doing that.
We've had a beautiful carpet fitted in Buzzard cottage and one door is struggling to shut tight. We need to do a little bit of trimming to sort that.
At check in you did mention how lovely the cottage was, how superb the location was and we had a lovely chat. You explained your health difficulties and we hope that you felt well during you stay. Your oxygen tank and equipment are still here and Matthew carefully lifted it to our house. We were happy to liaise with the company to receive your equipment. Perhaps you would be so kind as to ask the company to come to collect it as it's been a few days since you checked out and it's still here.
Kind Regards,
Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SarahJP19...
Oudenbosch, The Netherlands
1 review
“Perfect place to discover Trossachs National park”
Reviewed January 9, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

We had a wonderful stay in this lovely cottage right in the middle of stunning scenery. The cottage was spotlessly clean, very well equipped and looks exactly as in the pictures. The owners are very friendly and helpful. It was everything we had hoped for!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 11, 2017
Hello and thank you for this wonderful review. It makes us very happy to know that our guest enjoy their stay with us and more importantly that it was everything they hoped for. Very best wishes and thank you for choosing Buzzard cottage for your Trossachs Adventure. Best wishes, Alison and Matthew
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shamongy
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Second year in a row!”
Reviewed December 18, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Second year for my friends & I staying at Buzzard Cottage. Still excellent! The only thing to be aware of is the not so great wifi availability. However, considering where the cottage is we were fortunate for any coverage. We'll be back again next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing