We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect area for hikes”

The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre
Ranked #3 of 11 things to do in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Lompoc, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Perfect area for hikes”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

We loved the hikes in this area. Beautiful views of Aberfoyle and beyond from the top of the hills. The lodge was being renovated when we were there, but the temporary facilities had everything we needed.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Evelyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    62
    19
    13
    1
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Spartanburg, South Carolina
Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good Starting Point”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

When visiting Loch Lomond, this is a great place to start. It provides understanding of the area and the country's first National Park. They provide orientation to the hiking areas and WC facilities (at a small 20 pence fee).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ed D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
81 reviews
49 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth stopping by”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

The staff at the visitor center was very helpful and kind.
There's a cute little waterfall to see there, but don't get too excited. The forest walk is peaceful and lovely.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shpuktzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burntisland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great woodland walk and waterfall”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The paths and walks through the forest have lots of interesting things to keep kids occupied along the way. Live osprey cam in the mini lodge.lady in the cafe was lovely and very welcoming. Great waterfall to climb and lots of birds to see I the hide plus a red squirrel. Costs £3 to park for the day but there is no entrance fee to the reserve.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bayview65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
243 reviews
118 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Nice Hikes, but wish there had been a bit more info available”
Reviewed July 5, 2013

We visited the David Marshall Lodge as our first stop in the Trossachs/Loch Lomond area. As many others have said, the actual visitor center itself is under construction, so the current facility is a much smaller trailer consisting of a brochure stand, live animal webcams, and a small cafe where we both enjoyed a toasted ham sandwich. We were really hoping to find maps of the overall park with a bit more info on what hikes were available and where to find them. There was a little bit of info on this, but not as much as we would have liked.

We did do one of the hikes located near the center and it was quite nice, so those are definitely worth a visit. I'm sure the lodge will be greatly improved once the new center is up and running, but for now, it feels a little empty.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DPres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park, Scotland
 

Been to The Lodge Forest Visitor Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing