We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Food Beer and Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Forth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forth Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dursley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent Food Beer and Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

We ate here twice during our holiday and both times the food and service was excellent even though the pub was busy. Not cheep but good value and an interesting menu using local ingredients. There beer was some of the best we found locally 3 hand pulled real ales. Only down side was the £3.50 for the garlic bread starter.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alison H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    87
    21
    9
    6
See reviews for
71
125
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

had a lovely pub lunch in this inn , food was great and service good . They will serve lunch outside if you wish and its a nice setting in the heart of the small village of Aberfoyle . highly recommend this Inn.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jimva_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2013

First class hospitality, nothing was to much trouble, and excellent food.I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to family and friends. We are planning to go back on a regular basis. It's in the heart of aberfoyle, so all the shops and attractions are only a few minutes walk away

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarbert, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Having just stayed here with my son while on a fishing trip to Lake of Menteith, I have to say that this wee hotel is excellent. For me it has it all. Nice room, friendly staff, great food & beer and we even got an early breakfast to get us on the Lake which is only 5mins away. They could not have done more for us and I look forward to staying again soon. Simply the best place to stay for anybody fishing this great lake!!!!
Thanks again Tristan and good luck!!.........The two Iain's.

Room Tip: Just book it !!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
143 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had walked seven miles, much of it in cloud, and were ready for lunch when we walked through the welcoming door of the Forth Inn. We would have another seven miles to walk after lunch, so we were hoping for something special.

We got it here!

Two cans of diet cola and two steak pies with chips and delightful fresh vegetables set us up for the final leg of our 14 mile trek.

The Forth Inn stands head and shoulders above the local competition; the staff are well trained, friendly and efficient and the food is good bar fare, even if it is on the expensive side.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glaswegian60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed as a party of 4, and had a great time. The food was lovely at dinner, in the evening there was a karaoke which was great fun. Breakfast was great and the service was very good, throughout our stay. Very helpful and cheery staff. Beautiful location, but beware of the midges lol they are in abundance lol we will return, great wee break.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank angelamckenna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

great place to arrive at after a long walk, nice beer garden area, and very dog friendly. The staff were helpful and friendly, bar and restaurant welcoming and decent grub. only down side was the noise from the bar later on which woke us up on a couple of occasions, the latter time being 1am. We were probably just unfortunate that there were soem rowdies in that night. otherwise, would recommend it as decent place to stay.

Room Tip: ask for a room away from entrance to bar
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lesmagsam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
4.0 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.7 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
11.2 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
11.4 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Property: Forth Inn
Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing