We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value”
Review of Forth Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Forth Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Peebles, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
242 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Stayed hear on a very quick business trip. don't expect the last in luxury but its an honest small town hotel.

Large clean and comfortable room. First class evening meal and excellent value. Very pleasant and welcoming hosts who were happy to serve my breakfast 1/2 hour before usual opening to let me on my way.

Oh and what a breakfast!!! the works- freshly cook and served with fantastic haggis.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

307 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    94
    24
    10
    6
See reviews for
79
139
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 6 Contributor
536 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

We were on a day tour of the highlands (Hairy Coo Tour, highly recommended!) and stopped for lunch at Aberfoyle. She had researched it on TA and said best place was the Gathering Place at the Forth Inn. Turns out that's actually a big room for weddings, etc. But Forth Inn does have a pub and a dining room - chose the latter. Draught beer for me, a 'wee wine' for her. The Forth's famous Steak pies all around. Very, very good. We were in a rush, but servers were attentive and got us out in plenty of time to catch our tour. Prices reasonable.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TO_Trips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberfoyle, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2012

Food here is always excellent, and the menu changes regularly. We stay in the village but still eat here a lot as it is consistently great. The staff are grand and the choice of purely Scottish produced ales, lagers and even a stout is awesome.
We've also stayed over once or twice before we moved here, rooms are comfy and clean and good breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

My partner and I have dined at the Forth Inn on 2 occasions now whilst on a short break. The food is excellent and very tasty with big portions. The staff we encountered were attentive and friendly. The barman even requested a dish that wasn't on the menu as my partner had said he had enjoyed it on our last visit. I would recommend a visit.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Silvachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinghorn, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Stayed here for one night while visiting Go Ape.
Room was nicely decorated. The bed was huge and sooo comfy, had a great sleep after our hectic day.
Food was very tasty.
All the staff were so friendly and helpful.
Would definitely stay again if we were in the area.
Only downside some travellers might find is that the bar was open quite late (it was a Saturday night) and played loud music which we could hear in our room until about 0100. We didn't mind it too much but if you are looking for a relaxing quiet night, this might not be for you.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EMSM90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow Scotland
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2012

My husband and I enjoyed a great meal in the Inn today, full Scottish Breakfast, first time I have had haggis included in my breakfast, but it was really tasty and I am told all produce is sourced from the local butcher,the staff were very friendly and attentive, first time in Aberfoyle, but would be back, the weather wasn't great, but on a great day, the scenery would be magnificent

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Glescalassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived very late on a very wet icy afternoon on bicycle (with a puncture). Very hospitable, laid back and allowed us to keep our bikes in a hall. They offered to help us fix our bike and helped us dry out all of our very wet clothing. Fantastic food (great portion sizes), comfy room and piping hot shower!!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hannahbananah606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
650 reviews
8.4 mi away
Best Western Buchanan Arms Hotel & Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
668 reviews
11.3 mi away
Loch Lomond Arms Hotel
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Forth Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Forth Inn

Property: Forth Inn
Address: Main Street, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3UQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Also Known As:
Forth Hotel Aberfoyle
Forth Inn Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing