We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect short break”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2013

Member of a group of twelve who stayed for four nights on a walking break.
From the whole party there was nothing but compliments over the accommodation, food and staff. The hotel was spotless and very well maintained. All of the staff including the manager were very friendly and efficient. A very professionally run operation. Certainly exceeded are expectations particularly based on the price we paid.
Although the hotel in the main accommodates Lochs & Glens coach parties and was full with over 80 guests it did not appear to be crowded. No complaints with the set times for dinner with no apparent problem if one wished to dine later or earlier. Although run very efficiently the staff always have time to chat and most are very experienced having worked there for a number of years.
The hotel is particularly well situated for walkers with many options from the hotel.
Our group now can't wait to visit other hotels in the Lochs & Glens Group

Room Tip: Although nice to have a loch view no complaints from those occupying rear facing rooms as they too h...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (467)
There are newer reviews for Loch Achray Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

293 - 299 of 467 reviews

Reviewed October 3, 2013

Just come back from our first lochs and glens holiday but it won't be our last.We had a most wonderful time from the moment we got on the coach.Staff take you cases to you room the food is good and staff are so helpful.The excursions were really good also the entertainment every night Tony our driver was very helpful.Cant wait to book our next one

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaretprime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

A last minute booking took us here for bed and breakfast and with dinner at £42 per head – it was great value for money.

Beautiful scenery. We asked for a room facing the loch and it was great to see the bulls and cows grazing across from the window. Enormous grounds.

However, the floorboards everywhere you move, creaked, especially in the bathroom. Bedroom was a comfortable size.

You have to be strong as there is no customer service to help you with your luggage up the stairs. The hotel is large so your room could be any where and any corridor, so there are lots of different stairs.

Dinner was served by young Europeans. Very friendly staff. Dinner was generous and they are grouped into different seating times.

If touring is what you are after, then this hotel does it well. From what we can see, 90% of the guests are from the tour companies.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank aster_palms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Lochs and Glens have done it again.This is a great hotel with true Scottish ambiance.The service is first class from the moment your coach arrives.Staff take your cases straight to your room which is tastefully appointed.The food is ample and of a high quality with the staff ever helpful.There is local entertainment here every evening and the drinks prices are very fair.The price overall is astounding and I just do not know how they do it.Well done Lochs and Glens!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent and there is ample disabled facilities and lifts to all floors.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank GarryAceDavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

just come back from a loch & glens holiday had a great time hotel great happy helpful staff food loverly restaurant service good coach drivers micheal & doggie where good Excursions excellent luggage was delived to your room on arrival and collect on your departure

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank timmyrotherham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

have just returned from a 4 day self drive break at this hotel. firstly, we thought, as independent travellers, that we would not be welcomed by the other residents, but this was not the case at all,in fact we were made to feel almost part of the group! apart from the weather, everything was excellent, from the moment we arrived on sunday till we left on Thursday. we will definitely hope to have another lochs and glens break early next year.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barber10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We have just returned from our first L&G holiday -will definitely use this company again. Lovely hotel, happy helpful staff, food was quite plain but adequate and restaurant service was good. We particularly like the fact that no feeder coaches were involved and that our luggage was delivered to our room on arrival and collected from the room on departure - other coach tour operators could learn from this company. The drivers were fun and very informative on local history. We are now hooked on Scotland.

Room Tip: Hotel is quite remote with no immediate neighbour so it is peaceful all around with a pleasant outlo...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophrania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
4.2 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
670 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $81 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing