We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mountains, Mistletoe & Coos” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Mountains, Mistletoe & Coos”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

This was our first visit to Loch Achray in November 2012 for a Mountains and Mistletoe pre-Christmas celebration. Although this is an old hotel, it lacks the character and charm of some of the other Lochs & Glens hotels, for me this may be because there are no open log fires in the winter. What the building lacks in character and charm is more than made up for with the friendly and cheerful staff in reception and in the dining room. Manager Elaine, Jik, Csilla and Stefan were just a few of the staff who put up with my brothers jokes with a smile.
While we were here, the Noro Virus was a real threat to large establishments where illness could spread quickly and Lochs & Glens took the threat seriously, with alcohol hand gel available at entrances to the hotels and in particular on the way in to the dining room.
Much fun was had in the dining room celebrating Christmas Eve, Christmas Day and Hogmanay. Whoever would have thought that the mainly elderly guests would have had so much fun with balloons? Young men in kilts beware! Loch Achray is another hotel in the Lochs & Glens chain where gluten-free options are not shown on the menu, and some staff seemed to have a much greater awareness of this than others. Some staff were able to advise which options on the menu were safe for my husband to eat, while others looked confused and went to check.
We didn’t see much of the evening entertainment at Loch Achray as there didn’t appear to be much made of the fact that we were celebrating Christmas and Hogmanay, although there were Scottish dancers one night. There didn’t appear to be an overall entertainments front-of-house person such as Phill at Loch Awe or Ashley at the Inversnaid. The daily quizzes had a festive theme, but not much seemed to be made of them, just a brief announcement as to who had won that day. Lessons could be learned from Loch Awe or the Inversnaid on this front. Free Wi-Fi is available in reception.
Loch Achray does have its own herd of Highland cattle, so there are photo opportunities to capture these beasties. I’m told that Fiona and her family are very partial to left-over toast from the breakfast table, and if you ask the staff they will give you some to feed the coos.
Our driver for this holiday was Phill Cooper, and our relief driver was Tracey Mitchell, both good fun, very competent and an asset to Lochs and Glens. The food here was good, the staff brilliant, and rooms clean, but this wouldn’t be my first choice of Lochs & Glens hotels to revisit.

Room Tip: Because of old squeaky flloorboards, the rooms on the top floor are said to be the quietest as there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DEPBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    102
    14
    2
    3
See reviews for
43
239
18
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mold
Level Contributor
527 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

outstanding loction at the head of loch achray an the company, lochs and glens, have bought the land in fron of the hotel so the view can never be spoilt.
Really attentive service from the staff who all seemed to be enjoying thier jobs including a very bubbly manager.
clean, well serviced rooms.
good choice of menu at meals time and quick efficient service and geat tasting meals too.
A must for a return visit enhanced by our driver Chris from llyn Jones.

Room Tip: rooms at the front all have a loch view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank chris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013

This was our first trip with Lochs & Glens and it won't be our last. The hotel was of a good standard, rooms spotlessly clean, food excellent, bar prices good and the staff at the hotel were friendly and welcoming. Our driver was Lizzie who kept us entertained throughout the journey and was very informative on our day trips. We did think that the fancy dress would have been better during the afternoon of New Years Day and also we did think that coats on chairs in the entertainment room to reserve whilst dining was a bit naughty , but we enjoyed ourselves very much and look forward to our next holiday with Lochs & Glens.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank dudleylr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Went up for Hogmany, really enjoyed it apart from the rain. There are some beautiful walks around the hotel and the scenery is fantastic. Hotel is ok, it is a bit basic, but spotlessly clean, and the staff could not do enough for you, Lochs and Glens is a well oiled machine and you really do not have to worry about anything when you get picked up, from the excellent coach drivers, ours was Lizzie, superb!! to checking into the hotel by Michelle who always had a smile on her face, restaurant staff again could not do enough for you and in some cases went of the menu to suit what you wanted. Food good and varied, you would have to be extremly fussy not to find something to please you. We are extemely light sleepers but never heard a sound, we were in one of the very few smoking rooms and wow, what a fantastic view up to the snow covered mountain. One other thing I must mention, is the really friendly atmosphere of the entire package. One minor blip was the lack of entertainment on New Years Day and curly sandwiches were a bit dried up, but saying that, overall very good value for money, we will return, and Lizzie, we hope we get you next time.

Room Tip: At the front is the loch, at the back is the mountain.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redruth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

Just returned from this hotel after a 5 day break from Cornwall. Took 14hours to get here by lochs and glens coaches but well worth it. Phil and Bobby were excellent drivers and very knowledgeable. Hotel staff were very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. Food portions were generous and varied each night. Our rooms were cleaned and the coffee/sugar were topped up each day. The only negative is that the hotel could do with a lick of paint just to freshen it up a bit.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Louise L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Went on Loch and Glens, Mountains and Mistletoe break. hotel clean and staff polite. Choice of breakfast and evening dining meals, timed for each coach and excellent service, entertainment every evening with bar prices very reasonable. Enjoyable day trips. Our coach driver Lizzi brilliant, kept us informed throughout journeys. A 5 star driver with a good variety of c.d's

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fakenham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Just spent the last few days on a coach holiday with lochs and glens.From the first time you set eyes on the coach to the last you just know you are in excellent hands.The tour we did was mountains and mistletoe,monday to friday, just before christmas.Our hotel was loch achray which is near the town of callander,in the trossachs.We were welcomed at the hotel by lovely michelle and straight away were made to feel special.The luggage was whisked off the coach and was in our room in a matter of minutes,great service.We were on half board basis and the food was very very good,not a vast choice at evening time but something for everyone,very good service,nothing was to much trouble.Breakfast time again very good,the porridge was very nice and the full Scottish breakfast,excellent,tea and toast were plentiful.Our coach took us out every day somewhere, Glamis castle was a favorite of mine, well worth a look.Back at the hotel the evenings are taken up by entertainment,mostly good,our last night we had a bagpipes player and scottish dancing girls from Helensburgh,these were wonderful.A well stocked bar at reasonable prices helped the evenings along.The room had was very comfortable and spotlessly clean,it had a tv and tea and coffee, more than adequate.One could'nt speak highly enough of all the staff at this hotel,all very friendly and very helpful,well done everyone.An early departure for the trip home,again the cases are loaded with minimum fuss, a military style operation.As we board the coach the lovely michelle is there to see us on our way,even at that early hour just as cheerful.Our coach was driven by dave,what an expert and a true gentleman,he kept us entertained with his old mother galloway c d's, very funny.On daves day off brian took over for one of our trips he to was excellent.All in all a wonderful few days thanks to the whole team at LOCHS AND GLENS.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mick n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12.0 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8.0 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
8.5 mi away
Monachyle Mhor
Monachyle Mhor
#1 of 2 in Balquhidder
4.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Property: Loch Achray Hotel
Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing