We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Self drive”
Review of Loch Achray Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Loch Achray Hotel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 24, 2012

Just spent 4 nights self drive to this superb hotel.Could not fault service,food etc.only niggle was creaking ceiling above our room which kept us awake most nights,and started again early in the morning.

Room Tip: Do not go in room 41 if you can avoid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maxwell1233
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (478)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 478 reviews

Reviewed April 22, 2012

we have just spent four nights at this hotel we were picked up in redditch by coach lovely journey excellent driver john arrived at hotel mid afternoon excellent service cases taken to room within minuites very good clean room very good well stocked bar with excellent staff excellent food in dining room all staff were excellent especially tobias entertainment at night was varied with very good musicians and singers also the scottish dancers were great the coach trips out every day were excellent we also had a cruise on loch lomond and called at the inversnaid hotel for lunch which was very good we hope to go to lochs and glens other hotels in the near future

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank tripredditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2012

We have just spent a week at this hotel on a self drive basis, this hotel could not be any better the views are spectacular, the staff are simply the best, rooms are top class, food is great with a varied choice an served in a manner that could not be bettered by staff that could not be more helpful.the entertaimnent in the evenings is of a good standard and so relaxed. this was our first stay with Lochs and Glens but it will definitly not be our last!!!.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stokesrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

Last June, my partner and I stayed at this hotel, our first holiday with the Lochs and Glens holiday company. Food and service were 2nd to none and the trips out included in the price were excellent value for money ( Royal Yacht Britannia, Glamis Castle, and a free day in Edinburgh, and a trip into the Trossachs National Park, all in a 5 day holiday). The hotel was clean and comfortable, and the evening entertainment was also very good, with a particulary celtic feel to it which was a nice touch for those who are not regular visitors to Scotland or the Emerald Isle. The view from the hotel is fantastic, right on the edge of Loch Achray itself, so walking is possible and quite adventurous walking available for those used to it..all in all I would certainly recommend this holiday to anyone in need a relaxing break..ps wildlife all about, our first trip out , the coach was partly accompanied by two stoats! Lots of birds too..

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank romarin50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

Lovely area. Picked up from nearest town Castle Douglas by a new coach. Lovely trip on the way up to Stirling Castle. Trips good value. Hotel excellent value. I last went to this hotel 30 ish years ago!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Delya W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 24, 2012

we went with lochs and glens holidays very comfortable coaches friendly drivers plenty of stops on way for toilets. on arrival at hotel your luggage is taken to your room for you. lovely clean room with views over the loch. friendly staff and good food. it was the second time we have been with lochs and glens and intend to go again.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank 566denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2012

Have just returned from our 2nd Lochs and Glens experience and as on the first occasion, we were overwhelmed by the quality, value for money and frendliness that this company offers. Living at the other end of the country, it's a thirteen and half hour coach haul including stops, but even this was made enjoyable by Tony, a very capable driver and an excellent tour guide.The whole trip went like clockwork, very well organised from start to finish. The hotel is very traditional, which we like, and gives a top quality standard of service. The food is first class, the room are clean and warm, and the staff and very friendly and helpful. The organised tours are excellent and all I can add is - 5 Stars all Round!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank CarharrackmanRedruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
12 mi away
Lodge on Loch Lomond
8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
696 reviews
22.7 mi away
Knockderry House Hotel
16.5 mi away
Cameron House on Loch Lomond
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Loch Achray Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Loch Achray Hotel

Address: Trossachs, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK17 8HZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Aberfoyle
Price Range: $84 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 83
Also Known As:
Hotel Loch Achray
Loch Achray Hotel Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing