We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good food on the road”

Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #4 of 7 Restaurants in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British, Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good food on the road”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Cute, cheery little cafe on the way to or from Loch Lomond. Quick service, for those who have to catch a tour bus, and reasonably priced. Check the soup/specials of the day before ordering from the menu.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    50
    23
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scotland
Level Contributor
232 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Traditional fare in a rural tourist mecca”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Aberfoyle is on the edge of the Scottish Trossachs, and a favorite destination for bus loads of old folk, with no shortage of shops selling touristy ornaments and the woollens that seem to be everywhere in Scotland. At one end of the main street is Liz MacGregor's coffee shop, which I visited mainly because it was less busy than the others. It was a good choice, maybe best described as a high end greasy spoon establishment. Clean if basic tables, and with a reasonable choice of traditional foods. The pancakes and bacon which I had were good, and with a generous enough helping of maple syrup to make a difference to the taste. Servers were helpful and efficient, the food arrived remarkably quickly, and the price was right.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Theologyprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north lanarkshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quick Tea Break”
Reviewed June 4, 2013

Have been here many times and had good food, but after visiting it today I won't be back. Pot of tea for two was GBP 2.40 which was ok. Pancake with butter and jam GBP 2.00 each,which was solid, you couldn't even get a knife through it. Think it had been over baked as it was dry and hard.
Better to have gone to the Scottish Woollen Mill in the Car park for their Tea for Two, which consists of two rounds of Sandwiches ,2 Scone with butter, cream & jam, 2 Cup cakes and a pot of Tea or cup of coffee per person and is of better quality for only GBP 9.90.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank willc131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level Contributor
60 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A quick Coffee stop.”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Took my daughter for a drive last Saturday up to the trossachs and we stopped in Aberfoyle we fancied a cup of Coffee and spotted a very busy Liz Macgregors,tables outside in the sun were busy but we got a table inside. Staff were busy but we managed to get served quickly enough, Black Coffee and Latte were good as was the Toasted scone I had my daughters chocolate cake was tasty as well. Toilets were clean and tidy all in all a decent place for a stop over.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ferretGlasgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Disappointing”
Reviewed April 20, 2013

Aberfoyle is a place where we arrive often on our jaunts in Stirlingshire.Buoyed by the positive reports we have viewed here we had no qualms whatsoever about having a seat in the already busy Cafeteria and started to peruse the menu. Sadly , not one of our wisest decisions!
Being the start of the season and the first sunny Saturday to be enjoyed for weeks it was not surprising that the tables inside and out were well utilised, by exactly the clientele described in previous reviews, What was surprising and disappointing was that there were clearly inadequate staff in the kitchen, behind the counter or waiting on tables to serve such a throng.
Having been seated at a window seat ,was it possible that we were obscure and had lost line of sight from any of the serving staff? About 20 minutes after being seated we were finally approached and asked if we wished to order. Customers nearby were already bemoaning the delay in receiving their hot meals (Steak Pie and the like), so we decided to ask for two very rudimentary cheese sandwiches with pickle , in the vain hope that we might circumvent the log jam in the kitchen. One canned drink and a glass of water arrived 5 minutes later with a bland assurance that the sandwiches "were on their way"! On the way to access the very busy unisex toilet facilities I had to pass the till and overheard a customer negotiating a reduction in price for an unsatisfactory meal which had taken "ages" to be served.
At this point we should have walked but my shy retiring personality always makes it difficult to register my objection in this way so we stayed the full term which requires 28 minutes for the two sandwiches to arrive at our table. It might be wrong to state that the sandwiches were presented well with accompanying salad and were very good quality at £3.95 each, but certainly not worth that level of wait! My Partner and myself were wise to the situation in this venue so decided to be wise about our next eating selections. Whilst munching the sandwiches we attracted the same waitress and ordered our next comestibles. Janet selected a scone and butter and Jam and I plumped for the very ample slices of Victoria sponge on offer. The hope at this stage was that if we took 15 minutes to enjoy our sandwiches then the subsequent delay in our drinks and cakes arriving would be reduced This was not to be, sandwiches consumed, plates cleared , one further visit to the toilet and than some good humoured banter with my partner while we waited. And waited and waited!
Victoria sponge is easily identifiable as is a scone so we salivated every time a portion of either appeared to be heading in the direction of the window seat. In every case they swanned right past and went to more deserving customers who had not been on the premises for what now seemed to us , an eternity! Having now been on the premises for over an hour we approached the till area and requested information on the likelihood of ever being served, only to be met by a vacant stare from the lass who had taken our original order. A few looks at her wee note pad and then a "sorry" which seemed to confirm that our order had been forgotten.
Paid up and left! Sadly my partner still insisted on a gratuity which in my opinion was not deserved.
The whole experience was shambolic and befitting of a catering sketch involving Basil Fawlty and Manuel!
Will certainly visit Aberfoyle again but will not eat at this venue when there are several other eateries to choose from

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jamesmccaig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Callander, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing