We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop
Ranked #4 of 8 Restaurants in Aberfoyle
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Stewarton
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely Grub”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went here every day for lunch, lovely meals and home baking to die for, excellent service and prices too

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank bettyboopstewarton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    53
    25
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bit disappointed”
Reviewed March 23, 2013

We have often wanted to go to Liz McGregor's after a walk in the area around Aberfoyle but it closes quite early in the day. Today we got there on time. The tea and sponge cakes that we had were delicious and on other occasions the staff have been pleasant and helpful but today the music being played was loud and obtrusive. Certainly the place was quiet so perhaps the staff felt it didn't matter but actually it almost spoiled our visit.

We would like to return but please keep the music down.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JGI_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW England
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Cake to die for?”
Reviewed February 13, 2013

Found purely by accident, just fancied some coffee inside away from the snow and came across this little place. With it's dozen or so tables it is cosy but the selection of cake is great, the quality of coffee is also beyond reproach.
My wife used the loos and they also were spotlessly clean with plenty of spare loo rolls, nice smelly hand soap, and paper towels to dry hands with. Toilets are always the yardstick to use for place to grade be advised.
I even bought some extra cake to take away it was that good.
Enjoy!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Stigmeister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“nice no frills cafe”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

Stopped off here for a quick lunch.
Cafe was clean and busy. Found a table and was served in due course.
Menu is cafe food, nothing ambitious which is fine as it does not pretend to be anything else.
Food was hot, tasty and went down well.
Would visit again.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kevv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great place and not a rip off like most places in the surrounding area!”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Great little unpretentious place. Awesome hot chocolate, bargain pot of tea and tasty chocolate cake and square sausage and bacon barm. If i'm in the area again I would definitely visit again.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank britney2630
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop also viewed

Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park
 

Been to Liz MacGregor's Licensed Restaurant & Coffee Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing