We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just got back home after a fishing trip...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Malling West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malling West
Ranked #5 of 10 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Berwick upon Tweed
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just got back home after a fishing trip...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

Just got back home after a fishing trip to lake Menteith. Stayed for two nights with my son and father-in-law. Was made most welcome and the place was very comfortable. Breakfasts were supurb, anything you wanted!nothing was to much trouble. Phil was kind enough to give us a lift to the lake hotel at Menteith on our first night.

Would definately stay there again on our next fishing trip.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    80
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
38
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2010

Me and my sister stayed here for two nights on our first trip to Scotland. We couldn't have gotten a better start!! Everything was wonderful! At first, Morag - the owner, is the sweetest person - so friendly and charming! The room was cosy, absolutely clean, with a comfortable bed and our own cute bathroom. The breakfast was the best with scrambled eggs, smoked salmon and warm tomatoes - really well made, toasts with marmalade and jams, fresh made juices and more and more.... No complains! (Morag, you know we didn't care for that burnt toast...) The owner was so helpful with where to eat and what to do. We would defenitily recommend this place to anyone and we also really like to go back whenever! Morag and Phil, thank you so much!
/Annica & Helene Åberg, Sweden

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annicaaberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2010

My husband and I stayed here with our 3 month old baby when attending a friends wedding in Aberfoyle. The B&B is situated in a beautiful spot by the Lake of Menteith. The house itself is absolutely charming. Phil and Morag have done a fantastic job on the look and feel of this place. Definitely felt like a home from home (although my home isn't quite as beautffully finished!). The room was very clean and comfortable and the breakfast room was fabulous with a gorgeous table, wood burning stove and views through the sitting room to the garden beyond.

Morag looked after us extremely well - she was very welcoming, friendly and only too happy to have a baby to stay as well! Nothing seemed to be too much trouble - she even offered to give us a lift to the wedding. The breakfast was gorgeous (full Scottish for hubby and fabulously creamy scrambled eggs with smoked salmon for me).

We had an extremely pleasant and relaxing stay here. I would definitely recommend this B&B - it's the best one we've ever stayed in! Excellent value too.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NRimmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2010

Had a fantastic relaxing break at Malling West. The owners couldn't have been more welcoming and the house and grounds are fantastic. Morag and Phil, the owners, know their stuff about the local area, the Glasgow art scene, you name it.

The location is great too, with loads to do in the area. We are quite local (Glasgow) but used it was nice to have a change of scene as a base for climbing Ben Lomond and mountain biking round the Trossachs. In season I think you can also go fishing on the Lake of Mentieth and Nick Nairn's cook school is just around the corner.

Can highly recommend Malling West; only thing to watch out for is that the nearest place to eat for dinner is an £8 cab fare away - otherwise it's a longish walk/short cycle (2 miles) or someone has to be the designated driver.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank London_Wanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2009

We had a great stay for two nights with Morag and Phil in their beautiful home. The house is set in wonderful surroundings and extensive grounds. Phil showed us around pointing out the various trees, plants and wildlife, The location is ideal for exploration of the National park and Loch Lomond and the other Lochs and waterfalls around.
Morag offered an extensive breakfast menu to cater for virtually all tastes, superbly cooked and tastefully served,
I thoroughly recommend it and we will certainly return - Thanks again Morag and Phil!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PotterCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blandy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2009

A special homey B&B, very good view, a good place to go to Loch lomond with nice people ready to help us in our trip, very good advices, this is a real B&B with people open minded, interest to meet foreigner...thanks to your advices we spent wonderful holidays... Big thanks and we hope to see you soon!
Delphine and Jean-Nicolas

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cacojn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2009

We've just returned from a 2 night stay at Malling West. Morag and Phil are fantastic hosts and made us feel very welcome. They spend time and trouble getting to know their guests and were very friendly. Their house is perfectly located for walking and cycling and getting to know this beautiful area.
Breakfast is delicious and just right for setting you up for the day. The accommodation is very comfortable.
We will return!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat1Edinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
6.1 mi away
Abbotsford Lodge
Abbotsford Lodge
#3 of 35 in Callander
5.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malling West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malling West

Property: Malling West
Address: Port of Menteith | Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Malling West Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing