We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The warmest welcome we received on our entire trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Malling West

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aberfoyle
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Malling West
Ranked #5 of 10 Aberfoyle B&B and Inns
Ireland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The warmest welcome we received on our entire trip!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2012

We had a fabulous stay at Malling West at the end of May. Despite showing up four hours early Morag made us very welcome and made us feel right at home. Our room was gorgeous and lovely and cool in the hot weather! Breakfast was made to order and delicious. But the best thing about Malling West is definitely Morag and Phil, they took such good care of us. Definitely highly recommended!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank QEDIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    6
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
34
40
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Almelo
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

In the beginning of May we stayed at Murag and Phil.
We intended to go to Cornwall but because of the bad weather over there we decided to go to Scotland. Never thought it would be so nice.
As we came unprepared Murag gave us some tips what to see in the region.It was wonderful.
The room was clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was very good.
The atmosphere was very friendly/welcoming. We enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Annet v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

Me and my brother in law stayed at malling west whilst touring Scotland on our motorbike's ,
We received a very warm welcome and the house is in a delightfull location , we left on our travels the next morning with a perfectly cooked full scottish breakfast in side us , morag & phil the owners where brilliant and really looked after us thank you so much . Graham & Dave

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We had a fantastic time. The owners were very friendly and tips from Morag were to go were briliant. Oh and breakfasts - superb :)

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lukasz436281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

We stayed at Morag and Phil's for three nights, and we had a fantastic time. Weather was typically Scottish, rain and more rain, but that did not stop us from doing Loch Lomond, Whisky tasting and what we had in mind. Malling West is a beautiful house, have great gardens and super-friendly owners. We occupied both rooms, which were in light colours, with plenty of space. Breakfast menu have three options, and we chose them all, and they were equally good. We also loved all the information Morag provided, she recommended the restaurant at Lake Mentieth Hotel, and she was right!! Malling West's location is great, as it is easy to go to both Glasgow, Edinburgh, Sterling, Lochs Lomond and Katerine, and all the other sights Trossachs have to offer. So next time we're in the area we will make sure to do the booking early enough to get a room with Morag and Phil again! Look forward to see our friendly hosts again!!

Room Tip: Clean, fresh, light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sissel C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2011

Great welcome from Morag & Phil, lovely comfortable room with excellent facilities. Beautiful peaceful surroundings, excellent breakfast, great value for money. Listen to Morag's restuarant recommendations.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJLR45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2011

We spent two fabulous days at Malling West with Morag and Phil, who did their best to make our stay comfortable. As there are only two guest rooms you will experience a really personal and familiar stay. We stayed in the upstairs bedroom (which actually is a triple room) and it was very nice and cosy. Everything seems to be recently refurbished. The tasty breakfast is taken in the living room with a nice view of the garden.

We were quite unlucky with the weather as it rained a lot, but Morag was really helpful with suggesting tours and things to do. The area is great for walking, hiking and visiting the numerous lochs.

There is a large variety of pubs and restaurants to choose from for lunch or dinner in the nearby villages but none within walking distance. Thus, a car is recommended when staying here.

I can only underline the other reviews, especially the latter of ColemanPM. Everything is exactly like he described it.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lie_ull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Aberfoyle
5.8 mi away
Macdonald Forest Hills Hotel & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
The Lake of Menteith Hotel
#1 of 1 in Port of Menteith
4.5 of 5 bubbles 639 reviews
1.9 mi away
Rob Roy Hotel
Rob Roy Hotel
#2 of 2 in Aberfoyle
3.5 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Roman Camp Hotel
Roman Camp Hotel
#1 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Crown Hotel
The Crown Hotel
#2 of 6 in Callander
4.5 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
2.5 mi away
Corrie Glen Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Malling West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Malling West

Property: Malling West
Address: Port of Menteith | Stirlingshire, Aberfoyle, Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park FK8 3RD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Loch Lomond and The Trossachs National Park > Aberfoyle
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Aberfoyle
Number of rooms: 2
Also Known As:
Malling West Aberfoyle, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing