We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Jim’s Farm Villas
Nearby Hotels
$125
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A&B Events(Matale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zee's Garden(Matale)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveler rating
248
21
3
2
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
248
21
3
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshilltop villamangocultural trianglecommunal diningtuk tukother guestsswimming poolsri lankathe ownerlocal villagecommunal tablespice gardenlong tableamazing viewsnothing is too much troubleeach eveninggreat fun
Filter
Updating list...
213 - 218 of 276 reviews
Reviewed December 16, 2013

We (family of 2 adults and 3 children) have travelled to many countries including several times to Sri Lanka and my husband and I have worked in the five star hospitality industry in Australia, Sri Lanka and the Middle East. Jim's Farm Villas is one of the most memorable boutique hotels we have ever stayed in. Jim's farm villas are more than a place to sleep and eat. The manager Jesse and all the staff make you feel relaxed and welcome. The service second to none without being intrusive or annoying (a hard balance for many hotels). The food was great and knowing that the fresh fruit and juice was picked within meters of where you are enjoying it is special. We milked the cows and were lucky enough to see a baby calf that was just hours old. We tasted cocoa plant ( the sweet fruit not the bitter seeds) and saw the many plants including pepper, star fruit, cinnamon, paw paw, pineapple, mango, banana and so many others. The pool was crystal clear and private. The rooms, linen and bathrooms are clean and spacious. We especially liked the little touches that changed daily like the towels at he end of the bed made into swans. I don't want to spoil the surprise my telling you more. It's a little bit out of the way hidden between the jungle and paddy fields but it's really worth the trip and gives you a taste of Sri Lanka without the touts. It's an experience that you won't find in the main tourist hotels. We wished we had stayed longer... Next time for sure!

Room Tip: We had a look at all the rooms and all were the same excellent standard. The rooms in the main part of the hotel are a bit bigger but further away from the pool.
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2013

We had a great room and the use of the local woods was there for all to see. Kevin and Janet were wonderful hosts and a great source of background information on the farm, the national politics and where to visit. The communal dining may not suit everyone but we really enjoyed it mainly as the hosts were very keen that we tested a few glasses of Arak the local whiskey type drink!!

Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We fell completely in LOVE with this place. We stayed two nights and had an absolutely amazing stay. The hotel is ONE with the stunning nature and very relaxing.
The room we had was beautiful; the house that the room was in was beautiful. We loved all the wood and beautiful furniture. The surroundings were beautiful and peaceful. The staff was beautiful, friendly and helpful. From the time we check into the hotel till we check out they always tried to make our stay as comfortable as possible, and made us feel at home. The food was really good simple home food and eating at such incredible setting made it taste even better.
We highly recommend this place. We definitely wish we could have stayed much longer (to be honest, I wish I could have stayed forever).
This hotel would definitely be top of our list should we ever return to Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ullis_and_Ant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2013

My friend and I stayed for 3 days 31/10 to 2/11/2013, the location was amazing, felt like I was in a tropical jungle, the sounds of nature were very surreal, nothing I have ever experienced before, but the best thing was, when going to bed, the rooms were very sound proof, from external noises.
Room spacious and comfortable,Bathroom massive, outside shower a pleasant novelty :)
Manager and staff, what can I say, they were all so helpful and courteous, we had many a good laugh, felt very comfortable having them around, no menu, great idea, the meals we had were to die for, 5 star quality and I love my food. 50 acres to walk around, lots to see, local fruit trees, even the birth of a calf, thanks to Jesse and Staff , will be back :)

Room Tip: All the rooms were very nice, like any where u go, u can never have the perfect situation, there is always something going on regards people coming and going, cleaning and maintenance, I found the rooms very well insulted fitness centre swimming and walking :)
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2013

We came to Jim's Farm as part of our honeymoon after a week in the Maldives and it was perfect. The farm is situated in stunning countryside and we were spoilt from the minute we arrived. Our room overlooked the pool and we had great views of the entire farm. The staff were all fantastic and always willing to help. We were asked right from the start which kind of food we preferred (we chose local over western) and so enjoyed a mix of impressive seafood dishes and local curries - delicious. One of things we loved about the farm was its friendly atmosphere. Jesse (the manager) organised a driver for us, so we could see all the sights and helped us plan our days to make the most of our trip. We spent the evenings chatting to Jesse, sharing our experiences with other guests and enjoying the food! On our last day we stayed on the farm, swam in the pool, were given the grand tour of the whole farm by Jesse and shown all of the different plants. We even went into the local town in the tuk tuk with some of the staff who showed us around and then taught us how to cook a curry back at the farm. It was a magical end to our honeymoon and we only wish we had stayed longer!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hanna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews