We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excllent venue for a family friendly Hen-do!”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of Castleview

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
43 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sarah T
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excllent venue for a family friendly Hen-do!”
Reviewed May 16, 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This house exceeded our expectations and was a perfect combination of beautifully designed, well furnished and comfortable. It was such a lovely atmosphere and nice to place to unwind that we spend a lot of our time catching up and relaxing in the lovely lounge, and enjoyed some delicious meals in the dining room (prepared very easily in the modern and spacious kitchen, complete with AGA!). Bedrooms were lovely and the house was really warm despite its large size. We would come here again and wouldn't change anything about it- thanks for a lovely weekend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark P
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Castleview lived upto its name - fit for a king.”
Reviewed January 10, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A fantastic house which easily accommodated 14 people with room to spare. A place you sort of dream of owning and don't wish to leave. Spotlessly clean and well maintained which made catering for the Christmas period a breeze. Great location for Stirling whether for shopping, visiting historic Stirling(both within easy walking distance) or exploring further afield. The views of Stirling Castle were staggering and a great place to hold any sort of celebration or family gathering. Definitely recommend to friends /relatives who would like to stay in a v much upmarket house.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Entering the front door into reception hall you immediately knew it was going to be fantastic
Liked least: Hard to be that picky
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jean M
Dunoon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely house that with a couple of touches would be fantastic”
Reviewed December 1, 2012 for a stay in November 2012

We had a great weekend in Castleview, a lovely warm house. A few little things that were niggly and annoying:

Not enough fuel for the open fire; no dishwasher tablets, silver foil or cling film. Some smellies in the bathrooms would be welcoming and bigger towels. A better selection of glasses is required - pint glasses and whisky tumblers.

But over all a lovely house right in the middle of Stirling. We would definately go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Warm house
Liked least: Little towels and no smellies in the bathroom
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alan G
Tain, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic house,great location”
Reviewed November 4, 2012 for a stay in October 2012

I cannot recommend this house highly enough, it was everything I expected and that bit more. 6 adults and 6 grandchildren, plenty of rooms,toilets, all cleaned to a high standard. The location could not have been better, 10 minutes from city centre and 15 minutes from train station ( this is slow walking not power walking), some great places to eat, the Henderson's Bistro is well worth a visit. I scored a lot of brownie points from all concerned, for booking this house, would recommend it to all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the amount of space and the location
Liked least: there was nothing to dislike
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sue D
Welwyn Garden City
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fab holiday in Fab house”
Reviewed August 18, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

This property exceeded all our expectations. We were met by the owner who showed us round the house, told us about the heating, and what day to put the bins out etc. If we needed anything we were free to ring him (which we did). We were a family group of 11 including a 17 year old, a 12 year old and a 9 year old. The billiard room was especially popular. The garden was well used, the bedrooms were superb and the small room attached to the master bedroom, ensured that all 3 children had a bedroom each, as this little room could also be used independently. The dining room was large enough for all of us to eat together and the kitchen was a joy to use and incredibly well stocked. One of our party had a birthday during our stay and on this evening we hired an outside caterer to cook for us. The drawing room was just large enough for us to hold a ceilidh where the caterer recommended professional dancers to show us how! The positioning of the property enabled us to walk into town to explore Stirling or walk to the train station for journeys to Edinburgh and Glasgow. Stirling is centrally placed for exploring Scotland. One of our party left at 7.30 one morning, drove to Fort William, climbed Ben Nevis and was back in time for supper! Other trips included Balmoral and exploring Loch Lomond and the Trossachs. There are also lots of places for retail therapy. Brucefield’s Family Golf Course accepted all 11 of us when we turned up un-announced and the Falkirk Wheel is well worth a visit where the children's water play area is a science in itself. On our last night we walked to Henderson's Bistro for an excellent meal to finish off our holiday. If you are a large party wanting to visit central Scotland, then I would certainly recommend Castleview as the place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexander...
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Stunning house in a great setting”
Reviewed July 9, 2012 for a stay in June 2012

An amazing house for us to base a weekend with a group of friends. Castleview is within a stone's throw of the fantastic local golf course and the centre of Stirling. The views of Stirling castle and the fabulous rooms in the property make it a must-stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Snooker table and amazing views of the castle
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jem903
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous accommodation and well equipped and homely”
Reviewed May 25, 2012 for a stay in May 2012

On arrival provided with a very friendly tour. The property met my expectations and more. The property was just beautiful, well equipped and very clean. The property is very flexible and would meet the needs of a large party of friends with children. It was a very enjoyable stay and would certainly recommend to anyone

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accommodation and great location - right in the town centre
Liked least: no difficulties
Traveling group: Large Group/Tour
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 25, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a reply, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing