We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great apartment”
other traveler has booked this property

Review of The Courtyard

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
JemGlasgo...
Glasgow
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great apartment”
Reviewed December 8, 2015 for a stay in December 2015

I stayed at the Courtyard for a long weekend with my extended family which included 6 adults, three kids and a baby. It was snug for all ten of us but there was plenty of room for the kids to play and the standard of accommodation was excellent. The location and facilities were great and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Dec 17, 2015
Thanks for taking the time to leave us such a great review! We are over the moon that you enjoyed your stay, and found the facilities to suit your needs. Hopefully we can welcome you back again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NewJersey...
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
Reviewed September 2, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We stayed at the Courtyard with 6 adults and 1 child (10 yrs old) in August. The rental at the Courtyard is advertised to be the entire garden floor of the home. What is not indicated is that the home in the picture is a duplex which means that the rental is the garden floor of only half of the house. We found that there was not enough room for 6 adults to relax or for all of us to sit comfortably for a meal.

The location is great. Town center was a 10 minute walk and the train station a 15 minute walk. The interior was clean and the bedding was very adequate. I would recommend finding a more spacious rental if you are traveling with more than 4 people.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location.
Liked least: The living space.
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 7, 2015
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your stay at The Courtyard. We always appreciate feedback. The property is typical of semi-detached, Victorian properties in the UK, and it does comprise of the entire ground floor of the property. On our website you can see in the aerial photograph of the property there are two paths and two front entrances. Apologies if you struggled with the space around the dining table; we have never had any issues where our guests have found it difficult to accommodate 7 people round the table in the past. You can also see a photograph of the seating arrangement on our website. There are 4 bedrooms in the property which have a kingsize, double and twin beds, and a bunk bed room suitable for children. This accommodation has provided comfortable accommodation to parties larger than 7 on many occasions, but we are sorry if you found this not to be spacious enough for your needs. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed The Courtyard’s central location as there is so much to see and do in close proximity to the property. Hopefully any issues you had didn’t detract from a wonderful family get together in Stirling!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elaine H
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fab accommodation, fab weekend”
Reviewed June 3, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Fab weekend staying at The Courtyard on Gladstone Place for our annual girls weekend away. Apartment lovely and clean and well equipped. Fab outside area with seating area, which is a bonus to have for an apartment so close to the city centre. Railway station, shops, restaurants and attractions all within close walking distance. Would highly recommend and would have no hesitation in returning again

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MGEdwards
Brussels, Belgium
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“5 star accommodation - perfect for working visits to the university”
Reviewed May 27, 2015 for a stay in May 2015

I booked The Courtyard to accommodate my research group while attending a conference at the University of Stirling. The three rooms (2 double and 1 twin), two bathrooms, kitchen, lounge / dining room provide everything needed for a comfortable stay. Furthermore, the quality of the furnishings is 5 star, and I expect, much better than any local hotel / B&B. I would definitely recommend The Courtyard for anyone visiting the university for work purposes. Although a little far from the university, there is good space for parking, and the house is very close to Stirling town centre (and buses).

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The quality of the interior
Liked least: all was good.
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann P
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to stay with family”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Stayed here with our 2 daughters, son in law and our 7 month old granddaughter. Felt like a home away from home. Very well equipped with lots of information provided on the surrounding area. It was very clean, modern, spacious and comfortable with extras like tea and coffee provided. Dishwasher and washer and dryer came in handy. Location was very convenient to all the shops, restaurants, train station and the castle. Rates were reasonable. Would definitely stay here again if in the area.

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jenny K
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
Reviewed April 2, 2015 for a stay in June 2014

Stilring was the first stop on an extended European vacation with our three teenagers. My sister lives in Stirling and we were looking for self catering accomodation walking distance from my sisters and convenient to town. We found the Courtyard through Sirlingselfcatering. It was perfectly located to town (easy 10 minute walk to town) and close to my sisters in a lovely residential area called King Park. We loved having 2 bathrooms, 4 good sized bedrooms (1 has short bunks and is best for young children), a great kitchen, full sized fridge, washing machine and dryer and large lounge and good sized booth style dining area. One bathroom was a bit small and dark and as a result we all favoured the larger one, but it served its purpose. Kirsteen (who lives above with the family) was lovely. Checked to see how we were settling and left us to our own devices. The Courtyard has off street parking, a separate entrance and little courtyard adjacent to the garden of the main house. The kids loved seeing Kirsteens cats sunbathing in our courtyard as they were missing their cat. Did not take photos due to jetlag however online shots are accurate. Free wifi was good. Overall we thought the Courtyard was great value for money and perfect for our needs. It will be top of our list when we return to Stirling. Thanks Kirsteen and apologies for the late review!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well appointed and good value for money
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WozzaD
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Lovely modernised flat in a perfect central location”
Reviewed February 20, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

Perfect location in central Stirling. Clean, very well equipped and beautifully decorated with comfortable beds and furnishings. We stayed over Christmas and were able to entertain visiting friends and family - the kitchen was great (once we figured out how to turn on the cooker rings) and we managed to seat 10 round the dining table. Kirsteen, the owner, who lives in the house above (though it felt very private) was welcoming and helpful without being intrusive in any way. We pre-ordered a load of groceries etc from Tesco in Stirling which were delivered the evening we arrived after a long drive, and saved much time and effort. The flat is only four or five minutes' walk from the old centre of the town, including all the big shops, and a stiff 15 to 20 minutes' walk up the hill to the castle. Stirling is easy enough to get in and out of by car so we were able to drive further afield with no difficulty. The flat is also about 10 minutes' walk from the station so it was easy for one of us to hop on a train to Edinburgh to visit a friend. The flat was nice and warm throughout. The only drawback was the noise from the heating system in the smallest bedroom (the one with the bunk beds) which could become annoying after a while. There's a kind of patio/barbecue area outside though In summer the lack of anywhere green or leafy to sit (if the weather is ever fine enough!) might be disappointing. Otherwise, certainly in the winter, it was spot on for our needs (a family with three teenagers plus visiting grandmother making six in all, and room for more if we'd needed.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 31, 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing