We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very welcoming stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Very welcoming stay”
Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have family and friends who live in Hamilton and the location of this hotel was ideal for our recent 3 day stay. We regularly stay at Holiday Inn Expresses and this is one of the best we have used. Overall, the hotel was extremely good value for money.

The hotel is in the town centre which means that it is very handy for the nearby shops, restaurants, cinema (the hotel has discounted rates for residents), Strathclyde Park, M &D's Theme park, Hamilton Museum, Hamilton Water Palace, M74, Railway Station and the Express Bus Link to Glasgow.

Check in was very friendly and efficient, our room was clean and the sofa bed was made up for our son. Continental Breakfast is complimentary, was well stocked and also included scrambled eggs, sausages and baked beans. The breakfast and bar area were comfortable and spacious despite the hotel being fairly full.

The manager, Louise was very attentive to our needs and extremely helpful. Indeed all the staff were friendly and efficient.

We will definitely be staying again and can thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCW453
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Many thanks folks for taking the time to give us your feedback on the recent stay that you had with us.

Your description of our location and the local facilities is excellent and gives people an idea of the many places around about the hotel. The aim is to give great value for money and so it is good to read when that has been delivered.

It was nice of you to mention Louise by name and I will ensure that she is suitably recognised.

We all look forward to seeing you back at the hotel in the not too distant future

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    204
    80
    25
    17
See reviews for
122
108
27
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oldham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2014

We use this hotel often on visits to grandchildren ...share a family room. It's clean, friendly, helpful and good value. Breakfast is generous ...fresh coffee, eggs, sausages, pastures, fruit. No meals but local Nando's or Chiquita's are fine for meals with kids and the cinema and water palace are very near for entertainment.Strathclyde Country Park just up the hill and great for fresh air and childrens playground. The Roman bath house intrigued our 6 year old.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susandearden1210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Susan

Thank you for giving us your feedback on the stays that you have enjoyed with us.

The hotel's location is indeed very handy for getting out and about, be that in Lanarkshire, or Glasgow or Edinburgh. I am guessing that your stays are over the weekend as we are able to provide meals during Monday to Thursday nights, in addition to all of the restaurants that are round about us.

I look forward to seeing you back with us again soon,

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked through laterooms a couple of weeks before our trip for a reasonable price.
I had called on day of arrival to mention that due to weather we may be a late arrival and the lady I spoke to was really pleasant and friendly.
We ended up arriving at 11pm, were pleasantly surprised that the car park (think it is the cinema's car park) was free. Bar was still open so we managed to get a drink in after a long drive. Drinks prices were reasonable.
The room was very comfortable and clean. Although our stay was brief, the room and location were ideal.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Jess

Thank you for giving us the feedback on your (brief) time with us - glad to read that you did enjoy your time with us and hopefully a future visit will be a bit longer!

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
north west UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014

Check in very good and help full,up to room,granddaughter said a double bed for me and a double for you and nanna, she was over the moon.A nice time in Hamilton and supper, a couple of drinks at the bar. Next morning an all you could eat breakfast ;-) very. FULL..so we will come back. So Thank you To All The Staff♥

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wiggy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Hi Wiggy

Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback on the weekend you had with us, it was great to see that you all had a super time with us and thanks also for mentioning the staff, as we do like to know when we get it right!

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future,

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were down for a wedding for one night so looked for somewhere that was reasonably priced and had parking. Expected it to be pretty average but we were pleasantly surprised. Reception staff were very friendly. Place was very clean. My one gripe was that the mattress protector had been melted and had sharp bits sticking up through the sheet. Made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.

Room Tip: High floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carri-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 21, 2014
Thank you Carri for the feedback on your stay with us - it was good to read that we were able to provide you not only with a good weekend, but that we were above your expectations!

I will ensure that Jackie, our housekeeper, has all the mattress protectors checked and attended to and my apologies for that.

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire, England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2014

We arrived in Hamilton on Saturday 25th January for a family party in Hamilton itself. We have not stayed in a Holiday Inn Express Hotel before and so didn't know what to expect. We arrived early around about 11am knowing the rooms would not be ready until 2pm but we went into reception and was greeted by a friendly member of staff and she said she would try her best to get us at least two rooms. The outcome was that she was able to get all three rooms for us. On going into the rooms we found them to be spacious, clean and tidy. Our room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. We all went down to the bar area which had comfortable seating and TV screen which the bar staff were very willing to let my partner and his Brother watch the Liverpool v Bournemouth game even though we were up in Scotland which they thought was very good. Whilst they were watching the game the ladies went out to the shops which were all close by. That evening the Hotel staff rang for a taxi for us which again was very helpful. At Breakfast time there was something for everyone and plenty to eat and drink. So overall, staff very helpful and polite, rooms were exactly what we needed and our stay was most enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Hi Tina

Thanks for the review on your recent stay with us - delighted that we were able to look after your party so well and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and I think I will stay again.
The hotel is similar to other HIX hotels staff were friendly rooms were comfortable with free wifi.
The hotel is located next to a retail park with a few places to eat and a vue cinema. Car parking in shopping centre is paid by hotel.
Only negative was could do with new tv's in rooms and I asked to be moved from my room because it had an adjoining room door and was very noisy because of this. The room I was given had been a smoking room and I had forgotten what a horrible stink old cigarette smoke leaves in a room.
Other than that was a decent hotel.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Joetraynor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you Joe for the feedback on your stay with us.

I was happy to read that you found the team here in Hamilton a friendly bunch, as we certainly aim to deliver a warm, open style of service behind the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The hotel is completely non smoking and I apologise if a room was not as fresh as it should have been, I will discuss this with Jacqui our housekeeper as we should be able to locate your room number.

In terms of the tv's, we are already well down the road with plans to replace the existing ones, as it was second on the list to getting the free WiFi throughout the hotel, and as you point out, that is now in place.



Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
217 reviews
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
0.8 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
1.7 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#5 of 9 in Motherwell
427 reviews
2.0 mi away
Innkeepers Lodge Glasgow, Strathclyde Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Address: Express By Holiday Inn Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton has a tremendously convenient location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests alike. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the inclusive breakfast offers continental items with some hot options. The hotel is situated in Hamilton town centre and has free parking available adjacent to the hotel, as well as offering a selection of attractions within walking distance of the hotel. The hotel is only two minutes drive away from the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. Holiday Inn Express Hamilton is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. If you are looking for some leisure activities, then we are only minutes away from Strathclyde Country Park. The hotel is well located for Scotland s three international airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Glasgow is only 23 miles away on the motorways and Prestwick can be reached in about 45 minutes, while Edinburgh is approximately 50 minutes. In the hotel we have a fantastic, bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, use the Wifi, have a drink from the bar, or even just meet up with some colleagues. If you wish a private meeting, we have a selection of three meeting rooms all with floor to ceiling windows and air conditioning. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotel.de, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing