We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 15, 2014

We were down for a wedding for one night so looked for somewhere that was reasonably priced and had parking. Expected it to be pretty average but we were pleasantly surprised. Reception staff were very friendly. Place was very clean. My one gripe was that the mattress protector had been melted and had sharp bits sticking up through the sheet. Made for an uncomfortable nights sleep.

Room Tip: High floor for a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carri-on
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 21, 2014

Thank you Carri for the feedback on your stay with us - it was good to read that we were able to provide you not only with a good weekend, but that we were above your expectations!

I will ensure that Jackie, our housekeeper, has all the mattress protectors checked and attended to and my apologies for that.

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 524 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2014

We arrived in Hamilton on Saturday 25th January for a family party in Hamilton itself. We have not stayed in a Holiday Inn Express Hotel before and so didn't know what to expect. We arrived early around about 11am knowing the rooms would not be ready until 2pm but we went into reception and was greeted by a friendly member of staff and she said she would try her best to get us at least two rooms. The outcome was that she was able to get all three rooms for us. On going into the rooms we found them to be spacious, clean and tidy. Our room had everything we needed for an overnight stay. We all went down to the bar area which had comfortable seating and TV screen which the bar staff were very willing to let my partner and his Brother watch the Liverpool v Bournemouth game even though we were up in Scotland which they thought was very good. Whilst they were watching the game the ladies went out to the shops which were all close by. That evening the Hotel staff rang for a taxi for us which again was very helpful. At Breakfast time there was something for everyone and plenty to eat and drink. So overall, staff very helpful and polite, rooms were exactly what we needed and our stay was most enjoyable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Hi Tina

Thanks for the review on your recent stay with us - delighted that we were able to look after your party so well and hopefully we will see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here on business and I think I will stay again.
The hotel is similar to other HIX hotels staff were friendly rooms were comfortable with free wifi.
The hotel is located next to a retail park with a few places to eat and a vue cinema. Car parking in shopping centre is paid by hotel.
Only negative was could do with new tv's in rooms and I asked to be moved from my room because it had an adjoining room door and was very noisy because of this. The room I was given had been a smoking room and I had forgotten what a horrible stink old cigarette smoke leaves in a room.
Other than that was a decent hotel.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
Thank Joetraynor1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2014

Thank you Joe for the feedback on your stay with us.

I was happy to read that you found the team here in Hamilton a friendly bunch, as we certainly aim to deliver a warm, open style of service behind the Holiday Inn Express brand.

The hotel is completely non smoking and I apologise if a room was not as fresh as it should have been, I will discuss this with Jacqui our housekeeper as we should be able to locate your room number.

In terms of the tv's, we are already well down the road with plans to replace the existing ones, as it was second on the list to getting the free WiFi throughout the hotel, and as you point out, that is now in place.



Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

This is above average express inn with good parking and lots to do around. Cinema and restaurants within a walk. Rooms ok and clean. Food at nite ok and nice vat area. Parking is free if you enter details in reception in retail park. Can be interesting if you miss entry into car park as it's all one way everywhere

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
Thank Mark G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2014

Thank you Mark for the feedback on your stay with us.

The hotel's location is great and we are now able to offer discounted access to the Vue Cinema next door from Sunday to Thursday nights, so the next time you are up and want a break from emails, you can pop next door for a film!

In terms of directions in to the car park beside the hotel, it is a matter of aiming for the Vue Cinema building and parking in the car park in front of the cinema - we are in discussions with the council about improving the signage for ourselves and other businesses in the town.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2014

having stayed in a few holiday inn this one is spot on ,rooms lovely and clean,the staff on checking in were very nice and helpfull and were the same through out our stay ,breakfast was good ,something there to suit everyone i suppose you cant please everyone but for us it was nice and filling the only down side to this hotel is the TV in bedrooms badly need updating but other than this a lovely hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anniewills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Thanks Annie for the review of your weekend stay with us.

It is always nice to read about how much people enjoy the hotel, its location and the service provided by our team. In terms of the television sets, it is very much something that I am working on to resolve now that we have been able to get the free WiFi throughout the whole hotel.

Kind Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I stayed here for business overnight and was impressed with the modern feel and facilities as well as the friendly and attentive staff. Parking was ample and free in the retail/leisure park next door and, despite my Sat Nav, easy to get to.

Breakfast was usual HIE, which is good and included in the room price. My room overlooked the car park and there was a little background road noise but barely noticeable and certainly not enough to disturb sleep.

Room keeping knocked at 815 which was surprising (although helpful as I had overslept!) but wouldn't normally expect to be disturbed by them quite so early - other reviews mention this and it would be helpful if they attended un-vacated rooms later in the morning.

Overall, a pleasant stay in a very handy location.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
1  Thank aficemanuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 27, 2014

Many thanks for taking the time to give us some feedback on your recent stay with us, and it's good to know that we delivered across your whole stay.

I must apologise for the disruption by the housekeeping team - I have shown the housekeeper your comments and that of others, and will reinforce this message with all of the team until the situation is resolved.

Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back to the hotel in the not too distant future!

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The best thing about this hotel is the staff, very friendly and helpful at all times, parking is shared with the shopping centre next door but free, the rooms are large and comfortable like all modern Holiday Inn Express hotels and very clean.
What really lets this hotel down is the breakfast, there was a good choice of hot and cold drinks, the usual choice of cereals, yoghurt, etc. with the limited hot menu of scrambled egg and sausage, unfortunately the egg looked like it had been cooked some days earlier and the sausages could have been drawing a pension, I stuck to the coffee and cereal.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2014

Thank you Peter for the comments and kind remarks on the stay that you had with us.

The breakfast service is indeed free to all guests, however, we should also have all aspects of it appealing, and we continue to look at the eggs and sausages – indeed, today we have been trialling out another type of sausage and getting some feedback on it.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Avonbridge Hotel
The Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
12.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Address: Express By Holiday Inn Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $59 - $116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton has a tremendously convenient town centre location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests. The hotel is only two minutes’ drive away from the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. We’re also well located for Scotland’s International Airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Free parking is available in the adjacent retail park, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the inclusive breakfast offers continental items with some hot options. Our hotel is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. Thrill seekers can head to the nearby Strathclyde Country Park. In the hotel we have a bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, grab a bite from our snack menu or have a drink with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing