We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A night in Squaller”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

My night here was awful and vile. It started when I got to the room and needed the toilet to find there was only a few squares of tissue left so I went down stairs and asked for more, 4hrs later it arrived. The cleanliness was horrible. The grout between the tiles on the floor was vile and so was the carpet. It seemed to be worse near the third bed near the window as you stand just with bear feet u can feel stickiness. Also OMG the desk chair!!! That chair had more stains then a pornstars bed. Seriously clean then carpet and not just with a Hoover, it also needs a wash and remove that chair!!!! Never again for me and also I have a massive rash on my neck also so might take it further, lets see what the doctor says yea

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liquid_metal2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mark H, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2013

Liquid_metal2013

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with feedback following your recent stay. I would like to apologise for the condition of the bedroom carpet, bathroom tiles and chair in your room. I was saddened to read your comments as our housekeeping team take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel rooms and receive many compliments on online reviews, however on this isolated occasion I must agree the condition of the room you stayed was not up to our usual high standard and the issues you raised have now been addressed.

Apologies it took so long to provide you with toilet tissue and there is no excuse for there not being adequate supply on your arrival.

Regards

Mark H

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

347 - 353 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 3, 2013

On arrival at the hotel we apologised to reception for being early for check in. We explained that we were going to the races and wondered if it was ok to leave our bags somewhere. The young lady behind reception called housekeeping and as luck had it there was a room available for us right away. Location is good as very close to motorway, cinema and places to eat also very close by. Room was comfortable and very clean. No noise heard from room considering it was a busy area. Breakfast was buffet style reasonable choice of hot and cold. very good value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lornacrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

From start to finish my experience at this hotel was not the greatest at all, we have stayed at many holiday inns and understand that it is not a high end hotel but I expected more for my money.
At check in I found the staff quite abrupt, cold and standoffish.
The bed was one of the worst I have ever slept in just rolling into each other.
The sheet in the travel cot for my 1 year old was all marked and did not look the best.
The noise from the car park of shouting until the early hours.
The worst thing though was I went to the train station to drop off my mother early next morning and when I came back I went to check her room because she asked me to make sure she had not left anything and we were checking out of both rooms, the housekeeping were already in the room cleaning it which I thought was so out of order.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thanks Emma for giving us your feedback on the recent stay you had with your family, as a Holiday Inn Express we do try to provide our guests with what they need when they are away from home, and this includes standards of a very high level throughout the hotel.

I am sorry that your time with us was not as enjoyable or comfortable as it should have been. The hotel staff are always trying to make a great first impression on our guests and so your description is something that we shall give due consideration to.

In terms of the cleanliness of the bed linen, this should not have been an issue and I will be speaking with the housekeeper about this later on today. The team in housekeeping may well have seen that your mother had left her room and as she was departing, they would start to clean her room in preparation for the next arrivals, hence the hotel sometimes has rooms ready for guests who arrive at lunchtime.

Once again, thank you for your feedback

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2013

I was a guest within the hotel for two weeks due to work reasons and during that time I was very impressed with the care and concern that was shown to myself and my work colleagues.
The hotel was very comfortable made even more pleasant by the friendly and welcoming staff each day on the front desk.
Whilst all the staff were very pleasant and helpful I would like to give a special Thank you to Lynsey for her helpful advice on the local area and even providing assistance in organizing my travel plans home.
All in all I would rate the hotel 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Brian for taking the time to give us your feedback on your stay with us.

It is always great to hear that our team have delivered the style and type of service that we are aiming to provide, and I have already passed on your kind remarks to Lynsey. Showing care and concern are key aspects of how the hotel aims to deliver service excellence and so it is extremely reassuring to see you use those very words!

We hope to see you again soon,

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

As a priority club member I used points to stay here as we were looking to break up our journey between climbing Ben Nevis & Scafell Pike. Location is good being close to the motorway and also being on a retail park (cinema, restaurants, supermarket etc). Check-in and check-out staff friendly. Room was clean without any frills. Some noise from interconnecting door though this didn't go on too late. Ensuite had a shower but no bath which upset the wife who was desperate for a long soak after 7 hrs climbing a mountain! Breakfast was complimentary with a decent amount of choice both hot and cold.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank StuartP73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you Stuart for the feedback on the recent stay you had with your wife at the hotel - our congratulations on the climbs, very impressive!

It is good to read that you found the team to be friendly and sorry about the absence of the bath - the brand have taken the use of Express to include the time spent in the bathroom, so no hanging about in a bath!

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the fact I am a Priority Club Member and it was near to my next appointment;It is a 6 hour trip from my home base so i was fairly chilled when I arrived.All I needed to do was book in ,eat and sleep.lovely welcome from Kate on arrival,my room was clean and acceptable.Food and Drinks downstairs was efficient and friendly and I must say that the staff were all welcoming and would engage me eye to eye.Check out simple and friendly.
Thank you to Mark and his Team.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BedfordshireHesser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2013

Thank you "Mr Bedfordshire" for the review of your stay with us, it is always good to read that the hotel has been easy to use and enjoy.

I will pass on your remarks to Kate when I see her tomorrow, it was nice of you to comment upon this as it does mean a lot to the team members involved.

I hope that we will have the pleasure of you staying with us again the next time you are in the area.

Regards

Mark Calpin
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013

Stayed one night with other half as were watching Bruce Springsteen at Hampdon Park. Easy to find (right off the motorway) parking was fine. Room clean although did seem to roll into middle of bed that night. Shower is set room type which may bother some people.

Staff were lovely, we arrived back at midnight and were able to have a couple of drinks in the bar. Breakfast average however as you would expect in any chain hotel. At £120 a room more than i would usually pay but would stay again.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pollyjean86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
235 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Avonbridge Hotel
The Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
388 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
12.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
1.7 mi away
The Alona Hotel
The Alona Hotel
#4 of 9 in Motherwell
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Address: Express By Holiday Inn Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $57 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton has a tremendously convenient town centre location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests. The hotel is only two minutes’ drive away from the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. We’re also well located for Scotland’s International Airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Free parking is available in the adjacent retail park, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the inclusive breakfast offers continental items with some hot options. Our hotel is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. Thrill seekers can head to the nearby Strathclyde Country Park. In the hotel we have a bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, grab a bite from our snack menu or have a drink with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing