We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel was good and the service excellent, but noisy outside at night”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We have stayed at a Holiday Inn Express once before and were very happy, the levels of service and the room was good and as expected. The location was good, with shops and a small cinema near by. We ate at Frankie and Bennys which is a restaurant favoured by our two boys.

The only downside was that there was no air conditioning, so when it was noisy outside we couldn't shut the window as it was too hot in the room.

The staff were very friendly and provided excellent service.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MWRoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel, and it was good to see that you were able to make use of some of the facilities in the surrounding area.

The room temperature is something that we try to manage as best we can on those very few occasions when the temperature outside is hot!

Your comments about the staff are also very welcome and have been passed on.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

483 - 489 of 534 reviews

Reviewed August 8, 2011

I have stayed fairly regularly at this hotel while on business in the area over the last year. Room quality is excellent and a good selection of shops and restaurants in the area.

Internet access is available in the rooms (with cable) and is fast enough but comes at a premium price (free in the lobby for short term access).

Not keen on the large cinema car park although it has improved with number plate recognition. Holiday Inn have recently arranged free parking for guests to suit check in/out times. Never quite happy with security of the car in there but maybe Im being over protective !!

Noise from natives and traffic below can be heard but not enough to stop me sleeping

A good choice for anyone visiting Glasgow from the south as access to city centre greatly improved with new M74 extension.

Room Tip: Less noisy in higher floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AandMO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you AandMO for your feedback upon your stays with us. It is good for us to see how one of our regular guests views the hotel as there is always something to take from the feedback.

You are correct in that we have arranged for guests to be able to use the adjacent car park free of charge, all guests have to do is register their details at the front desk - just ask the staff.

The M74 motorway certainly does improve the connections with the south side of Glasgow, and the airport is about 20 minutes away as well, which is very handy.

Do say hello next time you are in the hotel, it's always nice to put a face to a profile!

Regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

This seems a very clean and relatively new build hotel. However the room was exceptionally warm (there was no heat wave locally) and could not be sufficiently cooled down (no aircon or properly opening window). The TV must have been at least 15 years old, and could only function for 10 minutes then had to be turned on/off to view another 10 minutes. On asking for a diffrent room (plenty available) the reply was that that was not possible, howvever a maintenance person would sort TV out. The recptionist came to room to switch TV on/off and I was told that that happpend all the time in the whole hotel with all TVs.....Roome was very clean and breakfast was not bad for a HI express.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sailor1_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you for taking the time to comment upon your stay with us.

Whilst we were delighted to read that you found the hotel to be very clean, we do apologise that clearly our televisions did not perform as they should - this is something that we shall look into with our provider.

The way in which we have handled your situation is not typical of the level of service that we would look to provide, so lessons shall be learnt from your comments.

Once again thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 27, 2011

The hotel is relatively new next to cinema and Asda and Hamilton is a nice friendly town with plenty of eating place's , the rooms are clean and bigger than normal Holiday Inn Express rooms . The breakfast was average and parking is free in Cinema car park and across the road , would use again as close to main road and only 20 min to central Glasgow in good traffic, would use again.

Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
Thank Derekh1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2011

Thank you DerekH for your comments on your stay with us back in April.

I am delighted to read that you and your family had an enjoyable stay with us, and utilise the hotel's close location to Glasgow. You mention that the hotel is relatively new, which we take as a compliment as we are now in our fifth year of trading, so hopefully we are maintaining a fresh, clean appearance of the hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2011

I enjoyed my two night stay in this hotel. My room was very spacious and cleaned to an extremely high standard. The staff were very friendly. The hotel is in a central location and it's an added bonus that it is located right beside a cinema, restaurants and a supermarket. I doubt I will have any cause to stay in Hamilton again any time soon, but I wouldn't hesitate to stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabbitHeartedGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2011

Thank you for the review, I was delighted to read that you found the hotel and its location to be to your liking.
Perhaps you will be able to visit us again at some point and we look forward to that.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2011

We stayed here recently when we visited some friends. The twin room we had was spacious, well decorated and very clean. Self service buffet breakfast was included in the cost and even for me as a vegetarian there was a reasonable choice. All the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The hotel is right next to Asda and Frankie and Bennys and so it was very handy.

I'd definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mariewarrington007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2011

Thank you Kay-Marie for your feedback on your recent stay with us - naturally we were delighted to read that your time was most enjoyable and we look forward to seeing you back shortly.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 21, 2011

Lovely hotel situated nor far from Glasgow giving better value for money than silly City Centre prices.

Check in was quick and efficient and very helpful staff.

Room was immaculate and really large ( Looks new) . Very clean and tidy. Everything you need for a good nights sleep.

Breakfast was again excellent and checkout was rapid.

Would definetely stay again .

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johnleomcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMHamilton, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hamilton, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2011

John
Thanks for your feedback. Not only was it very positive about the hotel, which of course we love, but you also commented that it looks new - the hotel is now in it's fifth busy year, but our maintenance and housekeeping teams do their best to keep the place looking good - you remark makes us feel that we are doing something right.
Hope to see you again soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hamilton
0.8 mi away
Days Inn Hamilton
Days Inn Hamilton
#3 of 4 in Hamilton
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Avonbridge Hotel
Avonbridge Hotel
#2 of 4 in Hamilton
393 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Strathclyde Park M74 Jct5
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Motherwell Centre Moorings Hotel
3.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Strathclyde
12.4 mi away
New Lanark Mill Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hamilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hamilton

Address: Express By Holiday Inn Keith Street, Hamilton ML3 7BL, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > South Lanarkshire > Hamilton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: $62 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hamilton 3*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton has a tremendously convenient town centre location and is ideal for both business and leisure guests. The hotel is only two minutes’ drive away from the M74 and M8 with Scotland's great cities within easy reach. Glasgow is only 20 minutes away, Edinburgh 50 minutes and Stirling an hour. We’re also well located for Scotland’s International Airports: Glasgow, Prestwick and Edinburgh. Free parking is available in the adjacent retail park, free Wi-Fi is available throughout the hotel and the inclusive breakfast offers continental items with some hot options. Our hotel is near Glasgow and is handily positioned for Hamilton International Technology Park as well as Strathclyde Business Park. Thrill seekers can head to the nearby Strathclyde Country Park. In the hotel we have a bright, spacious Great Room which offers you a chance to relax, chill out, grab a bite from our snack menu or have a drink with friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hamilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Hotel Hamilton
Holiday Inn Hamilton
Holiday Inn Express Hamilton Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing